Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Debut
With a huge amount of historical fiction titles currently being set around the 1066 mark, an author has to find something new to bring to the mix in order to generate memorable characters as well giving the reader a plot to keep them not only engrossed but thrilled and entertained throughout. Such is the volume of these titles to date that it's a wonder that none of the...
Published on 21 Jun. 2011 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Super-Killer and the Arch-Villains?
I am a bit surprised at the number of reviewers on Amazon.co.uk that profess to have never heard of Hereward, especially those that seem to be fans of historical fiction. Hereward may not be part of history lessons at school. However, there are least four other novels out there on Amazon, in addition to Charles Kingsley's take that dates back to 1865. So, James Wilde's...
Published on 18 Aug. 2012 by JPS


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adding this author to my favourites list - great debut., 12 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everything I had wished to say has already been added in the many other glowing reviews. I just wanted to include my 5 star rating to an already well received debut.

This book starts 'feet running' and keeps the tension all the way through. Great characters, historical settings, vicious yet satisfying battle and fight scenes, and more twists than an Italian country road. I really really enjoyed this book and can recommend it easily. Good show Mr Wilde.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hereward, 4 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. C. Reid "Scrum Down" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hereward (Hardcover)
I've always known of Hereward but not much about him. Even in the recent "Normans" programme he was hardly mentioned despite being a thorn in the Norman's side for a while until betrayed by the monks of Ely. This book has given life to a true English hero. Whether it is historically correct I don't care. A right good read from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Conan of the Fens, 22 Sept. 2011
By 
H. T. Davies - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hereward (Hardcover)
It is starting to seem that if the Normans hadn't invaded historical novelists would have nothing to write about today. This is another addition to the growing canon of books set around the "End-Times" of the 11th century and dealing with the turbulent situation in England as Harold Godwinson waits to accede to the throne.

In fact in this novel Harold is a bit of a tricky schemer rather than the bland goody two-shoes hero just waiting for his chance to throw the Normans bank into the Channel who is generally depicted in this type of novel. Having said that the well-known story of Harold, Edward and William takes second place to the perhaps lesser known one of Hereward whom we see here in what may be seen as his pre-freedom fighter days.

The action is fast and furious and sometimes teeters on the edge of Robert E. Howard territory as others have indicated. Hereward is clearly shown as a "mighty thewed" hero who knows no fear once the red mist descends and not much fear when it doesn't. The author mentions that he was inspired by memories of a comic strip when he was a child and that shows through in some scenes and also gives us the old problem of the arch enemy who seemingly can neither kill the hero nor be killed by him (for obvious narrative reasons). This leads to the killing blow being stayed rather too often to be believable in my view, especially given the amount of bloodlettign which precedes such events.

Period detail seems pretty good and the only jarring phrase I can recall is when Hereward is described as watching events unfold before his eyes as though is slow motion. I also find the Jimminy Cricket-like monk a little irritating as treis to keep our killer on the straight and narrow. Still, fiction is all about suspension of disbelief and if you can accept this as a plot device then you have a very enjoyable read. This is clearly, once again, the opener for a series (trilogy?) and I think the next volume should be just as good if not better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very (He)Rewarding!, 31 Oct. 2012
By 
Paul Harris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hereward: (Hereward 1) (Paperback)
James Wilde's book starts with a bang, as Alric, a monk, is chased from the burning ruins of a village by Harald Redteeth and his viking raiders. His first meeting with Hereward is wildly memorable, an image of a berserker warrior whose ferocity is matched only by his cunning. The year is 1062 and England is a land of many kingdoms. As the years pass, Hereward finds himself betrayed and disowned by those who should be closest to him, eventually forcing him to leave the country and go to Flanders (still accompanied by Alric), where he becomes a sword-for-hire. In the meantime, his adoptive brother Redwald has risen high in the court of King Harold. As Redwald continues his relentless climb, we see Hereward begin to change, to shackle his demons and grow into a fighter who makes plans and considers tactics instead of being a half-crazed monster with bloodlust. And all too soon, it is 1066...

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. The characters are true to themselves, consistent but not unchanging. Hereward, Redwald, Alric, Redteeth - all of them come to life through the page, even those who might not get much 'screentime'. The fights and battles are fast, furious and merciless, leaving a breathless sense of how it may have been to have fought on those battlefields. There are tender moments too, but in the main this a rugged action book about one of England's forgotten heroes. If I have a quibble, it would be that on occasion, Hereward steps a little over the line from hero to superhero (fighting off a wolfpack bare-handed springs to mind), but if there is the odd stray into what might be termed historical fantasy, then it's done artfully and neever to the point where the reader laughs and puts the book aside.

I loved it and I can't wait to read the next installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a full book, so much going on such action so exciting, love it., 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hereward: (Hereward 1) (Paperback)
As a child we were taught briefly about Hereward the Wake but never paid that much notice, this is an amazing book and though fictitious reveals a great personality , larger than life a hero. Refreshingly showing the enemy as the Normans, devastatingly revealing the terrorism of the day. From out of the depth and darkness comes a hero , a champion for the English in their struggle under the oppression that William the Conqueror brought to England. James Wilde is able through his writing to transport you back in time, you can almost smell the smoke from the burnings, hear the sounds of the battle rush, feel the tension in the battles . Brilliantly written and a stimulating read, I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hereward, 27 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Hereward (Hardcover)
A terrific 1st novel, introducing a new and almost forgotten hero, and his unlikely sidekick /narrator, to a new generation. This book provides nonstop action from page one but still takes the time to build in historical accuracy and to develop its key characters in all their complex humanity.

Hereward has the capability, intellect, tactical & strategic skills of an honourable Knight but is plagued by his own capacity for berserker style extreme violence. Driven by injustice heaped upon himself and his country folk he starts a one man war on the Normans. This story marks his path from outlaw to Knight and rebellious leader of the outlawed Anglo Saxons.

The start of a legend made fallible flesh and blood by the author. His character leaps off the pages, his passion for life, love honour and his deadly capacity for war both attractive and frightening at the same time.

Cannot wait for the following novel or novels!

Great job and a good cover to cover read. As the book neared its closure I found myself reading short sections as I did not want it to end! Always a good sign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 12 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Hereward: (Hereward 1) (Paperback)
Having been born and brought up in Ely and learned of Hereward's exploits for as long as I can remember, I've been trying over many years to find out the truth behind the myths and read just about everything I could find about him. I was pleased to see Wilde refer to Peter Rex's excellent biography which I can wholeheartedly recommend to everyone. This is the book on which this novel is based. Kingsley's classic 19th century novel "Hereward the Wake" was a splendid romantic take on the story but Wilde's has the ring of truth. Over the course of the novel, Hereward's character develops from the vicious, murdering thug to a true leader of men in the resistance to the horrors of Norman rule. The book is very violent and graphic but 11th century England under William the Bastard was a very violent place. I recommend this to everyone who likes their historical fiction based solidly in history rather than romance and can't wait for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit comic book, 18 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hereward: (Hereward 1) (Paperback)
Was a bit disappointed with this - very comic book, with the hero super-human. James Wilde has decided to adopt the Chris Ryan approach to story writing with very 2 dimensional macho characters. Also the use of Alric, seems to be a copy of Father Willibald in Bernard Cornwell's Saxon series.

Not sure what JW has against Harold Godwinson - seems a bit harsh - I dare say he was no angel - there weren't many back then - but his portrayal goes against how he was perceived by many at the time, including William the Conqueror himself, who seemed to like him. Yet Tostig was not well liked and is portrayed more sympathetically !

I suppose BC portrays some historic charaters badly (Asser, Aethelred of Mercia, and Aelswith to name but 3), potentially unfairly - but to pick on Harold was a strange move !

Not sure if I'll give him another go yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, pure class for a first book!, 26 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Hereward: (Hereward 1) (Paperback)
Despite the old saying, I did judge this book by its cover, and Im damn glad I did . An excellent read. The character Hereward was well written, loved the darkness about the man. The pace of the book was just right. Looking forward to the next installement. Great first book from an Author with a bright future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody, fierce and fabulous, 3 July 2011
By 
This review is from: Hereward (Hardcover)
Stonking debut novel that starts at full pelt and never really slows down. I wanted to read this book as it is a time in history I studied so I was intrigued to see how well it would be portrayed. James Wilde brings the hardship, horror and violence of the time to life with bloody realism. It's a grim time where life is easily and torturously forfeit. Hereward is possibly one of England's forgotten heroes and this interpretation of his troubled life is well worth the read.

Hereward has been wrongly outlawed by his own father, England is in turmoil, under threat from invasion and mercenaries are everywhere. Amongst a slaughtered village he finds Alric, a monk with his own guilty secret. Alric becomes the balancing and unusual friend to Hereward's berserker character. Their journey takes them abroad where Hereward develops into a far superior warrior and leader. I would have liked some more on Alric, the book does focus almost completely with Hereward and the other characters are very definitely secondary. However that really is only a very minor gripe on what was a fast paced, bloody, violent and well written historically accurate novel. All the battle scenes are well choreographed and I physically flinched reading some parts. Not for the faint hearted but if you like your early history, your vikings big and your heroes flawed and fierce this is for you.

I did really want the story to carry on, it ends at the start of a very interesting time, roll on the next one please Mr Wilde.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hereward: (Hereward 1)
Hereward: (Hereward 1) by James Wilde (Paperback - 29 Mar. 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews