Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars34
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2012
nothing to say, words can not express how these books are! absolutely fantastic, amazing from this author, carry on please with this series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2013
Great read, wonderful characters and a must for fans of all things Malazan. If you have ever wondered about the storm riders, read this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
If you enjoy the Malaysian books then make sure to read this. Grabs your interest Rom the first few pages. Thoroughly good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
A good read. Easier to get in to than some of the originals. I bought the whole Empire Novels at once and enjoyed them all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
Simply you just will not want to put this one down. It builds and builds to a brilliant ending. Superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Great book from an excellent author and an even better series of books. Get it - read it - enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
I didn't think that the Malazan series could be topped, but this may well have achieved that
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2011
bought as a present for my son, has not put it down since, he just wishes these two writers could produce their books quicker
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2010
It took so long to get here (I'm in Seattle) that I finally just downloaded it and started in on my iPad. But thats a service issue - not germane to the book. Amazons estimate, FYI, was over a full week off of shipping time: 27 days.

As to the book: it's Malazan - it is Esslemont. It's worthy of being both of those things. What else do you want to know?

If you've never read any of this stuff - go read Erickson; if you've never read any of Esslemont's Malazan work - go read crimson guard.

Worth every page turn.

D
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
*** SLIGHT SPOILER IN REGARDS TO DIRECTION OF THE SERIES ***

Meh...

That pretty much sums up my response to the book as a whole.

Two of storylines felt like fillers (Ivnar and Kiska storylines) and unless developed in the future they started nowhere and generally went nowhere. Completely pointless.

I really enjoyed the main Malazan storyline with the it showing a new continent and them there to create some mayhem. But again it ended with a "meh" feeling. What was the point in Greymane's actions? As someone stated above why not go around the wall? Why send a whole army there and then merely withdraw them after the event.

As well something which I feel needs looking at later is to the whole point of the Malazan invasion, without wanting to give away any storyline it jars with what you expect to be the point of "new" Malazan Empire under Mallack Rel. Unless they throw another curve ball, which would not surprise me in the Malazan series, it seems like a random action to give a good adventure and to publish a novel. What you have so far come to expect of Rel in his previous appearances in Malazan novels does not suggest he is a generous person, only out to save the world and end others suffering. He is somewhat, ME ME ME!!!!!!!

I can't help but feel that unless there are some twists up and coming this book is both out of sink with the whole development of the series and was even more so a pointless money making exercise as really it did not move anything forward and the few bits it did (as with the Stormriders) it never gave any reason for the outcome that came about.

Saying all of the above the book was well written and I enjoyed the style and the pace. But as above unless there are some twists it seems like a pointless "filler" book which could have been missed out.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.