Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Page Turning Read!!!
When it comes to thrillers Ms. Gerritsen is top-drawer. She always offers inventive storylines, truly dynamic and complex characters and does so without cheating the reader or the story.
Dr. Maura Isles and Detective Jane Rizzoli are back with a vengence and their latest case is not only chilling, it's deeply engrossing.
After a long day Dr. Isles is working on...
Published on 25 Oct 2005 by Kristi Ahlers

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
I'm a big fan of Tess Gerritsen and her stories with medical examiner Maura Isles, and Detective Jane Rizzoli. In this story, Dr. Isles discovers a 'corpse' which is still breathing, and then later escapes. It turns out that this lady has a mysterious history, and the quest to discover her true identity and her story begins.

This all occurs at the same time as...
Published on 14 Feb 2008 by S. Mazumder


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Page Turning Read!!!, 25 Oct 2005
By 
Kristi Ahlers (Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When it comes to thrillers Ms. Gerritsen is top-drawer. She always offers inventive storylines, truly dynamic and complex characters and does so without cheating the reader or the story.
Dr. Maura Isles and Detective Jane Rizzoli are back with a vengence and their latest case is not only chilling, it's deeply engrossing.
After a long day Dr. Isles is working on a report and when she can't remember a detail to one of the bodies she autopsied she returns to the cooler only find that there is a body that should be there yet. She's alive...barely. Maura has no idea though that she has uncovered a scandal of epic proportions and the fall out of this has only just began.
Detective Jane Rizzoli is drawing near to her delivery date. This tough, sassy, and pregnant cop is going to sit the stand one more time before she leaves on maternity leave. What should have been an easy in and out court testimony ends up with Jane controlling the out of control suspect with the end result of her water breaking. She is sent to the hospital where Dr. Isles "Jane Doe" was sent. Instead of delivering her baby Jane finds herself in a hostage situation involving "Jane Doe" and a secret she wants heard. But someone doesn't want "Jane Doe" to talk and will do all that they have to in order to seal the lips of this witness. Before they know it Jane, Gabriel, Maura, and more law enforcement agencies than you can shake a stick at. Will Jane and Gabe be able to save the day at the same time avoid losing sight of what's important?
This was an incredibly fast-paced read and one that will completely engross the reader from page one. All of our favorites come back for this story and it was interesting to see how far Gabriel and Jane have come emotionally since their first introduction. Mila is a wonderful character that the reader will see very little of but she is what ties the various threads of this story together. Ms. Gerritsen is a very talented author and one that I highly recommend if you like smart thrillers with all that that entails.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tess rolls on with another cracking story, 8 Mar 2006
By 
Phil Robertshaw (North Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Vanish (Hardcover)
There's a sense with Tess Gerritsen of waiting for a novel that doesn't live up to her usual standards. After all, you don't get any better than The Surgeon, and somehow she's managed to consistently deliver the goods with all the follow-up Rizzoli/Isles novels. Vanish has been eagerly awaited, and one could only hope it wasn't a let down.
Well, it's far from it. Vanish is one heck of a thriller, with the 'just one more chapter' feeling that has you racing to the end before you know it. You almost don't want it to end, because you've just spent the best part of the day caught up in it.
It's evident here that Tess Gerritsen has used Vanish to draw attention to politics and make the reader question the nature and validity of American policy with regard to terrorism. The book draws close parallels with real events, and one suspects that the seed of the plot has a strong link with actual happenings. But make no mistake about it. Vanish is first and foremost a work of fiction, and the latest in an increasingly excellent series.
Tess Gerritsen is onto a winner. She has likeable heroines in Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles. She has the ability to leave the reader spellbound and compelled by the stories she creates, desperate to know what is going to happen next. And she is virtually unrivalled in the genre at the moment, having left a good deal of crime writers in her wake.
Read this book. Do it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tess rolls on with another cracking story, 1 Feb 2007
By 
Phil Robertshaw (North Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
There's a sense with Tess Gerritsen of waiting for a novel that doesn't live up to her usual standards. After all, you don't get any better than The Surgeon, and somehow she's managed to consistently deliver the goods with all the follow-up Rizzoli/Isles novels. Vanish has been eagerly awaited, and one could only hope it wasn't a let down.

Well, it's far from it. Vanish is one heck of a thriller, with the 'just one more chapter' feeling that has you racing to the end before you know it. You almost don't want it to end, because you've just spent the best part of the day caught up in it.

It's evident here that Tess Gerritsen has used Vanish to draw attention to politics and make the reader question the nature and validity of American policy with regard to terrorism. The book draws close parallels with real events, and one suspects that the seed of the plot has a strong link with actual happenings. But make no mistake about it. Vanish is first and foremost a work of fiction, and the latest in an increasingly excellent series.

Tess Gerritsen is onto a winner. She has likeable heroines in Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles. She has the ability to leave the reader spellbound and compelled by the stories she creates, desperate to know what is going to happen next. And she is virtually unrivalled in the genre at the moment, having left a good deal of crime writers in her wake.

Read this book. Do it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and fast paced!, 23 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Vanish (Hardcover)
As a newcomer to Gerritsen (having previously only read The Surgeon) I was certainly not disapointed with Vanish. In fact I found this to be even more exciting and fastpaced. Like other readers I finished it in a day and am now well and truly hooked! I went straight online to order several more of her books. The characterisation is strong and after just one book you emphathise and become attached to the characters of Jane Rizzoli (police detective) and Maura Isles (medical examiner). The use of up to date world events in the story(such as recent terroist attacks)makes the plot more believable and real. Another good point is that you are not bombarded with lots of names and too many subplots which happens in some crime fiction and can make for a confusing read.
My only complaint is that it doesn't seem like you're really getting your moneys worth because it's impossible not to devour this book in one sitting! But if you're after an intense fast paced read then you have to get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You have GOT to read this one!, 19 Aug 2005
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vanish (Hardcover)
Dr. Maura Isles is doing paperwork on an autopsy late one night. She needs some information to continue and goes into the Cold Room to locate it. There, she hears a noise coming from one of the body bags. Upon opening it, Maura is horrified to discover that the woman is still alive! Shortly thereafter, Maura goes to the hospital to follow up on her Jane Doe. She enters Doe's room just in time to see Doe kill a security cop. Doe ends up barricading herself and six other people in the Diagnostic Imaging area.
Jane Rizzoli is a Homicide Detective with Boston Police Department. She is also about to deliver a baby. She naps on the exam table and wakes up to find herself one of six hostages. Then a stranger walks past the police and SWAT Team members without anyone noticing until it is too late. Doe and the stranger know each other. They are on the same side. Rizzoli's husband is FBI agent Gabriel Dean, who is outside the hospital worried about his wife. He becomes frantic when he learns that the stranger is a specially trained black-ops agent, Joseph Roke ... and Joe is NOT on the police's side this time. No one knows what these two, seemingly crazy people, could possibly have in common.
When the crisis is over, Dean, Rizzoli, and Maura cannot seem to drop all their unanswered questions. They begin their own investigation. Soon they realize that Doe and Roke may not have been crazy after all. Sometimes there are secrets so terrible that powerful people will stop at nothing to keep quiet.
***** You have GOT to read this one! Author Tess Gerritsen has created a story that I can only classify as a "Medical, Detective, & Political Thriller". This novel covers all of them. The scariest part about the story is that what it describes, the lost girls, is totally true. These girls ARE out there. And more are added to their numbers daily.
Make sure you do not begin reading this novel until you have a couple days off work with no pressing plans. Once you start reading, you will not be able to stop. Highly recommended reading. *****
Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 14 Feb 2008
By 
I'm a big fan of Tess Gerritsen and her stories with medical examiner Maura Isles, and Detective Jane Rizzoli. In this story, Dr. Isles discovers a 'corpse' which is still breathing, and then later escapes. It turns out that this lady has a mysterious history, and the quest to discover her true identity and her story begins.

This all occurs at the same time as Rizzoli is pregnant and going into labor. For me, using a mother who had literally just given birth as the lead detective chasing the bad guys was a little unbelievable, and was a major weakness of the plot. At one point, she is in pursuit of the killer whilst holding her 2 week old baby in her arms, which is pretty silly I think. Also, the story is kinda rushed at the end, which is disappointing after a good build-up.

Overall, it is still an enjoyable book to read, and one Tess Gerritsen fans should read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gut-Wrenching Action Tale of Good Versus Evil, 7 Sep 2005
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Vanish (Hardcover)
Many thrillers try to be too subtle. A good page turner has you racing through the words so fast that subtleties are going to be lost anyway. Dr. Gerritsen avoids that mistake. She keeps it simple and powerfully drives the story forward.
The story opens as a young woman named Mila describes her descent into the hell of being an involuntary prostitute. The narration alternatives between Mila speaking from the past and other characters speaking from their present. You know that the two story lines are on a powerful collision course, and Dr. Gerritsen keeps them apart long enough to create a veritable A-Bomb when the critical climax comes.
Detective Jane Rizzoli rises to new heights of heroism as she finds herself challenged to her limits just as she's about to give birth. You will remember scenes involving her for years after reading this book. It's some of the most original action fiction writing I've ever read.
The story has a pace and a fever about it that remind me of Day of the Jackal.
So far, I've made it sound pretty good. Right?
As I was taking this book out of the library, one of my favorite librarians asked me to assess for her the amount of unnecessary blood, gore and pain element in the book. My friend cannot bring herself to read Dr. Gerritsen's books any more due to my friend's sensitivities. If you are upset by such things, this book is way over the top. I graded it down one star for being even too much that way for my fairly jaded tastes. It's too bad. The sense of chilling evil could have been maintained just as well without so much explicitness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying.....you'll finish it in days, 28 Sep 2007
By 
Cosmic (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read the previous titles in the Jane Rizzoli series and actually thought that nothing could top The Surgeon but I have to say that this really comes close.

Very tense from the outset and quite graphic in places, I found this so engrossing that it was impossible to leave this book alone until I finished reading it. The basis of the story whilst somewhat predictable in some ways was nevertheless intriguing in that it's told from the point of view of the different characters involved. I think reference to the emotional aspect of the story has been made but I think it actually lends to the story rather than acting as a distraction. Without giving too much away, I don't think a crime novel which has human traffiking, sexual slavery and exploitation at its core could not end up with a emotional component attached to it. In my opinion, the two went hand in hand with each other quite well and did not diminish the quality of this book in any way whatsoever.

Once again Tess Gerritsen has done a fabulous job so without any further ado, I'm now off to read The Mephisto Club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vanish By Tess Gerristen, 3 Feb 2007
By 
Aine O. Kane "aine" (derry N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Summary: great read

I found this book exciting and a real page turner. All fans of Tess Gerristen will love this book. The plot is good and believable with enough twists to keep readers guessing. One of those rare books were you have to keep reading long into the small hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrifying but excellent, 19 Jan 2007
By 
D. Egred "Barrowbird" (London, U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a real page turner- I couldn't put it down. It terrifyed the life out of me in parts but it is really fast paced. This is the first book I have read by this author but I intend to read more.

Excellent- worthy of more than 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vanish: Rizzoli & Isles series 5
Vanish: Rizzoli & Isles series 5 by Tess Gerritsen (Paperback - 1 Jan 2010)
6.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews