Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Georgina's sent to Purgatory - well, Vancouver!
Succubus Heat is the fourth volume in Richelle Mead's series featuring Seattle succubus, Georgina Kincaid. By now, the characters and milieu are well-established and readers will know them well: Georgina, passionate, impulsive, intelligent and deeply caring - not quite what one would expect from a shape-shifting, immortal temptress whose purpose is to devour the...
Published on 11 Jun 2009 by T. McAuley

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars
This is the 4th book in the Georgina Kincaid series and it picks up a few months after the events of Succubus Dreams. Right from the start Georgina isn't herself, she's being a ... well, she's not nice. She's full of hate and pain and it's not pleaseant. She's outraged to have her friends tell her the truth, about how she's acting and how she shouldn't be with the guy...
Published on 31 May 2009 by Claire Mill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars, 31 May 2009
By 
Claire Mill "Cem" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Succubus Heat (Georgina Kincaid 4) (Paperback)
This is the 4th book in the Georgina Kincaid series and it picks up a few months after the events of Succubus Dreams. Right from the start Georgina isn't herself, she's being a ... well, she's not nice. She's full of hate and pain and it's not pleaseant. She's outraged to have her friends tell her the truth, about how she's acting and how she shouldn't be with the guy she's dating now, Dante, and her boss has had enough. From the back cover you already know that her boss ends up disappearing and she loses her powers (sorry, abilities) as a result, but this doesn't actually happen until about a third of the way in to the book. Up until that point it's mostly Georgina being pissed off about Jerome sending her away, and her moping over Seth. After, it's a combination of her trying to find Jerome, her trying to stay away from Seth, and feeling guilty cause he's her best friends boyfriend, so she shouldn't even be thinking of him like that. Oh, and hope that her semi-human state could possibly mean she finally has a chance to get pregnant.

The plot is tight, there aren't major holes in it and there are a few good twists. But this book, for me, is not as good as the last. Georgina spends a lot more time talking with people rather than doing anything, and she's not the easiest person to like in it either. There are still some funny moments too, but nothing on the previous books. But, although I found myself happy to sit and read it straight through, I didn't really have a problem putting it down, not as much as previous books. It didn't have the same pace and energy of the pervious books I felt, and although still being a good read, I didn't love it. Just from the preview of the fifth book, Succubus Shadows, in the back, it sounds better. I liked the idea behind this one, but it seemed to be more about tying up certain loose ends and getting rid of certain characters (and bringing others back) more than anything else. Still a good way to pass a few hours, and I'll be buying the next, but I don't think it was the best in the series and didn't show Ms. Mead's full talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Richelle's Best, 4 July 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Succubus Heat (Georgina Kincaid 4) (Paperback)
As a long term fan of Richelles Succubus series you can pretty much guarantee that when the latest novel lands it'll be read pretty soon after. So with so much goodness (or evilness if you like) guaranteed I got all my goodies together for a marathon reading session. The writing as usual was constructed very well, the narrative addictive and above all flowed in such a way that you never knew how it was going to unfurl until the final page. What disappointed, however, was the marathon sex sessions of a the principle protagonista as the author appeared to channel Laurel K Hamilton which annoyed me to be honest as whilst you do expect a certain amount of sex within the novels they've never really been this descriptive before. I just hope that she learns from this and doesn't fall into the dark territory that will lead her more to the literotica literature over the carefully constructed plot lines that have won her fans the world over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Georgina's sent to Purgatory - well, Vancouver!, 11 Jun 2009
By 
T. McAuley (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Succubus Heat (Georgina Kincaid 4) (Paperback)
Succubus Heat is the fourth volume in Richelle Mead's series featuring Seattle succubus, Georgina Kincaid. By now, the characters and milieu are well-established and readers will know them well: Georgina, passionate, impulsive, intelligent and deeply caring - not quite what one would expect from a shape-shifting, immortal temptress whose purpose is to devour the life-energy of mortals in order to advance the cause of Evil; Jerome, arch-demon of Seattle, who manifests in the mortal world in the form of John Cusack; Seth Mortensen, writer, honest man and the love of Georgina's life - despite the fact that he's currently dating one of her mortal friends; and Carter, the angel who associates with the denizens of Evil in the cause of Good.

All the familiar characters are back, although some play less of a role than previously, this time around. As the novel opens, Georgina, still heartbroken over her break-up with Seth, is sent by Jerome to Vancouver to help out the local arch-demon who's been having problems with a group of Satanists who, by attracting too much attention, are recruiting people to the cause of Good, instead of Evil. Shortly afterwards, however, Jerome vanishes, severing all of his minions' links with their infernal powers - his vampires can walk in the sun, his imps lose the ability to see mortal souls, and Georgina no longer absorbs life from anyone she becomes intimate with. Despite this meaning that a major obstacle to her getting close to Seth again has now been removed, it's up to Georgina to find Jerome, and unravel the mystery of his disappearance, before his superiors in Hell appoint a new arch-demon of Seattle and she and her friends find themselves with a new infernal master.

Georgina is a sympathetic heroine, and her witty voice makes Succubus Heat as engrossing a read as the previous three books. Mead's take on the forces of darkness as a great bureaucracy, with much of the work on Earth being done by `lesser immortals' - humans who have sold their souls for one reason or another - is both intriguing and amusing, if perhaps a little unbelievable, as none of the servants of Evil seem that, well, Evil. That aside, readers will, no doubt, find themselves glued to the text as Georgina and Seth's romance continues its rollercoaster ride, with both highs and lows, and much, much more, obviously, to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Succubus books, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this book and all the other succumbs books that Rochelle Mead has written if you like fantasy books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 12 Jun 2013
By 
Nikki (Redhill, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started to read this series a couple of years ago and with one thing and another I forgot about it.
I'm so glad I 're-discovered' Georgina.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant book, kept me gripped all the way to the end. I really didn't see the twist coming either! I have all of the books on my kindle and i will definitely read them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant richelle mead book, 9 Sep 2010
This review is from: Succubus Heat (Georgina Kincaid 4) (Paperback)
I would highly recommend Succumbus Heat to anyone who liked her previous books, this book is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For lovers of Mead and supernatural romance, 4 Mar 2010
This review is from: Succubus Heat (Georgina Kincaid 4) (Paperback)
This is the 4th Book in the series and by now, I love Georgina and all the characters in the story. Please do not read if you do not want some small spoilers!! However, if you like Mead and other work and you are certainly over the age of 16 then buy this series/book! You'll love it!

As we know, in the 3rd book, Seth and Georgina are no more and whats worse, he is now dating Kincaids friend and fellow colleague. Sniffle Sniffle. And doesnt she feel sorry for herself in this book! At first, I sympathised with her but then I felt like saying to her 'Get over it!' or 'win him back!'. She is also dating a basically soulless warlock/con artist who everyone dislikes and tells Kincaid that she can do better but as usual, does she listen? Not suprising then what happens at the end of this book... Back to Seth, now that she is suddenly without her succubus powers as a 'miracle' happened, will she get with the now taken seth and corrupt his soul? (and i dont mean by sucking it out when they 'ahem'). You'll have to read it wont you? Oh, and someone from the past comes back which I rather enjoyed as I always loved this character and believe that Kincaid could be really happy in her love life with this 'being'. Forget Seth! One more thing, we finally get to read about Kincaids contract when she sold her soul. A big hint, read it carefully and you'll work it out yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Georgina Kincaid Series Book 4, 3 Feb 2010
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Succubus Heat (Georgina Kincaid 4) (Paperback)
This is the 4th book in the Georgina Kincaid series & continues the story several months after the end of Succubus Dreams. While my review won't give you any spoilers for this book I can't help but give information about the previous books so if you're new to the series please don't read any further. I'd highly recommend checking this series out though - so please check out book 1 Succubus Blues.

At the end of Succubus Dreams Georgina was left devistated by her break up with the love of her life Seth. The beginning of Succubus Heat focuses on how she deals with this. She is hurting and angry at the world and has been on a fast downward spiral into depression. She no longer cares about stealing men's life force - in fact she revels in it - and her anger has changed her character completely. She is pushing away her friends and her bad attitude has really annoyed her boss Jerome.

Jerome decides he needs a break from Georgina so when another demon requests his help he is happy to send Georgina to deal with it. A satanic cult in Vancouver is doing more damage to the cause of evil. The stunts they are pulling are giving the church more publicity and they need to be stopped. Georgina is tasked with infiltrating the cult & stopping them - whatever the cost.

While Georgina is busy in Vancouver Jerome mysteriously disappears & suddenly all the lesser mortals find themselves without their abilities. The vampires Peter & Cody are able to walk in the sun, Imp Hugh can't see mortal's souls and Georgina can't shape-shift and doesn't need to steal human life force to survive. While they are worried that they may no longer be immortal this does have it's advantages - she no longer has to worry about not being able to sleep with Seth. Of course he is still dating Georgina's friend Maddy so there are still complications.

With Jerome missing other demons are all fighting over who will get his job which is a major cause of worry for Georgina & their friends. They don't want to be stuck with a new boss - after all they're better off with the devil they know - so they have to find Jerome before someone else is given his position. Without her immortal powers it isn't going to be easy to locate Jerome - especially when she has no idea who is behind the plot to overthrow him.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book - you still have the great mix of characters that I love so much, we also have some new introductions & the appearance of some old faces. The plot is fast paced - particularly in the second half of the book & I really had trouble putting the book down. If you're a fan of the series I'm sure you'll love this installment and I'm really looking forward to finding out what happens next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars There was defiantly Heat, 20 Sep 2009
This review is from: Succubus Heat (Georgina Kincaid 4) (Paperback)
Succubus Heat (Georgina Kincaid 4) was totally a great book to read over the summer which kept me on the edge of my seat (bed) from the begin to the end. However I am so happy that Roman is back and is Georgina roommate I really hope they become an item because I think they are soul mate. CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT INSTALMENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Succubus Heat (Georgina Kincaid 4)
Succubus Heat (Georgina Kincaid 4) by Richelle Mead (Paperback - 4 Jun 2009)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews