Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Entertaining Read
This isn't highbrow literature but it doesn't pretend to be. If you enjoy the 'race to unearth ancient artefacts whilst being chased by a group intent that the deadly/destructive secret hidden for thousands of years will not be uncovered' type books, you could do worse than spending a day or two reading this book!

I'm a big fan of these type novels, and whilst...
Published on 14 July 2012 by Jessiekovs

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Enough Read
I found this book to be an easy enough read. It is also a very quick read. Like all books in the religious thriller genre, there is plenty of action, a conspiracy, the badies (typically evil and ultimately stupid) and the evil Catholic Church (well not the Church itself, but people within it). Also, there is the ubiquitous missing scroll or codex that gives the true...
Published on 18 Nov 2009 by Matthew Turner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Enough Read, 18 Nov 2009
By 
Matthew Turner "loyalroyal" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Apostle (Mass Market Paperback)
I found this book to be an easy enough read. It is also a very quick read. Like all books in the religious thriller genre, there is plenty of action, a conspiracy, the badies (typically evil and ultimately stupid) and the evil Catholic Church (well not the Church itself, but people within it). Also, there is the ubiquitous missing scroll or codex that gives the true origin of Christianity, or some other shocking secret. In this case, the author follows the often tread route of the Cathars and their mysterious treasure at Montsegur. I won't add anymore so as to not ruin the story for potential readers. Finally, in common with other similar books, the quest is led by a male-female partnership - in this case Chris Bronson and his ex-wife Angela.

As far as the plot goes, it is reasonably written, mostly well-paced and has frequent action scenes. However, there is not enough characterisation, nor is much information given about the characters, their backgrounds or motives - in particular the protagonist, Chris Bronson, needs more padding out. Bronson is an engaging character whom I would have liked to have seen developed beyond the have-a-go hero type.

A simple enough book to read, there is just about enough here for me to recommend it and for me to want to read the next book by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing book, 3 Aug 2008
By 
Amazon Customer "Sue K" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The First Apostle (Mass Market Paperback)
I have to disagree with the previous reviewer and say that although it is the "conspiracy theory genre" yet again, I find this book quite refreshing. I liked the idea that for once, we were not dealing with a CIA type superhero, the main protagonist actually worked in a Police Station in Tunbridge Wells (although I must admit I found it strange he would pull into the multi storey car park rather than park in the Police Station - as I know the location very well). I agree to Mr Bronson being a bit one-dimensional and I was mildly irritated how he arrived at his answers a little too quickly but, this is a fast paced thriller and I felt it was more intelligently written than a lot of the other conspiracy books that are out there , ie Chris Kuzneski's recent series - which are awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor!, 20 April 2011
By 
Emma Hart (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Apostle (Mass Market Paperback)
I love this genre of book, and i think i bought this one as a recommendation from buying others of a similar ilk.
This has to be the worst one i've ever read. How Bronson (a lowly detective sargeant - I think? - with the Met in Tunbridge Wells) manages the gargantuan leaps he does in deciphering the importance of those three words written in stone, is beyond me.
I actually laughed out loud at one point.
Blatant plugs for use of "his nokia" when, of course, a call on a mobile would suffice.
And as for the ending.............well, i can only assume the esteemed author is planning a sequel (heaven forbid!).
Finally, as a Kentish girl, I'm pretty appalled that the sub-editors or proof-readers don't know that "Tonbridge" has a different spelling to the "Tunbridge" in "Tunbridge Wells".

I always recycle my books to families and friends when I've read them. I have to say though, this one's gone in the recycling bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Following old paths - not very original, but still entertaining - good for long distance flights, 30 Jan 2009
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The First Apostle (Mass Market Paperback)
The First Apostle is a typical book - a thriller with a pseudo religious background and the evil Vatican hidding the real sources of Christianity in order to gain and keep power. Well, well... Dan Brown comes to mind. So this book is not at all original and just follow paths already gone by many. This alone justifies merely three stars. However, it is entertaining, fast moving and the style is not boring. I had no problems getting through the book in no time, but I am sure that in a months time I will have problems remembering what that was all about. So neither a nightmare nor a real page turner. I did not mind having read it, but I can not really recommend it. A book fine for a long distance flight but you will leave in the plane when getting off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of time, 14 Jan 2009
By 
A. Young "pumpkin" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Apostle (Mass Market Paperback)
im a fan of davinci code-kind-of-story, including david gibbins' lost gospel , chris K. , etc but in my opinion , this book is completely horrible.

first, the character can be so unbelievably smart ( come up with an answer just like that) and overly cautious one minute , and the next minute do something extremely stupid / shallow. i never dislike the main characters in a book so much like i dislike these two people especially at the ending.

--- possible spoiler warning ----

2nd, the idea of the story just doesnt appeal at all to me , a lot of books out there pointed how corrupted catholic church was in the old days but actually pointed fingers at two saints as bad guys and then at the author's note try to point out that some people think the same thing about them are just too much and pathetic.

complete waste of my money and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unoriginal cash-cow, 5 Oct 2008
By 
SonicQuack (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The First Apostle (Mass Market Paperback)
For those who have read 'Sign of the Cross' by Chris Kuzneski I would suggest skipping this religious thriller, for the plots are almost identical. The story weaves it's chase action in a different way from most of the books in this genre, which is refreshing, however, the characters are rather lacklustre and the action is rather simplistic. Overall, The First Apostle is a poor entry in this crowded scene, adding nothing new in content, and although it's an easy read there are better options out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stolid potboiler, 18 Sep 2012
By 
Weshty (Co.Clare, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The First Apostle (Mass Market Paperback)
I pretty much read this in a night. A complete page turner written in basic solid prose. I feared it was going to be one of those horrible knights Templar / grail rip offs. Fortunately it wasn't.

Some of the plotting is just laughable, particularly the way the protagonists get over the deaths of several close friends so quickly. Emotional dialogue is also utterly pre functionary most of the time. The easy manner in which the hero deducts and second guesses the baddies also raises the odd eyebrow. But the author's armed forces past does add veracity to the action scenes. The roman crucifixion opening scene in particularly descriptive without descending into "torture porn".

In summary, a solid surprisingly engaging and entertaining bit of bubble gum fiction. It would make a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Entertaining Read, 14 July 2012
This review is from: The First Apostle (Mass Market Paperback)
This isn't highbrow literature but it doesn't pretend to be. If you enjoy the 'race to unearth ancient artefacts whilst being chased by a group intent that the deadly/destructive secret hidden for thousands of years will not be uncovered' type books, you could do worse than spending a day or two reading this book!

I'm a big fan of these type novels, and whilst in my opinion, First Apostle isn't in the same league as any of Scott Mariani's Ben Hope series, it is still an entertaining read.

I read this book in a day and on the strength of this, I've already bought the next two books in the series - The Moses Stone & The Messiah Secret. So if you enjoy the likes of Scott Mariani, Steve Berry, Andy McDermott, I would recommend that you give this a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vatican Mafiosa, 15 Mar 2012
By 
A. Bibby "Big Al" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Apostle (Mass Market Paperback)
Reasonably well written. Good pace & a plot line spoiled by being too complex at times. This guys deductive powers would put S Holmes to shame.
Usual Vatican conspiracy story, similar to Da Vinci Code but less well constructed. A good airline book that doesn't stretch the imagination too much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good thriller in an overcrowded genre, 10 April 2010
By 
N. Young (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The First Apostle (Mass Market Paperback)
Not exactly an original premise - the good guy tries to uncover a secret relating to the origins of Christianity that the evil Vatican (in cahoots with the Mafia if you please) will do anything to keep hidden. Shades of Dan Brown?

Despite that, however, this is a pretty good modern thriller - albeit one in a very overcrowded genre. The hero, a detective from the Kent Police who is aided by his ex-wife, is somehow more believable than an action-man academic or super-spy type. The pace is fast enough to keep the reader entertained, although it's more of a book for a long-distance flight or the beach than anything else
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The First Apostle
The First Apostle by James Becker (Mass Market Paperback - 28 July 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews