Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars58
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2014
Bought as I recently finished another of Rick's books (that near death thing), and am thoroughly enjoying this too.Well paced and full of little details you could only know from having been around the racers at the time. Excellent read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Got this for the wife, she's a big fan of Valentino Rossi. This has kept her quiet for days, its been absolute bliss. The downside though is that I appear to have lost my kindle, but the sacrifice has been worth it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
I bought it expecting it to be about modern MotoGP, but it was primarily about Hailwood and I liked that. It's an interesting read, but the author does seem awfully opinionated at points.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
Got to say this was a book which i expected to go over old ground but this was really entertaining and i actually liked how he jumped back and forwards from the Hailwood comeback at the TT to Rossi's progression in motogp. Rossi is a phenomenon but has a vicious streak which the press chooses to ignore. He has a habit of being friendly with rivals until they become a threat, then he ignores them and indulges in serious mind games. His spats with Biaggi are legendary but he also destroyed Gibernau's brain and tried but failed to break Stoner.
One of the better paddock gossip books, well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
I really enjoyed this book. Although I have been very interested in and have closely followed motorcycle racing for many years, this book has given me a new insight. Written in a pacey dramatic style it is a fascinaing and true story about these modern day gladiators. The author contrasts the life of Mike Hailwood with that of Valentino Rossi and other modern day bike racers. There are numerous anecdotes and tales which I had not heard about before. It's this human side that makes this book so interesting. Even if you have no particular interest in bike racing this book would still be a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
There are interesting details in this book but there are also some odd opinions on the motivation of the racers particularly regarding the danger and consequences of that danger.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
A great read for any motogp, Rossi or bike fan. Doesn't really age as it covers such a time span. Highly recommended
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2009
Whilst, at times, slightly difficult to follow - there are two stories from different eras being told at the same time - this book provides a brilliant insight into what has, and continues, to make Valentino Rossi successful. In detailing his successes (and rare failures) we see how he dominates the minds of his competitors, and then the racetrack, in the dangerous world of top-level motorcycle racing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
A good read that I found difficult to put down. Insightful into the world of moto gp and the sometimes almost bitchyness that pervades it. The alternate look back at the days of Mike Hailwood and his arch rival Agostini giving perspective to the modern world of racing and its roots. Occasionally a bit cheesy but forgiven for way the book grabbed me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
anyone following motogp must read this book, its an eye opener on how hard n difficult it is for all those involved in this "glamorous" sport. i skipped the parts on mike hailwood as i dont know much of that era, but the parts on rossi and the going ons behind the scene in Motogp were super. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)