Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Inside view of Motorbike racing, 14 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket Men (Kindle Edition)
In many ways, this book would merit 5 stars, but it falls a bit short in the literary sense. I wanted to read a book that would serve to put Mark Gardiner`s excellent Riding Man in perspective. I needed to read something by/about a rider with great natural talent, that took a seat-of-the-pants approach to racing. Exactly the case of Rocket Ron. The book is written in a pleasant, direct manner, and Ron strikes the right balance in being proud of his achievements, confident in his ability without coming across as conceited. Towards the end, we get treated to an account of Ron`s son Leon`s career so far. This is where the book`s editing gets a little strange, as Ron recounts some incident or other, and then, to give us a different perspective, has Leon write a few pages or so so that we get his version, straight from the horse`s mouth. It works, but it`s a bit bizarre, particularly as the first 80% of the book is very much a first hand account, without people chipping with their views. I enjoyed it very much, however, and highly recommend it to anyone who`s interested in motorbike racing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rocket Ron Haslam, 3 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket Men (Paperback)
Bought as a Christmas present for my husband. He will be taking it on holiday next week, so should keep him quiet for an hour or two. Book delivered within 3-5 working days in excellent condition as I have always found with products bought on Amazon. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star read, 30 Oct 2011
This review is from: Rocket Men (Paperback)
just finished reading 'rocket men' and was so glad i did! took me 3 days to read and i'm not a big reader but is just one that i couldn't put down. Gripping from start to finish......a real 5star read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ron" the rocket" haslam., 7 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket Men (Paperback)
A very good read, from Ron's rather madcap childhood in Langley Mills, one of 10 kids, who had to put up with a drunkard, workshy dad- he seemed to either be in the pub or jail!The family did finally get rid off him, so they could get their lives back on track, to his career as one of Britain's top bike racers and beyond.
Ron got the bike bug from his older brothers, two of whom- Phil and Babe died while racing, but still Ron carried on in the sport.
His son Leon now carries on in his footsteps and pursues a fairly successful career in bike racing.
This book is a recommended read for any fans of bike racing, a rivetting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just motorcycle racing!, 31 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket Men (Paperback)
Really good book! The book is split between Ron's racing career and his tough upbringing. I've read several biographies of racers, and this is up there with the best. A good mix between racing information and Ron's on insights on life, and more importantly family. If you like your motorcycle racing you'll love this book. Not as good as the Hislop biography, but far better than Rossi and Rainey books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ROCKET MEN, 4 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket Men (Paperback)
Bought as a Christmas present which was read in less than 2 weeks! I'm told it is a very good, interesting book and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Life Loss and Acheivement - The Haslam Family, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket Men (Paperback)
A frank and honest account - no excuses and no blame. A good read providing insight into the Haslman family racing life over a considerable period and the events as they unfolded. They story of a man and his values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a well chosen gift, 2 Feb 2010
By 
J. Hunt (heanor,derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocket Men (Hardcover)
i bought this book for my partner for christmas and for once he was entirely pleased with my chosen gift. he read it from cover to cover in a matter of days.

now i might actually get the chance to read it : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rocket ron, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket Men (Kindle Edition)
Superb read full of great family stories of the ups and downs of racing.what a family all great racers and down to earth people..recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good read they were what I called racer always skint ..., 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket Men (Kindle Edition)
good read they were what I called racer always skint but some how manage to get by . not like today lots of backers treated like gods
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rocket Men
Rocket Men by Leon Haslam (Paperback - 30 July 2009)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews