Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rod Fountain A Rocket Ron Fan, 30 Jan 2009
By 
Rodney Fountain (MANCHESTER u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocket Men (Hardcover)
A great read from start to finish.This book really puts into perspective the hard slog that Ron had to go through to reach the top,compared to some of the pampered sportsmen of today. He graphicly tells of the many lows that would have stopped a lesser man. The young chip off the old block has his say as well. A FIRST CLASS READ AND HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocket men - ROCKS!, 7 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Rocket Men (Paperback)
My husband recieved this book as a wedding anniversary present. He said it was 5 star rating if you are a biker. He read it in 3 days., but he does that with all good books he enjoys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ron haslam rocket men, 27 Feb 2009
By 
R. E. Land (GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocket Men (Hardcover)
Grand book very good read, i have met Ron and lived in the area so a lot of facts for me brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madcap mayhem, 12 Dec 2008
This review is from: Rocket Men (Hardcover)
What an early family life ! absolute mayhem, madness and madcap which then drove Ron and Leon to their achievements. A good, detailed and easy read, but also so descriptive I felt every crash.....Tremendous..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now, 23 Nov 2010
By 
A. Elsworth (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocket Men (Paperback)
As a race fan I always get a rider biography to take on holiday.
I watched Ron race for years and admired him a a racer but knew little of his life before the limelight.
Growing up in a similar area at a similar time brought back childhood memories but 10 times worse than me :-)
He did not have an easy life, but was focus and worked hard and deserved all he got and gets in the future.
Not a lot about the Pocket Rocket in there but that's not why I bought it.

After reading this he is a hero all over again.

Great read, I have read many rider stories and this is up there with the best.

The only annoying thing is he is 3 years older than me and still looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocket Review, 15 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. K. Green "Green Man" (Belper, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocket Men (Paperback)
This is a great read from start to finish. The gritty determination of this Derbyshire lad grips you and you just have to turn the next page. Some great nostaligic descriptions of epic races against the top men of the time. Interesting to read about the gradual change from rider to mentor. Never a dull chapter. Highly recommended,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From humble beginings..., 2 Oct 2009
This review is from: Rocket Men (Paperback)
This book clearly shows what a tough up-bringing Ron had, yet despite this, [and losing two brothers to racing accidents],still raced against some of the worlds best riders in Grand Prix 500's.
His massive experience with setting up and developing various types of machinery, is now being passed on to his son Leon.
Would have liked to read more about his experiences in Grand Prix and his times with Mal Carter but never the less, still a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rocket men, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket Men (Kindle Edition)
if you're into bikes then this book keeps you entertained throughout , interesting from start to finish, a good interesting book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket Men (Paperback)
Bought for a gift, the book was well received and has been passed to friends and family who have equally enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rocket Men (Paperback)
I purchased this book for my husband. He is still reading it but said that he is really enjoying it. It's a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rocket Men
Rocket Men by Leon Haslam (Paperback - 30 July 2009)
6.77
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews