Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars35
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2009
Unlike H Dowdell, I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and found it an easy and enjoyable read. I had already read "Blood & Sand", which I also enjoyed, but I liked "Far Horizons" better. To be fair, a large part of "Blood & Sand" deals with Frank's appalling injuries and subsequent long and painful convalescence - perhaps not "enjoyable" in the normal sense, but an amazing story of survival against all the odds. "Far Horizons" is a lighter book altogether, and I found some of the incidents very amusing. I don't think it was intended as a "travel book" in the way H Dowdell defines this, but more of an autobiography. The cover promises "unusual journeys and strange encounters", and I think that's exactly what you get. It may not be "great writing", but it's easy to read and entertaining - which is what I personally look for in a book.
11 comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2009
I heard Frank Gardner being interviewed on the radio a few years ago when he talked frankly about his life leading up to and after the shooting in 2004 which left him paralysed. I was stuck by his positive and unsentimental attitude in facing up to his situation. A remarkable, courageous and inspirational man.

Anyone who enjoyed Michael Palin's travel books, would probably enjoy this book. It is not perhaps written with quite the flair and humour of Michael Palin's books, but worthy and a good read nonetheless.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2009
Very good and interesting sketches by the author,.. this was a gift for someone who travels a lot; he saved it for a plane journey, and it did not disappoint !
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2010
I found Frank Gardner's Book Far Horizons to be extremely interesting following the very good reviews in newspapers,internet and magazines. Since the tragic incidences which have happened to Frank and the death of his camerman I have taken a even deeper interest and it is nice to see Frank in the BBC News Studio in conversation with the programme presenter, Frank sitting in his wheelchair. A very learned gentleman who possesses a way of putting over very clearly whether in text or spoken word. To accept the challenges which have been presented, a lot of cases obstacles which have had to be overcome admires great tact and he has found a way of living in close harmony with the people of a particular country or region. I look forward to reading Frank's Blood and Sand which was published some years ago. Believing there must still be a vast amount of knowledge still to be imparted by Frank I feel sure that the ink in his pen has not dried up and look forward to capturing this hopefully in future books as the days unfold. The end chapters of this book gives a insight into disability which has again been borne with great courage by Frank.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2009
Far HorizonsAn excellent read - an adventurer who despite adversity is still an adventurer!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
When I started this book, I thought, "Max Hastings meets Bill Bryson", but Frank Gardner is not the "press baron" figure that Max Hastings is, although they do share similar public school and Territorial Army backgrounds and are intrepid journalists. As for Bill Bryson, Frank Gardner does not have his amusing light touch, but appears more cerebral, willing and able to learn foreign languages (and a fluent Arabic speaker).

Frank Gardner comes across as worthy, brave and determined, not least after his confinement to a wheelchair. He is non-judgemental too. The book takes us to various interesting destinations and describes them well. My only criticism is that it is a bit plodding and worthy and perhaps slightly indigestible.

Finally, I read the book during the present "Arab Spring": which made some of his 2009 observations, not least on Bahrein, particularly interesting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2009
Having already read "Blood & Sand" I was eager to read "Far Horizons and found it equally enthralling.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
This was a book club read and was well liked by all. Frank was of course shot and paralysed but has continued with his career and is a real survivor. He was always an adrenalin junky as a young man and still challenges himself, brilliant man.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2010
Absorbing autobiographical account by Frank of his travels beforw and after his ambush in Saudi Arabia. No bitterness by him although he would be entitled to plenty after.Great book by a great reporter/correspondent for BBC.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Beautiful writing, descriptive passages captivating, puts to shame a lot of Gap Year students' travels. Would it be possible to re-create his adventures. Really enjoyed and recommend this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)