Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far Horizons
Unlike H Dowdell, I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and found it an easy and enjoyable read. I had already read "Blood & Sand", which I also enjoyed, but I liked "Far Horizons" better. To be fair, a large part of "Blood & Sand" deals with Frank's appalling injuries and subsequent long and painful convalescence - perhaps not "enjoyable" in the normal sense, but an amazing...
Published on 24 July 2009 by A. McAllister

versus
19 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Travel Book Without Direction
Travel books generally fall into two main types. Travel guides which are factual and need to be accurate and reliable.

The other category is travel biography. In these truth is the important factor. The author must honestly descibe what they find in the places they visit, the people they interact with and the impact that the journey has on them. They are books...
Published on 10 Jun 2009 by H. Dowdell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far Horizons, 24 July 2009
By 
A. McAllister (Ayr, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Unlike H Dowdell, I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and found it an easy and enjoyable read. I had already read "Blood & Sand", which I also enjoyed, but I liked "Far Horizons" better. To be fair, a large part of "Blood & Sand" deals with Frank's appalling injuries and subsequent long and painful convalescence - perhaps not "enjoyable" in the normal sense, but an amazing story of survival against all the odds. "Far Horizons" is a lighter book altogether, and I found some of the incidents very amusing. I don't think it was intended as a "travel book" in the way H Dowdell defines this, but more of an autobiography. The cover promises "unusual journeys and strange encounters", and I think that's exactly what you get. It may not be "great writing", but it's easy to read and entertaining - which is what I personally look for in a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 5 Jun 2009
Very good and interesting sketches by the author,.. this was a gift for someone who travels a lot; he saved it for a plane journey, and it did not disappoint !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable man, 17 July 2009
By 
Mrs. Lynne Park (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I heard Frank Gardner being interviewed on the radio a few years ago when he talked frankly about his life leading up to and after the shooting in 2004 which left him paralysed. I was stuck by his positive and unsentimental attitude in facing up to his situation. A remarkable, courageous and inspirational man.

Anyone who enjoyed Michael Palin's travel books, would probably enjoy this book. It is not perhaps written with quite the flair and humour of Michael Palin's books, but worthy and a good read nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excelent, 3 July 2009
By 
Having already read "Blood & Sand" I was eager to read "Far Horizons and found it equally enthralling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far Horizons, 1 July 2009
Far HorizonsAn excellent read - an adventurer who despite adversity is still an adventurer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable adventures of a remarkable man, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Horizons (Paperback)
Having now read both Frank Gardner's books, I am even more in awe of this remarkable man. Every chapter of Far Horizons is an adventure in its own right. The first two thirds of the book deals with his excursions abroad before his shooting, and helps create an understanding that this is no ordinary man, life it to be lived to the full and things only really get interesting for him when boundaries have been pushed to the limit. The way he is then able to approach life after he has lost the use of his legs is simply extraordinary, scuba diving, abseiling (yes, abseiling in a wheelchair!), skiing and more. It is his sheer determination and refusal to take his situation, literally, lying down that I am so in awe of - a role model for us all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Determination to succeed and accomplishing of same, 5 Sep 2010
This review is from: Far Horizons (Paperback)
I found Frank Gardner's Book Far Horizons to be extremely interesting following the very good reviews in newspapers,internet and magazines. Since the tragic incidences which have happened to Frank and the death of his camerman I have taken a even deeper interest and it is nice to see Frank in the BBC News Studio in conversation with the programme presenter, Frank sitting in his wheelchair. A very learned gentleman who possesses a way of putting over very clearly whether in text or spoken word. To accept the challenges which have been presented, a lot of cases obstacles which have had to be overcome admires great tact and he has found a way of living in close harmony with the people of a particular country or region. I look forward to reading Frank's Blood and Sand which was published some years ago. Believing there must still be a vast amount of knowledge still to be imparted by Frank I feel sure that the ink in his pen has not dried up and look forward to capturing this hopefully in future books as the days unfold. The end chapters of this book gives a insight into disability which has again been borne with great courage by Frank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What a survivor, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Horizons (Paperback)
This was a book club read and was well liked by all. Frank was of course shot and paralysed but has continued with his career and is a real survivor. He was always an adrenalin junky as a young man and still challenges himself, brilliant man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Far Horizons (Kindle Edition)
Beautiful writing, descriptive passages captivating, puts to shame a lot of Gap Year students' travels. Would it be possible to re-create his adventures. Really enjoyed and recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far Horizons, 17 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Far Horizons (Paperback)
Absorbing autobiographical account by Frank of his travels beforw and after his ambush in Saudi Arabia. No bitterness by him although he would be entitled to plenty after.Great book by a great reporter/correspondent for BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Far Horizons
Far Horizons by Frank Gardner (Paperback - 10 Jun 2010)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews