Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC
This is about the fourth Kenzie & Gennaro novel I have read and is absolutely the best. Patrick and Angie are hired by dying Billionaire, Trevor Stone, to look for his missing daughter Desiree, and they embark on a non-stop, action packed, thriller. Throughout the book there are moments of humour and romance, as well as non-stop action. There are more twists in the...
Published on 1 Dec 2003 by roonetta

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok read
Not a bad book, but after reading Lehane' s Shutter Island, was slightly disappointed. The plot was dis-jointed, and far fetched. Often difficult to get into, but not a bad
Published 20 months ago by Miss J DIxon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 1 Dec 2003
This review is from: Sacred (Paperback)
This is about the fourth Kenzie & Gennaro novel I have read and is absolutely the best. Patrick and Angie are hired by dying Billionaire, Trevor Stone, to look for his missing daughter Desiree, and they embark on a non-stop, action packed, thriller. Throughout the book there are moments of humour and romance, as well as non-stop action. There are more twists in the tale than I think I have ever known in a book and most, although not all, I really didn't see coming. This book is exceptionally well written and I couldn't put it down. The two main characters are extremely likeable, even though they are not without their flaws, and you find yourself rooting for them all the way through the book. My only complaint is that there is a lot of reference to a previous case which I presume is dealt with in a previous book. I will have to check which book this is and buy it immediately. Even though this book gives away what happens in it, nothing could spoil a Lehane novel. However, if you have the chance, check out which order you should read Lehane's books in.
At the risk of repeating myself, this book is fantastic and if you haven't read a Kenzie & Gennaro novel, what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of Twists and Turns, 7 Jan 2008
By 
Laurel Whitehead (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sacred (Paperback)
Private Investigators Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro are back. They've closed their office, because of what happened in the last book ("Darkness Take My Hand") and are adamant about not taking on any more cases. At least for a while. But dying billionaire Trevor Stone has different ideas. He has the pair kidnapped, so that they're forced to listen to his proposal. They don't want to, but he offers them twenty grand just to hear what he has to say. Then he tells them about how his darling daughter, who turns out not to be so darling after all, has gone missing in Florida. He's sent PI Jay Becker after her, the man who taught Patrick the biz, but he's vanished as well.

This book takes us out of the seamier side of Boston and isn't as dark as Lehane's last two novels. Though this one is a little lighter in tone, it's still full of the twists and turns we've come to expect from Lehane and, like his last two books, this one too is worth every one of those five stars.

Review submitted by Captain Katie Osborne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Corker!, 27 Nov 2009
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sacred (Paperback)
Dennis Lehane has been writing since 1994 and I believe this was the third book he wrote. I have only read one previous Lehane novel and thoroughly enjoyed it. If possible this book was even better.

We meet Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro. Patrick is a Private Detective and Angie is his partner both in work and love. They have taken a bit of time off work and are re-discovering their relationship. To their surprise they are kidnapped and taken to the home of Trevor Stone. When they arrive they are asked by Trevor to take on a case for a fee. Desiree Stone, Trevor's daughter, has been missing for three weeks and he needs her to be found. Jay Becker, one of Patrick's old friends, was also sent to find Desiree but he too has gone missing. Patrick and Angie take on the case and find themselves trapped in the middle between truth and lies. The problem is they aren't too sure who the predator is, and who the prey is. The case takes them from Boston to Florida and along the way they get caught up in a company called Grief Release. They just need to figure out where they fit in to the bigger picture.

This book truly had me gripped from the very first chapter to the very last. Lehane has a style of writing that is unlike others I read. The two characters in this book have also featured in Prayers for Rain and I believe they also feature in follow on books too. What I loved is that although Patrick and Angie are doing a serious job there is a slight undertone of very sarcastic humour between them which makes for fantastic reading. The story itself was very strong, yet intricate but doesn't fail to keep your interest. I was kept guessing until the very end and couldn't have asked to read a better book. As I have only read one other Lehane book, I will continue to read his work as it is an absolute joy. I would highly recommend that if you haven't tried Dennis Lehane then you start now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's an author who just keeps on getting better!, 8 May 2000
This review is from: Sacred (Paperback)
"Sacred" is Dennis Lehane's third detective novel featuring private investigators Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro and there's no doubt at all that Lehane gets better and better with every new book. Maybe one of the best aspects of the Kenzie-Gennaro series is the reappearance of other and lesser characters you've come to know and love from the previous books (though only an idiot would describe Bubba as "lesser"!). And once again "Sacred" now has passing references to incidents in both "Darkness, Take My Hand" and "A Drink Before The War", Lehane's two previous novels. These references are relatively unimportant in themselves and there's no need to have read either of the earlier novels to get a cartload of enjoyment from "Sacred", but regular readers will get a comfortable feeling of familiarity. In fact, Dennis Lehane seems to be creating a developing saga in a series of stand-alone stories, but with each successive book containing links here and there to the one before. "Sacred" is a great read - fans of the tough, fast-moving detective novel are very unlikely to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best thriller writer around!, 27 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Sacred (Paperback)
Superbly engaging book full of suspense , humour , intrigue , excitement, passion in short everything you could ask for in a good book. Dennis Lehane has to be one of the very best writers of this genre and I defy anyone not to enjoy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, 18 Dec 2008
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sacred (Paperback)
I throughly enjoyed this book, the more so since I have read other Lehane novels which had nothing to do with this PI series of Kenzie and Gennaro. Similar in his eclectic writing subjects to Dean Koonz, Lehane manages to grasp a little of Chandler, as the two partners/lovers investigate a missing billionaire's daughter. As usual in good crime thrillers, all is not what it seems and this makes for an exciting read. Add in a religious organisation preying on the weak and creaming off millions, Kenzie who always seems to break a bone or two, Gennaro who's as tough, if not tougher than Kenzie and there's much to enjoy in this book.

I don't imagine I'll read the earlier ones in this series but I will search out the follow-ons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When is the film being made?, 24 Sep 2007
This review is from: Sacred (Paperback)
This is a great crime thriller which is just begging to be made into a Hollywood blockbuster. The story has a twist at every corner and the characters are believeable enough for you to care but not so sentimental that they distract from the action. I was actually disappointed when the final big twist was revealed as it was obvious the book was coming to an end. This was my first Lehane novel but after this I would definitely hunt him out for a fantastic holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best I ever read, 25 Mar 2009
By 
Dr. R. Wunna "Raymond" (yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sacred (Paperback)
The best crime fiction I have ever read,it is fast moving , very stylish prose and writing, classy detective novel,in the same category as Raymond Chandler's crime fiction.Excellent plot with a lot of unexpected twist and turns, which kept you in suspence all way through, a very good read.I will vouch for that, after reading SACRED I have bought every book written by Dennis Lehane,I am going to read all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kenzie and Gennaro in Florida, 14 Feb 2011
By 
This is a slight departure for the detective pair, as a case leads them to visit the sunny climes of Florida, where the usual shenannigans occur - deaths, pursuits, stake-outs... it's all in a day's work for these two.

The plot is, as always, highly involving and unpredictable. The writing is more pared-down than the previous novels, and this leads to a hugely pacey read, but one that I found didn't create the same dark images as when I was picturing their previous novels: the main characters are just as well drawn, but the surrounding scenery isn't as sharp. Lehane is a Bostonian born and bred, and his writing seems to lack the confidence when making the alien scenery of Florida come to life - there's something not quite as intense and vibrant about it. Maybe that's just how Florida is?

The relationship between the two is focused on more than in previous books, I think - but the whole thing feels like a whirlwind holiday from their hometown of Boston; fun while it lasted, slightly hazy in terms of detail, and it'll be good to see them back in Boston where both they - and Lehane, I feel - are more comfortable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Lehane book so far, 13 Sep 2010
By 
P. J. Potter "Phil" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sacred (Paperback)
Yay, the third Dennis Lehane book I've read (following the Drink Before... and Darkness... in the Kenzie/Gennaro series) and this is clearly his turning point into a great writer.

Gone are the daddy issues from the first two books. He's come a long way with his snappy dialogue, now one of his best traits, whereas DBTW is full of he said/she said/he said. The story flows and twists tremendously well unlike DTMH which felt disjointed and forced up to and including it's shootout ending with people popping in for a few pages then never coming back. The only problem I'm still seeing is how his descriptive passages are too detailed and exact, hitting the brakes on the momentum, but those barely last a page and then the story gets back on track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sacred
Sacred by Dennis Lehane (Paperback - 1 Sep 2006)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews