Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes Frey look like he needs something to do.
I was floored by this book! Most of us have read "A Million Little Pieces", and like other reviewers, I must admit that I am also addicted to these kinds of stories. However, this book is a strong departure from many of the other books I have read in this genre. First, Cupcake has an amazing voice throughout the novel. The dialogue, however "street" it may be, is accurate...
Published on 29 Jan. 2007 by L. Coleman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
Copy arrived promptly but was perhaps a bit shabbier and grubbier than I would have expected and compared with other second-hand books that I've ordered from other sellers. Cheap alternative to a new copy for a book that I'm reading for a book club, don't have any great expectations for and that isn't available on Kindle or from my local library.
Published 12 months ago by Gertie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING, 19 Feb. 2015
This review is from: A Piece Of Cake (Paperback)
the best autobiography I have come across. the humour throughout the book is very inspiring. I love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping but heartbreaking, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Piece Of Cake (Paperback)
Wonderful but heartbreaking book. Well worth reading, and will have you gripped from the start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever!, 9 July 2014
This review is from: A Piece Of Cake (Paperback)
Best book I've read!

Inspirational, believable and shocking! A must read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 12 Feb. 2008
By 
Mrs. A. Neavs "Amy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Piece Of Cake (Paperback)
This is a truely amazing story of a girls fight for survival. A must read for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 July 2014
This review is from: A Piece Of Cake (Paperback)
i was hooked from start to finish. a heart breaking yet inspirational life story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I AM NOT A FAN..., 1 May 2009
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Piece Of Cake (Paperback)
This is a book in which the authors details her life story. After the death of her mother at the age of eleven, the author's life took a decided turn for the worse. A series of foster homes, coupled with physical and sexual abuse, led the author into a downward spiral. An eventual drug user, gang member, and prostitute, who engaged in violent criminal acts against others, the author, who ultimately depended upon the kindness of strangers to help set her on the path to redemption, lays it all out for the reader in graphic detail.

Unfortunately, the book could have used a good editor, as it is quite repetitive and poorly written. I found that it tended to pall after a while. There also appears to be quite an extensive use of literary license, as the book is littered with many conversations that took place years ago. The author's memory is apparently as remarkable as her life, given the fact that she was often either high or drunk by her own admission. It makes me wonder how much of her book is fact and how much is fiction? After all, she spent a large part of her life conning others. This book may possibly be her ultimate con. Who is to say?

Although the author had many people helping her along the way to achieve her eventual success, props must be accorded to her for letting her natural intelligence take precedence over her life of crime. Yet, she comes across surprisingly devoid of introspection or reflection and appears also to be devoid of empathy for others, making her someone less sympathetic or admirable. Moreover, it is unfortunate that she finds that she cannot extend that same helping hand, which was so graciously extended to her, to others. While the author will speak before any organization for thousands of dollars, she will not address any audience that cannot afford to pay her fees, no matter how indigent, destitute, or young. Instead, she recommends that they buy her book, if they cannot afford her fees. Unfortunately, her book just ain't all that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Piece Of Cake (Paperback)
took this book on holiday and could not put it down WELL DONE CUPCAKE xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Piece Of Cake (Paperback)
So true to the bone, I know adults with this type of life, good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Piece Of Cake (Paperback)
Awesome just as described....One off my favourite storeys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Piece Of Cake (Paperback)
Must read book! Passed round to family and friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Piece Of Cake
A Piece Of Cake by Cupcake Brown (Paperback - 2 Oct. 2006)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews