Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book had me laughing and crying
It is a love story between a Kurdish man and woman set in the background of the atrocities suffered by the Kurdish people in Iraq under Saddam Hussain.

The lovers story is a fantastic love story and struggle to survive, some of their story had me laughing and some made we worried for them.

The book also tells part of the larger story of the struggle...
Published on 23 Feb. 2012 by I. Murphy

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating story but horribly written
I bought this book with anticipation of a really good, realistic account of life under a terrible regime. There is no doubt that Joanna had an horrific ordeal and that the torments that they lived under are hard for some of us to comprehend. My problem is that it was written in the prose of a third rate romantic novel. Phrases like 'He was young and unmarried and had not...
Published on 21 Aug. 2009 by B. A. Weekes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book had me laughing and crying, 23 Feb. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love In A Torn Land (Paperback)
It is a love story between a Kurdish man and woman set in the background of the atrocities suffered by the Kurdish people in Iraq under Saddam Hussain.

The lovers story is a fantastic love story and struggle to survive, some of their story had me laughing and some made we worried for them.

The book also tells part of the larger story of the struggle to survive and the atrocities suffered by the Kurdish people, some descriptions of actual events reduced me to tears.

A must read for anyone interested in a good love story or to understand something about the atrocities suffered by the Kurdish people in Iraq under Saddam Hussein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling also an eye opener, 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read the majority of Jean Sassons books and it is unbelievable how she becomes Joanna who's life is portrayed. I thought it would just be a love story but I learnt a huge deal about Iraq, which always angers me how the media always give a slanted view of the middle east and indeed all over.
Thank you to Joanna for telling us about your courageous life and for Jean giving you the opportunity to have it told, therefore changing preconceptions. I am glad you are now safe but sad you aren't in your beautiful Kurdistan.
Go ahead and read this book and see what a charmed life we live in comparison to war torn countries..............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Written, 18 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Love In A Torn Land (Paperback)
True love story that gives an insight into the chemical attacks on the Kurdish people in Saddam Hussein's reign. From page 1 the reader is captivated - making you want to read more. Another excellent book written by Jean Sasson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love in a torn land, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love In A Torn Land (Paperback)
Another Tragic but inspirational true story from Jean Sasson. Beautifully written and my prayer will be with all those affected in this book. Couldnt put it down. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of everything, 11 April 2013
This review is from: Love In A Torn Land (Paperback)
I loved the story (only because it was not made up), and loved the portrait of the characters. Finising the book I was desperate to help them, or people in their shoes. It was a very good read. A bit hard - not saying it was superbly written but it is not abaout that at all. It is about the horrible history of Iraq and the people who had to suffer becasue of some insane politicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book so much I couldn't put it down it gives a huge insight of what it must have been like to live and survive. Joanna is a born survivor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing read. A could not put down kind of ..., 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A truly inspiring story of courage and survival against all odds, amazing read.

A could not put down kind of book. few and far between these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was so interesting and educational. I have read similar books and enjoy true stories. Interesting lives also an education to learn about others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brill, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love In A Torn Land (Paperback)
Jean sasson is a excellent writer you want to keep reading on amazing story a must read. Im glad i got this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I Love the author and her books and most of her other books. I have read this book twice now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love In A Torn Land
Love In A Torn Land by Jean Sasson (Paperback - 27 Aug. 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews