Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!
This book is not an autobiography, like so many others we've read before. This is a case of a successul player and manager, Vialli, teaming up with a journalist, Marcotti, to gain unparalleled and honest access to some of the finest minds in the game today: Mourinho, Ferguson, Wenger, Capello, Lippi etc. They're honest and frank when assessing some of the problems and...
Published on 18 July 2006 by Garret Byrd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read
I found the book interesting due to the many comparisons but I felt other areas could of been explored and it got bogged down in certain areas.
Published 20 months ago by Jim T


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 18 July 2006
By 
Garret Byrd (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Italian Job (Hardcover)
This book is not an autobiography, like so many others we've read before. This is a case of a successul player and manager, Vialli, teaming up with a journalist, Marcotti, to gain unparalleled and honest access to some of the finest minds in the game today: Mourinho, Ferguson, Wenger, Capello, Lippi etc. They're honest and frank when assessing some of the problems and issues facing the game today and Vialli uses their input as a platform to explore some of the most basic questions in football.

Throughout, ever the perfectionist, Vialli presents meticulous research to back up his views, such as disproving the myth that better weather in Italy produces more technical players or providing evidence that in Italy managers are sacked far more often but have less trouble getting back into the game.

This book moves past football, looking at basic cultural differences and how they are changing and converging over time. It's an excellent read for anyone who enjoys the game and isn't afraid to ask themselves difficult questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Completely Fascinating !!, 8 July 2006
By 
Mr. P. L. Winchester (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Italian Job (Hardcover)
Having purchased this book hoping to increase my somewhat "patchy" knowledge of Italian football, all I can say is congratulations to Messrs. Vialli and Marcotti!! A fascinating insight into the differences between two footballing cultures which highlights the gulf between them. Any fan of the beautiful game will enjoy this book, and I wholeheartedly recommend it.

P.S. If Italy win the World Cup on 09/07/06, this book will give you an insight into how they did it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It,s a game of several half,s, 16 Sep 2007
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Italian Job (Paperback)
The most intelligent book ever written by a footballer it triumphantly blares on the front cover .Taking into account that the average footballer is about as intelligent as a pair of net curtains this is damming with faint praise but wait.....before you dismiss this book -an attempt to forensically examine the differences between Italian Football and the English game- bear in mind its written with the journalistic and cerebral mind of Gabriele Marcotti one of the more erudite commentators on the modern game.
Otherwise how could you explain the works of Chinese general Sun Tzu and Machiavelli rubbing shoulders with the opinions of Sir Alec Ferguson , Jose Mourinho , Marcello Lippi , Arsene Wenger, Marcel Desailly and err Ray "Butch" Wilkins. So even though Gianluca Vialli is clearly no ordinary footballer ( he opted to write this meditation on football cultures rather than a conventional autobiography and is evidently a thoughtful bloke) it's clear that much of the prose and intellectual backbone of this book comes from Marcotti .
The opinions are the authors though and they and some of the empirical examinations of the main differences between football in Italy and England make truly fascinating reading. The analysis of why training in England differs from that in Italy is backed up ( as are all his arguments) by compelling statistics and it is just one revelation about the disparity in approaches. There is also a difference in mentality and professionalism , particularly when it comes to tactical nuances . Vialli also makes perceptive points about black footballers without resorting to stereotyping and even goes as far to examine the differences between refereeing(Collina is truly captivating in this section) crowds, media , an expanding middle class, and management and even how different physical training impacts on a game . Its full of thought provoking points, opinions and even offers firm judgments on where Vialli believes the game should go in order to improve , some of which will surprise the reader coming from an ex-player, usually the most conservative bunch going.
It occasionally resorts to cliché and the first chapter comparing the two footballing nations to women is truly toe curling . All; the managers come out of it sounding like personable thoughtful people which may surprise those thinking it would be full of Mourinho,s usual biased blather and Ferguson's illogical paranoid rants.Vialli even turns the much cited profiles of combatants Wenger and Ferguson on their heads. A terrific book and one that anybody who claims to be interested in this tremendous sport ( "entertainment industry" ) should find compelling and educational . How many football books can you say that about?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a refreshing change, 18 Sep 2006
This review is from: The Italian Job (Hardcover)
This is a refreshing change from the run of the mill football biographies that dominate the best selling lists.

The authors managed to secure interviews with the likes of Ferguson, Wenger & Mourinho who draw on their personal experience to provide some illuminating insights into the differences between English and Italian football. The book appeared before the 2006 World Cup and uncannily predicts the relative performances of those sides there - England, limited by their players' tactical shortcomings, once again failing to live up to the hype, whereas the Italians drew strength from their off the field problems to lift the trophy.

As anyone familiar with Marcotti's pieces in The Times would expect, the book is generally well written and accessible. Some of the statistics are weak and the graphing of player's abilities looks dubious to this reader. In addition, Vialli's unsuccessful stint at Watford is completely overlooked. It will be interesting to see if the paperback edition is expanded to cover both the World Cup and the summer's corruption scandal in Italian football.

But overall this is likely to be one of the best reads of the 2006/7 season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Read, 6 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. E. Kilinc (UK, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Italian Job (Hardcover)
Awesome read up untill now and I'm still reading it, i suggest anyone buying it if they are pretty much intrested in how the Italians & English go on about there football.

Includes one of my favourite journalists out there "Gabrielle Marcotti" aswell..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply "Magnificent", 28 Dec 2006
By 
Darren Mizzi "dM" (The Maltese Islands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Italian Job (Hardcover)
Even though I am not a footballer, I always had great passion for the game. It's true that I cannot ever experience the thrill of playing with my favourite players such as Ryan Giggs, Thierry Henry, Patrick Vieira or Paolo Maldini - probably not even the senior ones like Wayne Rooney, Cesc Fàbregas, Fabio Grosso or Owen Hargreaves. That said, I was able to get to know these player's or rather their culture and the underlying differences between English and Italian Leagues.

The book is not just for football lovers, to my astonishment I found Philosophy, Mathematics, Social Studies and a multitude of other subjects which are not necessarily related to football itself.

I also liked the way the authors used the English language, for example you would rarely (if not never) find the name of the authors throughout the chapters other than a subtle "yours truly" which in many cases refers to Gianluca Vialli.

On a social responsibility note, I was also happy to have indirectly helped the "Fondiazione Vialli et Mauro per la Ricerca e lo sport", which is a charitable foundation. As the book says - "Gianluca is donating proceeds from The Italian Job" to the foundation.

If you are an English supporter, you have to read this book. Don't be misled by the title and don't be hurt by the "altered England Badge" on the front cover of the book. You might never get to meet Sir Alex Ferguson, Arsène Wenger or Marcello Lippi, but after reading this book, it is as if you shook hands with them.

You will also get to know, Veronica and Mary after you read the book and then you too will be part of the "footballing love triangle".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Italian Job (Paperback)
This is an excellent book. A very pleasant surprise indeed! G. Vialli compares football in Italy with football in England. He made one omission though- English football biographies concentrate too much on sensationalism, sleaze and polemics. For instance you cannot find the words Sytems, Strategies nor tactics in the index of Sir Alex Ferguson's, 'Managing my Life'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great style, very informative, never boring!, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Job (Paperback)
A lot of interesting perspectives on different aspects of the game and players lives in general, starting at the lowest level comparing and contrasting Italian and English systems, presented in a very accessible reader-friendly way. It explains a lot about how / why differently players from different countries approach the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Read, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Italian Job (Paperback)
I found the book interesting due to the many comparisons but I felt other areas could of been explored and it got bogged down in certain areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars smart and interesting, 13 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Italian Job (Paperback)
This book speaks cleverly about football and the culture of football, I recommend this book not only if you're a passionate about the ball but also if you want to understand this game and cultures that stand behind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Italian Job
The Italian Job by Gabriele Marcotti (Paperback - 1 Aug 2007)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews