Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very inspiring
Ali, without doubt is one of the greatest sportsmen of our world, and this book tells you why. This book is not just about the man's fighting ability, but about his kind and loving nature. How he overcame racism and personal trials through steadfast faith and superhuman will.
Ali is completely honest throughout the book, he reveals his regrets and achievements...
Published on 7 Feb 2005 by saladin

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars read better
this is not the most fulfilled book it does touch on important events but only lightly there are more successful and interesting books out about muhammad ali,still some of the magic is there but i think his stance against racism and the vietnam were deserved greater coverage
Published 21 months ago by m. dosa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very inspiring, 7 Feb 2005
By 
Ali, without doubt is one of the greatest sportsmen of our world, and this book tells you why. This book is not just about the man's fighting ability, but about his kind and loving nature. How he overcame racism and personal trials through steadfast faith and superhuman will.
Ali is completely honest throughout the book, he reveals his regrets and achievements through humbling accounts
I would highly recommend this to fans of Ali and fans of human achievements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary Athlete, Legendary Man, 29 Nov 2006
By 
G. Metcalfe "gazmec" (Burnley, Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Soul Of A Butterfly (Paperback)
A very thought-provoking book from a man who is much more than a great boxing champion.

Behind all the bravado and loud talking, all the power and grace in the ring, is a mind and a belief that is truly refreshing.

I found this book to be enlightening, and i will certainly be reading it again, and again, and probably again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely The Greatest, 6 Feb 2007
This review is from: The Soul Of A Butterfly (Paperback)
This book is not just about the greatest heavy weight champ of all time. It's about the boy who took up boxing, the man who defeated liston, the man who became a muslim, stood up for his rights and the rights of every african american. This book will show you a differnt way of life.

A brilliant book for anyone, boxing fan or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!, 3 Feb 2010
By 
S. Mustafa (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Soul Of A Butterfly (Paperback)
In the past I had read a few books on Ali, I remember around the time I was 11 I just started highschool and I came across a book about Muhammed Ali and I was hooked right there and then, I was amazed by his courage in and out of the ring... Over the years since then I have read other books about Ali written by outsiders and they were great, they gave me an idea of what kind of man Ali was during his early boxing years.

But since then I always wondered; if Ali could talk the way he could, what would he be saying? what are his thoughts? what are his feelings? I just thought it was a shame that we had a man with so much god given wisdom and wit to be reduced to less than a shadow of his former loud opinionated self.

This book however fufilled my wish to know what Ali has become post his boxing years, his condition was physical and not mental and I think what the book offers is summed up by Ali himself(very nicely I think) when he says that in his youth he begun a journey in boxing to develop himself physically and that since he retired he began a journey to develop himself spiritually.

I was hooked and I finnished reading it all in one go, its full of poems by Ali and stories of Ali's journey in life, his regrets, his victories, his losses and more importantly his faith, faith which I feel after reading the book is what gave him the ability to reach greatness.

Because if it wasn't for his faith he wouldnt of had found the strength to to go on when he was stripped away from the title, if it wasnt for his faith he wouldn't be able to go on with his current condition... at the end of the day faith in god is what ultimately gave Ali the will & courage to do what he did...

in conclusion I'd say that this book clears up some misconceptions about Ali as a person and it reveals the compassionate nature of the man who helped pave the way for equality, a man who lost everything to uphold his faith and a man whos faith helped him to regain everything, a man who encourages people to have faith no matter which god they chose to follow.

Ali is the greatest of all time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and Inspiring, 1 July 2010
By 
Mr. A. Campbell (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Soul Of A Butterfly (Paperback)
Firstly, let me point out that this is not a book about boxing. Obviously, various bouts are mentioned but only to set the scene and mark the various points in the life of this great man. The book is titled "The Soul of a Butterfly: Reflections on life's journey" and this is exactly what the book achieves. It is a poignant and deeply moving collection of memories and interpretations that show Ali not only as a great champion in the ring, but also a great champion out of it to. Every emotion is portrayed in this book as it takes the reader through a journey of injustice, personal sadness, self discovery and eventually triumph and worldwide adoration. Ali is probably the most famous living person on the planet today and to many he is the number one role model and hero. The book has a strong feminine perspective which is deeply moving and thought provoking and obviously entirely due to Ali's daughter and co author Hana Yasmeen Ali . Her input is very personal and deeply touching as she shares her own personal thoughts and memories of dad. The scattering of poems throughout also contributes to making this book feel more like a personal journal or diary rather than just another biography. After reading this book, the reader will go away with a great understanding of this proud and heroic warrior. He is my hero and reading this has only solidified my deep admiration for him. Muhammad Ali is MUCH MUCH more than boxing. Please read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real champion is the man., 16 Nov 2009
By 
Ben Venus (HERTS, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Soul Of A Butterfly (Paperback)
It is easy to understand how a man becomes a living legend when the often grim realities of the world are overcome by the cherished combination of courage and conviction borne from within. The real champion is the man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I hope is going to be a good read, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Soul Of A Butterfly (Paperback)
have to make time for it but I love Muhammad Ali so if the book is written in the same witty and methaphorical spirit as his interviews were so it should be worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Soul Of A Butterfly (Paperback)
My husband was pleased with his gift and has enjoyed the book considerably, lots of photos inside he had not seen before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Motivating, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Soul Of A Butterfly (Paperback)
This book was so motivating that I brought two more for my nephews and took out some of the quotes and put it on the wall to motivate me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars From his own lips, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Soul Of A Butterfly (Paperback)
This is a short easy read memoir of the Champ, so it's adequate for a introductory summary to who Muhammad Ali is but certainly isn't in depth. I'd still recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Soul Of A Butterfly
The Soul Of A Butterfly by Hana Yasmeen Ali (Paperback - 1 Sep 2005)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews