Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Quality Moore
Peter Moore has always captured the feeling of being a long way from home with nowhere to be and no deadlines. In short, he captures that moment, a week after you start traveling when all your cares disolve and you can wander where ever coincidence takes you.
Vroom with a View in no different.
Taking a suitably sleepy route through Tuscany, Moore sees the...
Published on 7 Jun 2004 by Warwick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Sydney Reader
As a Vespa owner & rider who has always wanted to do Italy by Vespa, this book was an inspiration. I completely related to the constant breakdowns, the freezing cold, the smell of two-stroke and the way you wouldn't swap it for the world.
Published on 6 Jun 2004 by Helen Stewart


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Quality Moore, 7 Jun 2004
Peter Moore has always captured the feeling of being a long way from home with nowhere to be and no deadlines. In short, he captures that moment, a week after you start traveling when all your cares disolve and you can wander where ever coincidence takes you.
Vroom with a View in no different.
Taking a suitably sleepy route through Tuscany, Moore sees the countryside at a pace that suits his narrative. His observations are all the more sharp on a vespa that barely and rarely moves.
For those who need a trip away from their desk at lunch time, this book will put you in the Italian countryside, the smell of the wheat, the sight of sunflowers and the conversation of strangers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light and breezy, rarely backfires, 1 Feb 2004
By 
Combine the humour of Bill Bryson (with whom Moore shares the same editor) and the sprightliness of Tim Moore and you'd come up with Peter Moore. Although not facing the same challenges as in 'The Wrong Way Home' or 'Swahili for the Broken Hearted', this is an affectionate account of a tour around Italy on a forty year old Vespa. It's a fun read with a good tale of highs and lows, complete with a happy ending.
Perhaps better to read after his earlier books, it's good to see Moore is still up to scratch as the self styled 'voice of independent travel'. Make sure to visit his website to see the photos that prove it's a true story! (This is a review of the Australian edition.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ONLY WAY TO SEE ITALY, 2 July 2004
By A Customer
I CAN SEE NOW THAT THE ONLY WAY TO SEE ITALY IS ON THE BACK OF A CLASSIC VESPA, SILLY ME GOING IN A BORING CAR. IT DOES SOLVE THE PARKING PROBLEM AND YOU DO GET SOME RESPECT FROM THE LOCALS!"
I DO ENJOY THE WRITING STYLE OF THIS TRAVEL WRITER AND UNLIKE HIS AFRICAN TRAVELS WHERE BEING AN ARM CHAIR TRAVELLER WAS A BONUS, I WISHED I WAS THERE TRAVELLING AROUND ITALY AND TRYING THE FOOD, AND ENJOYING THE SCENERY. AN EXCELLENT READ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you feel your life is getting a bit stale..., 28 July 2004
By 
I just finished reading Vroom With A View and I can highly recommend it!. Reading his books you feel you are traveling with Peter, racing your Vespa with him and sharing a well earned drink and a chat at the end of the day. His observations are not only funny but also honest, respectful of people & their culture, and moving at times. If you feel your life is getting a bit stale, read a couple of his books and see how you can change that, go to the very limit of your possibilities, learn new stuff and do wildly different things when you feel like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vroom, vroom - Rome Holiday revisited, 5 July 2004
Ok, I admit that I'm writing this because I went to Peter Moore's website and he's soliciting reviews. BUT I went to the website 'cause I loved the book. I've got a house in Italy and he perfectly recreated the magic and romance of living and traveling there. Now all I need to do is get myself a Vespa! This book is a quick read and lots of fun - then plan your vacation to Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vroom with a View, 3 July 2004
Another great read from Peter, as usual he seems to find the real characters in every country he visits and paints a great picture for us to imagine.This time the Vespa took pride of place along with Sally of course,Peters style of writing is easy and makes great holiday reading, I picked up The Wrong Way Home at the airport and have followed him ever since.
P S the slide shows worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On two wheels, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. P. Bailey "Mod Meets Mayfair" (Coventry United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vroom With A View: In Search Of Italy's Dolce Vita On A '61 Vespa (Paperback)
Wonderful story of a man's sentimental journey through Italy on a Vespa called Sophia. This book should appeal to all lovers of two wheeled transport, sentimentalists and Vespa lovers alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dolce Vespa, 11 Aug 2008
By 
Rod De Lisle (Hamilton, NZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vroom With A View: In Search Of Italy's Dolce Vita On A '61 Vespa (Paperback)
Funny how this book makes you ponder the worth of buying an old Vespa, even though you know you won't It also makes you think seriously about buying a heap of Kinder Surprises. Dozens? Hundreds? Well enough to ensure you get one with a green Vespa in it.
The Italian turista lot should market this book, a great magnet to draw more tourists to the Italian countryside, although I suspect that job has been done already by Maye and co. This though, would make a better film than Maye's 'Under the Tuscan Sun'. It combines romance, roads, red wine and quirky characters. Reading it, on the other side of the world in July, is a good way to shake off the cold and drab winter. Dunno if I'll ever do the Vespa ride - I like modern engines that don't break down - but nice to dream about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Joys of 2 stroke motoring (in sunnier climes!), 27 Mar 2008
By 
A. Midgley (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vroom With A View: In Search Of Italy's Dolce Vita On A '61 Vespa (Paperback)
A lovely book with interesting facts about the history of the Vespa and its social impact on Italy's society. I enjoyed his descriptive, light hearted and amusing narratives about his travels and the charismatic characters he meet as he scoots through the back roads of Italy to Rome. A great summer read on a par with Chris Stewart's 'Driving Over Lemons'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the crazy frog!!!!, 29 July 2005
This review is from: Vroom With A View: In Search Of Italy's Dolce Vita On A '61 Vespa (Paperback)
This is the third of Peter's book that I have read now and found it the same as the other two, I was not able to put it down. His problems with the Vespa (Sophia) in the early days are hilarious. He really manages to get across people's feelings and emotions towards him as he winds his way across Italy.
Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vroom With A View: In Search Of Italy's Dolce Vita On A '61 Vespa
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews