Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!
Firstly I strongly recommend you read the previous two books in the series before reading this one. If you haven't read the first two books...WHY haven't you??!!!
The epic that Manda Scott began to weave from the 1st and 2nd books just races on with even more pace in this third volume, with even more twists and turns and surprises along the way.
There is a great...
Published on 6 Feb 2005 by Iceni Peasant

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Showing Symptoms of Dragitoutitis
I've enjoyed Scott's Boudica series, but hesitate to give Dreaming The Hound my full recommendation.
For me, it starts slowly and gets slower, only picking up pace towards the end. It says something that this book took me 3 weeks to read, whereas the first two took 3 or 4 days.
The characters get less plausible through this story, and their actions become...
Published on 17 May 2005 by kayakgrade6


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!, 6 Feb 2005
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firstly I strongly recommend you read the previous two books in the series before reading this one. If you haven't read the first two books...WHY haven't you??!!!
The epic that Manda Scott began to weave from the 1st and 2nd books just races on with even more pace in this third volume, with even more twists and turns and surprises along the way.
There is a great deal more character development of Valerius, Cygfa and some wonderful insights with Graine and Cunomar too...along with all the other characters.
The story follows on from the 2nd book and without giving too much away, we see how Breaca/Boudica goes from being a Warrior of Mona to being the wife of Prasutagos and ultimately in the firing line of Rome. And along the way we see some familiar characters return, some in surprising ways and it all leads to a mouthwatering ending, leaving me impatient to wait for book 4!!
From the start this story has been beautifully written, with so much detail and historically accurate observations, and even the things the author admits to creating are very believable and totally in symmetry with the whole atmosphere of the book. The characters are rounded and life-like and as a reader you feel great empathy for them and really care what happens to them.
Most people have heard of the Boudica legend and its basic events, and as the book reaches 60AD you could argue that the story would become predictable. You would be wrong with this book...the things that happen towards the end of this volume are well known, but the manner in which those events are allowed to happen are brilliantly written and thought out. There is nothing stale or "old hat" about it at all.
I am biased due to Boudica being my personal and local heroine, but these books are written with great care and passion for the subject. For those of you already familiar to the series I don't have to tell you how good this book is as you're probably reading it already after an impatient wait at the end of book 2. For those new to the series, get reading!!!
Finally, thank you Manda Scott for another fantastic book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boudica, 3 Feb 2005
In this, the third of the Boudica series, Breaca is at war with Rome - at first guerilla fighting on her own, later coming back anonymously to the Eceni lands and quietly trying to raise an army while the Roman occupation bites down deeper on her unprotected people. Meanwhile her brother (once Ban, now Valerius the ex-decurion, named a traitor by Nero) is trying to come to terms with his soul and his past in Hibernia.
This takes the story on through the ravages of Roman-occupied Britain until a people sick of ill-treatment and oppression suffer one final act of persecution that drives them to war.
Manda Scott's prose is lyrical and forceful - her characters are real and compelling - and she tells the story in a way that has you living the book.
However it ends (and sadly, we can't change history) this volume is another tour de force from an extremely gifted writer. Now I'm waiting breathlessly for the final volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Showing Symptoms of Dragitoutitis, 17 May 2005
I've enjoyed Scott's Boudica series, but hesitate to give Dreaming The Hound my full recommendation.
For me, it starts slowly and gets slower, only picking up pace towards the end. It says something that this book took me 3 weeks to read, whereas the first two took 3 or 4 days.
The characters get less plausible through this story, and their actions become slighlty ludicrous, with increasing signs of full blown schizophrenia.
Take Ban aka Valerius - starts off in the tribes, becomes roman cavalry decurion come traitor, murders hundreds of tribesfolk, deserts & betrays Rome & ends up back with tribes, gets captured by legions & let off, leads those whose families he murdered into battle, ends up at the mercy of the Romans again & is let off, & kills an official.
Valerius is the most extreme example, but most of Scott's characters undergo fairly fundamental changes of heart with regularity, generally to fit in with the plot. Lady Fate is also kept busy with increasingly implausible chance meetings & amazing right time & place coincidences.
The plot, by the way, is where Dragitoutitis comes into it. I'm all for rich character development and a carefully woven plot, but, and call me cynical if you like, it seems that once again readers have been enticed into what should have been a trilogy that ends up being spread out over 5 books - 18 hardback books of course. So the plot suffers as it has in this book, the pocket suffers, the publishers rub their hands like Roman Procurators over the natives gold.
I enjoy this sort of book, revel in our proud celtic/gaelic/britonic history, and have got enthusiastically stuck into this series. Dreaming the Hound isn't a total write-off & gets there in the end, but cynically takes advantage of those of us who want to follow the series.
A last comment - the ending of Dreaming the Hound was not 'mouthwatering' at all - it was truly sickening & horrific (justifiably given the plot). If you get there after the slow start I'm sure you'll agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boudica Dreaming The Hound, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved it.she brought the characters to life. Found the roman names a bit hard to remember but got them sorted in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boudica-Dreaming The Hound, 14 Mar 2005
By A Customer
Absolutely fantastic!! Definately the best of the series yet. I had very litle knowledge of Boudica when I came to read the first book in the series however, through all of the books I have been transported back thousands of years!
With the most amazing attention to detail as a common theme through the series, the Boudica books have made me feel like I was there every step of the way!! The almost supernatural dreamers are amazing combined with the power and tactical genius of the warriors. I sincerely hope that people like these truly existed in Boudica's day.
I would recommend this book to anyone interested in historical fiction and a great imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 17 Dec 2013
So real, the imagery is detailed and awe inspiring and the concepts are totally believable - a stunning and absorbing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. Doreen L. Kellett (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreaming The Hound (Boudica 3) (Paperback)
Thoroughly recommended. First of the series hooked me and I am relieved and happy to confirm that each book went from strength to strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreaming The Hound (Boudica 3) (Paperback)
Manda Scott bought a bengal from my mother and gave us her first Boudica book and 'The Emperors Spy' as a present. I haven't read the emperors spy yet but I am enthralled with the boudica series and have bought every one since, delivery was a bit slow but it was a used one so.. understandable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars History revisited again, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreaming The Hound (Boudica 3) (Paperback)
Much the same style as the last one, almost modern superhero characterisations, but I'm still reading so they must have something about them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boudica 3, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreaming The Hound (Boudica 3) (Paperback)
A fantastic trilogy of books, have read all three now and will be keeping them for a long time so that I can read them again.
Would recommend the set to any body.
Happy reading Keith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreaming The Hound (Boudica 3)
Dreaming The Hound (Boudica 3) by M C Scott (Paperback - 1 Feb 2006)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews