Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty and informative - the best birding book I've read
An entertaining and informative account of the race between three birders to beat the Big Year record in 1998. The Big Year is a competition to see the most species on the United States and Canada in a single calendar year. Mark Obmascik's book uses the diaries of the three twitchers as well as recollections from fellow birders as they pile on the air miles,...
Published on 2 Jan 2007 by Greg Farefield-Rose

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not riveting
Recommended to me whilst on holiday in Florida and noting the wonderfully prolific species of birds from brown pelicans to red cardinals. The story is a bit boring but the references to the numerous bird species will be of interest to the ardent birder.
Published 4 months ago by M R Beaumont


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty and informative - the best birding book I've read, 2 Jan 2007
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Big Year (Paperback)
An entertaining and informative account of the race between three birders to beat the Big Year record in 1998. The Big Year is a competition to see the most species on the United States and Canada in a single calendar year. Mark Obmascik's book uses the diaries of the three twitchers as well as recollections from fellow birders as they pile on the air miles, criss-crossing the continent to hopefully see reported rarity and vagrant species.

Obmascik writes in a witty anecdotal style and really gets under the surface of the three otherwise very diverse individuals as they race, unwittingly at first, for the same prize. As well as the humour and entertainment value, his book is also very informative chronicling, for example, the history of man's discovery of bird migration as well as the introduction of new species to the US such as the Himalayan Snowcock.

The Big Year is an excellent, enlightening read and is highly recommended for anyone interested in birding or the psychology of those obsessed enough to travel the length of the country to possibly see a singe, new rare species.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. RD Smith "rdspalm" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Year (Paperback)
One of the most memorable and funny birding books I've ever read. Each of the competing characters are well described and one never ceases to be amazed at the lengths they will go to to win the big year. A thoroughly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not riveting, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Year (Kindle Edition)
Recommended to me whilst on holiday in Florida and noting the wonderfully prolific species of birds from brown pelicans to red cardinals. The story is a bit boring but the references to the numerous bird species will be of interest to the ardent birder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Year (Paperback)
Hold up a pair of binoculars in the approximate direction of a bird anywhere in the US and random members of the public walk over and ask if you are "doing a Big Year". This book explains what they are talking about. A fascinating insight into the psychology of collectors and nature lovers illustrating just how dedicated some individual's are to achieving their goal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Romantic pastime, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Year (Hardcover)
Saw the movie first and fell in love with the concept of trying to see the maximum number of birds in a calendar year. The book itself is very different from the movie. In my opinion both literary and cinematic experience are a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, gripping and slightly worrying..., 23 May 2013
By 
Stuart Vine (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A funny and absorbing little book about total obsession. Even although I'm a moderately keen birder I was fascinated and slightly appalled at the lengths our three heroes would go to. At this level of competition, it's not really about the birds, each species seen is just another step closer to the record. I suspect most people reading this will end up rooting for one of the three principle characters - which makes the book even more fun to engage with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book at a Brilliant price, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Year (Hardcover)
I am not one for reading, but I was plugged this book by fellow colleagues & finally made the purchase. Bing a birder myself I was bound to enjoy it more than the average person but once started I found it very difficult to put down. Enjoyable from beginning to end & could associate with some of the situations that occur in the book. If you are part of the birding community then this is a ‘must read’. If not then still worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read for avid birdwatchers like myself, 20 Nov 2012
By 
Pjhale - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Year (Paperback)
An enjoyable read although I think you probably have to be a birdwatcher to fully appreciate it. The non birdwatcher, however, might begin to understand the passion which leads birdwatchers to travel such huge distances for a bird. Perhaps it should be prescribed reading for all girlfriends contemplating a future lifetime with a twitcher....At least they would be forewarned! For those of us who remain birdwatchers with just the occasional twitch, we can appreciate how much money we have saved!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Birdwatching books out there, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Year (Kindle Edition)
Its hard not to like this book if you are a birdwatcher which I am, the characters are ace made better because they are real and well its all very epic, the truth is that the records set by these guys will prob never be broken due to the fact that trips to Attu in Alaska no longer happen. In short if I could afford it I would love to do it, but I can't so reading this is the next best thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and it's true, 19 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Big Year (Paperback)
So funny to read the book that inspired the Film Now just await the film and I'm all set. It is amazing that the funniest things are often true
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Big Year
The Big Year by Mark Obmascik (Paperback - 1 Feb 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews