Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shamanic wisdom from the Americas
Shaman, Healer, Sage: How to heal yourself and others with the energy medicine of the Americas by Alberto Villoldo, Bantam, 2001, 258 ff.

Shamanic wisdom from the Americas
By Howard A. Jones

The author of this book comes from a long line of Earthkeepers from the region of the Americas. He is a Cuban-born, traditionally trained, psychologist and...
Published on 25 Aug 2009 by Dr. H. A. Jones

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Shaman Review
This book was good at first but it got a little boring towards the end.

Overall, a good account of one man's experience being refined and shared.
Published on 18 Jan 2012 by Gulliver


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shamanic wisdom from the Americas, 25 Aug 2009
By 
Dr. H. A. Jones "Howard Jones" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shaman, Healer, Sage (Paperback)
Shaman, Healer, Sage: How to heal yourself and others with the energy medicine of the Americas by Alberto Villoldo, Bantam, 2001, 258 ff.

Shamanic wisdom from the Americas
By Howard A. Jones

The author of this book comes from a long line of Earthkeepers from the region of the Americas. He is a Cuban-born, traditionally trained, psychologist and medical anthropologist who studied under Stanley Krippner. He resigned his promising academic career at the University of San Francisco in order to immerse himself for many years in the shamanic tradition by living amongst the indigenous peoples of Peru and the Amazon.

This is a gentle but inspirational book about shamanic healing practices for the soul and thence the body. The intimate relationship between mind and the health of the nervous and immune systems has now been recognized by conventional medicine through the specialism of PNI (psychoneuroimmunology). This is what the book explores. It is a practical guide to self-healing, illustrated with many tales of others who have undergone a transition of body or spirit by following these practices, and including a substantial section on the seven chakras, their significance and how to use them. Because medicine has been dominated by men, it often uses the language of war: the `battle against disease', the `war on drugs'; this inspirational book adopts a gentler, `feminine', spiritual approach to dis-ease.

This is a book for those who are open-minded to the spiritual dimension and who are prepared to learn and benefit from its wisdom: it is certainly disseminated here by a master.

Dr Howard A. Jones is the author of the Thoughtful Guide to God (2006) and The Tao of Holism (2008), both published by O Books of Winchester, UK.
The Four Insights
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awe-inspiring book with priceless laika wisdom, 22 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaman, Healer, Sage (Paperback)
i find this book to be a wonderful and worthwhile book.
i find ourselves lucky to have access to this knowledge this way.

many of us seem to have worked some or a lot of these out ourselves, and to have more evidence of this being true,
is excellent, especially as it comes from generations of wisdom, starting from pre - inca times, possibly before this.
i had theorised, and meditated a lot on many of these kinds of subjects in this book (mainly the theories of reality etc), before reading this book,
and had posted this on my blog on myspace. a good friend read my blog, and borrowed me this book, saying that he thought i was talking about the same ideas as in this book, and i found him to be right. this book explained much more to me that i had already thought about/worked out.
it is excellent to learn other people have experienced similar findings too. science seeems to be catching up with some of these theories, the learning of photons, of energy, and of quantum physics for example.

much of this knowledge can be found all of the world and history, which again provides evidence that this is likely to be true. as alberto says, when someone said to him 'i thought chakras were hindu', he replied something like, 'i thought livers and other body organs were western', if these are here, then they can be found by many generations, as they do seem to be have. the wisdom from the laika themselves are thought to be pre-inca.

i remember trying the clearing the chakras techniques, before doing the four winds course, and it really helping me in a situation i had, a real difference, instead of being upset by someone's hurtful words and pyschological mind games etc, as i had been before, well, it was water of a ducks back as they say, and i even found it funny!. this and the course which basically says, this is what works for us, have a go, and we do these techniques, and see and experience ourselves how it works.

i think that it is possible that anyone can do these techniques, theres not a need to be specifically 'gifted' in some way. it is the processes themselves that are powerful. and help faciltate our ability to heal ourselves.

it has led me to reading all the other books by alberto villoldo, and onto studying with the course that he directs, the four winds 'Healing the Light body course', which i wholeheartedly recommend for people who resonate with the learnings in this and other of his books. the techniques in here are even more explained in depth, plus many more.

it is a good introduction to the laika healing from the q'ero in the andes.

the dance of the four winds, and the island of the sun,also by alberto villoldo, tells us how he came upon these theories and techniques.

much of this wisdom comes from Don Antonio - a true genius i believe him to be- a q'ero, a laika, with much knowledge, widsom, and experience. a true credit to humanity and the world. it is wonderful that he chooses to share this information with alberto, freeing alberto to share this with the world.

it is wonderful too, that we now live in a world where this information can be shared freely, and where we can be free to find our own beliefs/theories.

i find it's also good, if trying these techniques before attending the course, and without a qualified four winds practioner who will do this for you), to open sacred space, before doing so, for protection, but also for helping the body, mind and energy body step into, similar what atheletes call the 'zone' i guess - the kinds of places where you can feel in tune with the self, and it feels like anything wonderful can happen.

many of these techniques, i waited until after doing the course to do - and in this way it is also an excellent book to have, as reminder of much (though not all) of what we learn on the first and second parts (the south and the west classes) of the course especially. while soul retrieval by the same author has a lot of what we learn on the third part (the 'north class). the 'Power of shamanic' cds and the other books also are good for learning about this, and reminding us about we learn on the course too....

as most likely are able to tell from this review, i am really happy and thankful that i read this book : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow - a must read, 5 Jan 2006
By 
Nic Oliver "Radical Coaching" (Margate, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaman, Healer, Sage (Paperback)
There are very few books that I consider a must read but this is one of them. Villoldo's insights are always worth reading and this book is no exception. I've highlighted paragraphs on most pages and keep going back to the book. Its main areas of focus are the Chakras and the aura (what he calls the Luminous Field). The section on the chakras is worth the price of the book on its own.
As an aside, it is fascinating to realise that the Inca Shaman were using Chakras at the same time that they were being used on the other side of the world, in India, although it is the latter that has received most coverage.
I bought this book at the same time as his latest book, Mending the Past and Healing the Future with Soul Retrieval. Having read them both now, I'd recommend that you read Shaman, Healer Sage first as, although not essential, it will help your understanding of the other book.
Buy, buy, buy, you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A window into the ancient wisdoms and a door to our future, 25 May 2009
By 
D. McDougall "Debbie McDougall" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shaman, Healer, Sage (Paperback)
This book sat on my shelf until the time was right, but when I did come to read it, I was transported to a different world. A timeless universe of many wonders where man, Earth and Spirit work together in harmony to heal and enlighten. The way we have long forgotten in our modern world. From Alberto's 25 year experience, contained in this wonderful book, what we now know as the Munay Ki was birthed and gifted to the world to help us heal and grow. Shamanic training has always been available, but the gift of the Munay Ki Rites is itself timeless and immense and I strongly recommend anyone who wishes to step beyond who we are, to explore and consider receiving these extraordinary rites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shaman, Healer, Sage, 24 Mar 2011
This review is from: Shaman, Healer, Sage (Paperback)
After having read over years many spiritual, and other books from eastern to traditional philosophy this book hit the spot for me and would highly recommend it for anyone with an open mind and searching for the truth, I cant wait to order more of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 18 Feb 2011
This review is from: Shaman, Healer, Sage (Paperback)
This is the very first book I read by the author some years ago and it's had me buy every other book since. Excellent read whatever approach you attack it from - shamanism, medicine men, natives, spiritual - its all there. I've read it through twice and found myself looking up things in it a few times.

You shouldn't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shaman healer sage, 11 Jun 2009
By 
Gemma Ryan (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shaman, Healer, Sage (Paperback)
This is a very well written book,with clear easy explaination.and very easy to read.Also lots of easy to do exercises that any one can do easily
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shaman, healer sage just like it says, For you !, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Shaman, Healer, Sage (Paperback)
Brilliant book, a great asset to a personal journey. Wanna know how to go from wishing to know about the ancient ways to knowing the ancient ways, this should get you started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shaman, Healer, Sage (Paperback)
An excelent read for anyone interested in shamanism and healing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great teacher, 17 April 2014
By 
Jancy (Croydon, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Opened my heart, my mind, my spirit into a world I would have never known. Thank you for this wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shaman, Healer, Sage
Shaman, Healer, Sage by Alberto Villoldo (Paperback - 1 Oct 2001)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews