Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremely helpful book
If you are not into psychology I can understand why people have different opinions on this book. Personally I found this book extremely helpful. I found it very easy to read and enjoyed the statement quizzes at certain stages of the book. If you are struggling through certain aspects of your life, eg job, stress etc it won't change your life, but it may motivate you...
Published on 22 Aug. 2006 by Leicester bookworm

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good advice buried in there somewhere
I bought this in a spirit of optimism, ten days after the new year.
It's good to read a self-help book which comes with a few scientific credentials, and Dr P is very assiduous when it comes to quoting sources on his research, but the book is incredibly over-written - he could have edited the book down to half its size and still not missed anything...
Published on 12 Feb. 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremely helpful book, 22 Aug. 2006
This review is from: The Motivated Mind (Paperback)
If you are not into psychology I can understand why people have different opinions on this book. Personally I found this book extremely helpful. I found it very easy to read and enjoyed the statement quizzes at certain stages of the book. If you are struggling through certain aspects of your life, eg job, stress etc it won't change your life, but it may motivate you into helping you look at different ways of changing things. There are snippets of information that I found interesting, but it won't interest everyone (eg why people choose to go on reality t.v shows) This is a much better book than many self help books because it looks at the psychological side. It may not work for you, but give it at go, you have nothing to lose but everything to gain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Success tutorial backed by latest psych. research..., 2 Aug. 2005
This review is from: The Motivated Mind (Paperback)
A no nonsense approach to the cognitive states required to find, keep and nuture your personal motivation. This books strength lies in its consistent use of the lastest psychological research to support Persauds recommendations. For those of you who have read 'Staying Sane' by the same author you'll find repetition of concepts again, which can become a little wearisome (and prevented me from given this book five stars) and you begin to believe that the author is using reitteration not to drum home a point but to fill page quotas! There are some fascinating concepts in this book - if you want to learn, and replicate, how successfull and driven individuals think and behave, then the tools are all here. If you are feeling demotivated this won't solve all your problems, but it's the tonic needed to get you back on track - it worked for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well researched info from an award winning scientist, 13 Feb. 2006
By 
Mr. P. J. Kimberlee (shrewsbury) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Motivated Mind (Paperback)
The high sales of self help literature shows a desire in people to improve and motivate themselves. Sadly much of this genre is filled with the same old trite. This books distinguishes itself by being based on solid research and therefore will work. My only criticism is that he often jumps from subject to subject without a clear progression. Its not a masterpiece of writing but if your after effective knowledge to improve your performance and do the same for your organisation. You will be pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what you might expect albeit positively, 30 Aug. 2006
By 
I. Allars (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Motivated Mind (Paperback)
The front cover is somewhat deceptive by its rather grand statement "How to get what you want from life". This at face value smacks of ruthlessness and a single minded attitude required for a quest.

However as the saying goes "never judge a book by its cover" particularly applies. As you go further into the book you are made aware of the pitfalls of adopting certain attitudes often used in motivational strategies and their consequences. One particular illustrated case is that of a patient of Dr Persaud's who nearly lost his marriage as a result of his materialism. The root of the problem is examined along with the patients rehabilitation.

It soon becomes clear during reading that the author is promoting a more mentally healthier perspective on motivational strategies than what you would expect from the typical americanised business and motivational gurus i.e. go after your goal at all costs. However it was quite disturbing to read the sections on machiavellianism and workplace politics. While discussion of this topic played a valid part in the book the potential machiavellians reading the book may get the wrong idea!

The final chapters of the book take a meaning of life slant and i for one found myself taking stock of elements of my own life.

To sum up the topic of motivation is just too big an area to be covered by one book. The subject is fascinating and i have been waiting ages for an introductory book like this to come along. The bibliography at the back is extensive which will serve as a signpost for further reading. After reading this book my study of the subject has just started.

Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good advice buried in there somewhere, 12 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Motivated Mind (Paperback)
I bought this in a spirit of optimism, ten days after the new year.
It's good to read a self-help book which comes with a few scientific credentials, and Dr P is very assiduous when it comes to quoting sources on his research, but the book is incredibly over-written - he could have edited the book down to half its size and still not missed anything important.
There's some good advice on how to avoid procrastination and face up to the goals you want to pursue in life (and how "goal conflict" can stop you doing what you think you want to do) but you have to wade through treacle to get to these nuggets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of its kind out there, 6 Jun. 2006
By 
White Wolf (Wolverhampton, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Motivated Mind (Paperback)
A somewhat surprising book. I expected the usual lightweight daytime TV flannel - just be yourself/set goals/you can accomplish anything you set your mind to, and so on. In fact, this is actually a fairly serious, rigourous, somewhat demanding text setting out the state of knowledge within psychology across a range of issues relevant to the general public.

The somewhat mixed reviews are perhaps because people bought the book expecting some light reading and instead they got something close to an academic textbook. This is certainly the first paperback I've picked up off a supermarket shelf that has sixty pages at the back listing sources.

For me, the surprise was a pleasant one. It's rare to find a book dealing broadly in the area of self-improvement that doesn't patronise, that doesn't deal in trendy, untested ideas and that instead sticks to approaches that are backed up by credible research.

The chapters on will-power and rewards are particularly interesting.

As someone who vainly tries from time to time to shed a few pounds, I've always been quietly embarrassed at my own utter lack of will power. It turns out I'm not alone. It seems that, from a scientific point of view, will power is a largely non-existent force and that anyone trying to modify their behaviour needs to try a fundamentally different approach.

The section on rewards is revealing because it's so counter-intuitive. It turns out that, despite eveything economic theory has to say, in the real world bonuses and incentives can actually work to demotivate people and reduce productivity.

Overall, this is a substantial, worthwhile book. At times it's an informative read and at times there are clear insights that are relevant for those of use looking to make changes in our lives, whatever those changes might be. It's worth picking up a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Book, 28 Feb. 2008
This review is from: The Motivated Mind (Paperback)
I own many books, and of all my books this one is my favourite. It is not a cheesy self-help book, with lots of statements not backed up with research. Instead it is an academic book backed up with a vast number of journal papers and scientific studies. It is, if you like a book about 'evidence based medicine.' However, this book was written for academics and lay readers alike, in order to make the findings of psychiatry known to the public. Therefore it is written in a very interesting and clear way, hopefully making it accessible to most readers. Persaud's writing flows well with lots of interesting anecdotes. Personally I have found it a compelling read. However, it contains so much data and information you might need to read it a few time for it all to sink in and be able to put it into practice. I never normally read books more than once, but I have read this time and time again, and often dip into it for reference. If I was on a dessert island and I could only choose one book to have with me, it would be this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best book on how life works I have ever read!, 12 Nov. 2007
By 
Navnish Mishra (London | New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Motivated Mind (Paperback)
There are so many psychology books out there explaining human behaviour. This is the first one I have read that takes the approach of Freakanomics and backs up its explanations with clinical research. The topics deal with things people face in real life and not high handed theories about society or concepts that are irrelevant to daily life. Some of the conclusions are stunning! Things you always knew were true but couldn't quite put into words. Simply amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Positively life transforming, 3 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Motivated Mind (Paperback)
This book like Raj Persaud's other book Staying Sane is one of the very best psychologically inspiring books. I am not surprised they are both best-sellers.It tells you how to go about motivation in the most logical and convincing way and he makes it undaunting. It is very straightforward in its approach. I highly recommend both books. They have become my guide to life and mental health and I have become one if his ardent followers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some will like it..............., 19 Feb. 2006
By 
DelWij "DelWij" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Motivated Mind (Paperback)
The main strength of Dr Persaud's book is that in it he has summarised vast amounts of psychological and psychiatric research in ways that are easy to understand for someone without a psychiatric / scientific background. However he does not seem to have organised the research into a very coherent structure and does indeed jump from place to place, sometimes in a very random way.
Also as he does cover a lot of research in this book, I'm slightly sceptical as to whether he has actually read all of the source material that he quotes, in any great depth. I get the feeling that rather than trying to objectively identify emerging trends in the literature he quotes he has instead picked the bits that he likes that fit into his own, rather disparate framework of motivation.
The book did have me laughing out loud in a few places though, something which I didn't expect - like the part where he tries to analyse the show Frasier from a serious psychiatric viewpoint and then accuses Frasier himself of being guilty of 'the middle class over-intellectualisation of life'. I really hope that he was trying to be ironic.
But I do think that the book could be useful for some people. Dr Persauds tone is not of the preachy or cheesy kind that you'll often find in the American 'self-help' literature so in this way the book may appeal to people who prefer a more 'scientific' tone to their encouragement and motivation. And, it rekindled my interest in self help books, but I think I prefer smiling Americans telling me that I'm special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Motivated Mind
The Motivated Mind by Raj Persaud (Paperback - 2 Jan. 2006)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews