Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars62
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2010
This series has been ossum, but occasionally comes to bits when Erikson strays from storytelling into more abstract philosophy. In this case here it drags and drags as the immortals reflect endlessly on the accumulated misery and frustration and boredom and unrequited love - so much so that it brought the first three to this reader.

Even when first introduced the meanderings didn't feel like they matched the characters, and as they became repetitive I ended up skipping pages and pages at a time.

Still readable though, if only to place significant events for the next one, which I'm looking forward to. Hopefully this is just a hiccup in the series.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
This is so hard to explain without reading it, but I've not read a fantasy epic with as much depth as this. Erikson has created a book of philosophy that has managed to be extremely complex, witty, violent and heart-breaking all in one hugely entertaining epic. I just cannot put it down and am losing lots of sleep because of it...but I don't care!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
This is book 7 from 10 of the series, so read books 1 to 6 first as it relies on prior understanding in telling its tale. I have read the book, actually all 10, 3 times and expect to re-read them again. It is a powerful world with strong characters and story lines, I seem to discover another level each time through. I am hooked.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Difficult to to get into initially because of the size and scale of the saga, its just hard to see at first how all the different places characters and different time periods being laid out can ever come together. But its well worth the effort of keeping reading and it just becomes the most brilliant journey for the reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
Erikson writes for a large caste and juggles them with infinite balance. The first book is the most difficult trying to get your head around myriad characters and personalities but if you persist then each book will win you over with its wit its action its forethought. A wonderful reading experience
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
It doesn't quite manage the character transition as well as others - the Malazan/Letherii sections seem subpar compared to the rest.
Icariam gets frustratingly little screen time.
Overall it's still excellent, but the later books are better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2007
This is the seventh novel in the Malazan Book of the Fallen series. It is everything you hoped for if you have been following this story from the beginning.

The sheer scale and grandeur of this tale is breathtaking. Again you will question who are the "good guys" and who are the "bad guys". Karsa Orlong is at his succinct best. Tehol Beddict is as brilliant as ever. The depth and scale of the characters is what makes this book a must buy.

You will need to have read "Midnight Tides" and "The Bonehunters" to really appreciate quite a few of the characters, such as Rhulad and Trull Sengar, but this is no hardship.

I got through this novel in 8 days, whilst on holiday. I couldn't put it down. It is a must buy for all fantasy fiction fans.

Keep up the good work Mr Erikson.

I'm missing Anomander, will he be seen in volume 8?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2011
Book number 7, only 3 more after this I don't know what I shall read when these are done everything else seems to pale into insignificance. This wonderous rich landscape just leaves you hungry for more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2009
Erikson is getting back on track with Reapers Gate - the characters are a good read and the storyline keeps on the edge of your seat. Some answers are revelaed about the aims of some of the characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2009
erikson continues to enthrall with this installment of the malazan tales of the fallen, gripping, wonderful new characters and the reappearence of some old favourites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse