Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consuming
This book had me rivetted. A complexity, detail and imagination far exceeding Tolkien, and I never thought that possible. Do not expect your conventional elves, dwarves, men and dragons (oh but there ARE a few dragons!). Do not expect the dull-witted, worn-out concepts of fantasy found in the Weiss and Hickman Dragonlance Chronicles. This is superlative writing. It had me...
Published on 22 Mar 2004 by Sean

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm stopping here...
Mr Erikson's black humour was the best thing in this novel, I thought, and I was disappointed that, as in No.4, there wasn't the pleasing complexity of plot strands evinced in the first 3 of the series.
Published 15 months ago by sue P


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep Em coming, 2 Mar 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are hoping for more stories of the old characters you may be (initially) disappointed. Erikson is expanding the breadth of the series by introducing a new continent and several new races.
Midnight tides is set around the confrontation between two empires. The first the Tiste Edur, the second more modern empire centred on money rather than gods. You will find few old favourites in the book but definitely some new ones. You can also expect to have lots more history concerning the older races, and of course the Tiste.
Presumable Erikson is setting the scence for some even greater conflict to come, and one continent just wasn't big enough for what he has in mind =8)
Keep Em coming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Erikson does it again, 19 Mar 2004
Once again Erikson delivers a masterclass in descriptive narrative and direct story telling.
The story more or less stands alone to the first 4 books, whilst very much being a part of the big picture. The depth and breadth of the world he has created continues to grow.
One major plus point for Midnight Tales is its accessability. It is probably the easiest of the five books to get into and understand. If you have been put off by the complexity of previous volumes, don't let that put you off of this one. I found it easy to get it to, and the complexity and more complicated elements of the story were fed in much more gently than has been the case in the past.
Keep them coming, I cannot wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - Worry not Erikson has done it again., 16 Aug 2004
By 
mbogle (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I was worried that I would not enjoy this book as much, as it did not involve the characters that I so loved from the previous books. Erikson happily put all of my concerns to rest and provided me with a whole raft of new characters, every bit as enjoyable, for me to love.( Midnight Tides takes place on another continent and there are only vague references to the previous characters ).
While this book can be read in isolation I would highly recommend the other four books in the series as they are all excellent and well deserving of 5 stars.
If you are looking at reading the other 4 however I strongly suggest reading them in the published order:-
1) Gardens of the Moon
2) Deadhouse Gates
3) Memories of Ice
4) House of Chains
as unlike this book the others are much better read in order so as to gain the full effects of the continuing story and interwoven plots. If you wish to read just this book then it should not interfere with you going back to read the previous 4, which I would certainly have done if I had read this one first.
To all the Erikson fans out there here is a book that continues a fantastic series and gives you many new characters to love. Buy it now and prepare to lose the next few days happily engrossed in this great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another epic., 26 Dec 2004
By 
J. D. Ludlow (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Midnight Tides (Book 5 of The Malazan Book of the Fallen) (Mass Market Paperback)
The first four books of the series were all excellent reads - quick, witty, exciting stuff that broke new ground in fantasy writing. A magic system that is interesting an intriguing to read about, as well as a feeling that the events are not happening in isolation, that there are other civilisations existing beyond the scope of the book that may or may not be effected by the events in the book.
Midnight Tides continues in a similar vein, though it's not quite as pacy. There are few battles, and this feels more of a consolidation - the building of setting and characters and such that often happens in the middle of a story. Despite that, it takes place in a different part of Erikson's fantasy world, with different characters, and actually forming a prelude to House Of Chains' interactions between the Onrack and the Trull Sengar. While reading Midnight Tides, I found it was interesting to see the events leading up to House Of Chains, as well as see how the events in this book link up with those in the other books.
Perhaps to make up for the slower pace, there is more of an element of humour in this book, and the interactions between Tehol and his servant Bugg are at times pretty funny. However, the heart of the book is still the deep and complex interactions between people, political factions and gods, as well as the magic system. Erikson once again proves adept at slowly releasing bits of information about this fascinating world, meaning there are still things you don't know at the end of the fifth book and you will come back and read the next one (I've heard there are to be another five books) just to find out more.
All in all, the whole series is a fantasy epic that follows its own rules and is clearly not afraid to step out of the shadows cast by the likes of Tolkien.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Erikson Epic, 4 May 2004
By 
S. Edwards "Simon" (Watford, Britain.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Those who are already Erikson fans will find his latest novel Midnight Tides to be a another treat. He delivers his usual scope in typical epic scale, as his agile mind flits from tangled plot line to convoluted twist. The introductory chapter for example is nothing short of awesome and leaves you panting to turn the pages and begin the book proper.
As is not untypical in his novels, Erikson introduces us Midnight Tides to yet another group of characters and to some extent races. The Tiste Edur led by their Warlock King are lured into a war with their more powerful neighbours the Letherrii, who lust after the Edur lands and resouces.
The Edur cast is led by four brothers. Paramount of the brothers is the reluctant warrior Trull who sees his suspicions about his more self serving brother Rhulad confirmed, when Rulad is willingly lured into alliance with the crippled god. Backed by the shadowed presence of the crippled god, Rhulad overthrows the Warlock King and lends his new found power to crushing the Letherii with little mercy.
In short Midnight Tides is everything that we would expect from Erikson, but perhaps lacking some of the surprises that we have experienced in his previous four novels. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He's done it again, 5 Nov 2004
By 
M. E. S. Downing (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Erikson is the fantasy writer for the real fans of the genre. His story telling is imaginative, vivid, sometimes disturbing, sometimes funny! This book, although not his best, is certainly his funniest with the banter between Tehol and Bugg being beautifully written. His world is rich and varied, but he doesn't overburden it with unnecessary detail. You should read this book, but read the others first!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Yet, 27 May 2005
This review is from: Midnight Tides (Book 5 of The Malazan Book of the Fallen) (Mass Market Paperback)
I cannot say how impressed I was with this book. I've read everything this man has to offer in this series (I JUST found out about The Hungry Dead -- already ordered), books from R. Scott Bakker, George R.R. Martin, R.A. Salvatore, Terry Goodkind, the obvious Rowling and Tolkein books, and believe it or not, I can safely say this is my favourite fantasy novel of all time. The ever-larger web of crossed storylines and infinite intricacies between books seem to grow tighter.
This book brings your understanding of Erikson's world to a peak that shows only signs of growing taller.
The humor between Bugg and Tehol, as stated in other reviews, is priceless. While Trull is the only character you've read about before, this book doesn't leave off where you meet him in the previous book, which means there'll be at least one more book devoted to this time, and group of characters.
I can't wait! While people say it's "slow," I disagree, and would say that the pace is just different. There are still half a dozen stories happening at once in any given chapter; the only thing that there isn't as much of in this book is fighting, really.
If you're a fan of the series, you don't need to be told to get this book anyway. If you haven't read any of Erikson's work, snag Gardens of the Moon, and you'll be "Mala-zaney" in no time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Malazans, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent book. Took a bit longer to get going than the others did and needed more patience as it breaks from the already established story. But it delivers exceptionally
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love these books. The trouble is that I get so engrossed that everything else gets forgotten - like housework and cooking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another epic tale, 9 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The fifth episode in Erikson's saga doesn't disappoint! In this tale he crafts an entirely new realm, along with an enthralling mixture of Warring races to populate it. Put simply, he is a genius, and these are among the greatest fantasy books of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Midnight Tides (Book 5 of The Malazan Book of the Fallen)
Midnight Tides (Book 5 of The Malazan Book of the Fallen) by Steven Erikson (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Mar 2005)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews