Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Think of the Deadhouse Gates : Think on Death
Another epic escapade into the world of the Fallen.

This is no Tolkien vision of sweeping glades and smiling elder faces, this is a brooding, brutal and ultimately savage work of fantasy. Really, you can't help but love it.

The question that seems to lie at the heart of so many of the characters is: 'What is preferable, to fall so far that no...
Published on 28 May 2006 by ShadowCrab

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middle of the Road
Well, there's good and bad news here.

The good? Deadhouse Gates is certainly no less than a decent novel. The bad? It's only a decent novel and having waded through 2000 pages of the Malazan saga I'm still not convinced this is a series worth the enormous effort required to see it through to the end.

One feels that Erikson is simply grasping at too...
Published on 24 Oct 2010 by DRFP


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Think of the Deadhouse Gates : Think on Death, 28 May 2006
By 
ShadowCrab (Durham, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deadhouse Gates (Book 2 of The Malazan Book of the Fallen) (Mass Market Paperback)
Another epic escapade into the world of the Fallen.

This is no Tolkien vision of sweeping glades and smiling elder faces, this is a brooding, brutal and ultimately savage work of fantasy. Really, you can't help but love it.

The question that seems to lie at the heart of so many of the characters is: 'What is preferable, to fall so far that no remnants of your other self are left or to have died innocent, unfallen.'

Battles are fought, wars are waged, yet no distinction is made between the foes. Both are fighting for noble values, both are "good" and yet both have the capacity for evil. Something I've never come across in a fantasy novel before & depending upon your take on originality, a brilliant concept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I hate to admit it but this is very good., 29 Sep 2011
This review is from: Deadhouse Gates (Book 2 of The Malazan Book of the Fallen) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is intimidatingly massive (900 pages), requires about three times the amount of thinking required by normal ficition to fully digest its contents. It's also unrelentingly bleak, tragic and violent. But apart from that, it's a walk in the park!

A huge part of me wants to criticise this book and, indeed, the whole 'The Malazan Book of the Fallen' series. But, I have to be honest, this is mainly because this series has stretched me beyond any other literature I've ever read and I resent the fact that I'm not quite clever, patient or perceptive to grasp these books on one reading. I have to be objective and, objectively, this book is a masterpiece!

The illusion of realism that Erikson creates is second to none. He never interrupts the writing with cliched exposition and so the reader feels like a humble fly on the wall and not an intruder. Of course, this means the reader has actually got to think, to read between the lines and bare a certain amount of uncertainty but, if you are willing to take on this challenge, the rewards are great.

Also, the book is so crammed with detail, it's very very re-readable. It'll take a lifetime to figure out. Go on, take the plunge - it's deep water but there are pearls on the ocean bed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly brutal, 1 Dec 2005
This book might easily be the best work Erikson ever published. It definitely is his bloodiest. Throughout the book you ll find yourself on constant edge while the Malazan defenders are trying to achieve the impossible. It s been a while since i read the book but its brutality and horrific realism are not easy things to let go. Against impossible odds simple soldiers will become heroes through massive amounts of blood and gore. Erikson simply wont compromise. As usual there is more than this story in the book: one equally, if not more bloody. Extremely emotional and shocking any fantasy fan should read this. Its not everyday that this kind of books appear. It made me realise that Erikson is the future of Fantasy. Or at least he should be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars walk with the chain, 15 Jun 2007
By 
dolfanuk (Wigan, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deadhouse Gates (Book 2 of The Malazan Book of the Fallen) (Mass Market Paperback)
ok let me start by saying that when i first started to read this book i was a little dissapointed. where was whiskeyjack and the bridgeburners. the only ones to make it were kalam, quick ben, fiddler, crokus and sorry.

but i stuck with it as it seemed unfair to dismiss it so quickly andwas i ever rewarded for my patience. it is almost equal in brilliance ot the gardens of the moon but on a slightly different level.

this book focuses on the rebellion occuring in a differen area of the malazan empire to what we saw in the first book, and contains broadly two story paths. one is the story of a young girl who has been exiled. and the other focuses on a new commander of the armies of the malazan empire in this area and his ability to become a great commander.

of course all hell break loose and then we see the true gem of this story, the struggle for survival in the face of impossible odds. read it and you'll see what i mean also has a truly heartbreaking ending, you know whats gonna happen but you wish somene would do something.

all in al a great book, not quite as great as the original but thats hardly fair seeing as the first was amazing in every way.

wait till you hit book 3. probably the best in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No easy get-outs for these characters!, 24 Mar 2002
This review is from: Deadhouse Gates (Book 2 of The Malazan Book of the Fallen) (Mass Market Paperback)
At last a fantasy novel with some teeth - or more preceisely teeth, swords lances and any other method of harming another individual. The characters are not all good or bad, shady deals are made which sometimes backfire.
Just because a character is a principle one don't expect them to make it to the end of the book - the war depicted in this novel is bloody and brutal.
My only complaint is that the chapters are a bit long causing me to stay awake into the wee small hours - not good for work in the morning, but you cant leave the characters in such a predicament now can you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This series just keeps getting better and better . . ., 15 Oct 2001
By 
Lillian Butler "Texas wireworker" (Austin, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deadhouse Gates (Book 2 of The Malazan Book of the Fallen) (Mass Market Paperback)
I discovered Erikson when a friend handed me his first book and said "You'll like him. He out-Black-Company's Glenn Cook." I devoured Gardens of The Moon in 3 days and waited until I could get the paperback of Deadhouse Gates. As in Gardens, Erikson weaves the stories of several compelling characters, including our old friends Crokus, Sorry, and Fiddler, as well as people only mentioned in passing from Gardens, like Captain Param's sisters . . . Unlike most military fantasy authors, Erikson understands that it's the characters that drive a story. And he spins a great one here.
I own 2 copies each of his books--one for me and one to lend. I just wish he was widely available here in the US.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even Better Than the First Book, 7 Feb 2003
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deadhouse Gates (Book 2 of The Malazan Book of the Fallen) (Mass Market Paperback)
The first book in this series, Gardens of the Moon, was a gloriously complex, action-packed romp of a novel, with a huge cast of entertaining, well-drawn characters and an absolute refusal to bown down to genre cliches or expectations. Book 2, Deadhouse Gates, continues many of these ideals in an admirable fashion. We're wrenched halfway around the world to the continent of Seven Cities, which is about to rise up against the Malazan Empire. A totally new cast is introduced, although a few minor players from Book 1 soon arrive to provide a bridge to the first book. There are three main plots developing in tandem: Felisin Paran's escape from slavery, General Coltaine's epic march across the continent and a plot to assassinate the Malazan Empress. The Coltaine storyline is the heart of the novel and is truly horrific at times, and the conclusion is truly gut-wrenching (the reader is as angry as the characters are at the heartless betrayal that ends the novel, and the poetic justice which rewards it is sweet). Deadhouse Gates is much darker and even more complex than the first book. It reads well as a stand-alone novel, though I recommend you read the first one as it's a slightly gentler introduction to the world. Book 2 is also clever in that many events take place simultaneously with Book 3, providing a link to that novel. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, 9 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Finally a sequel, in fantasy, which is as good as the first novel. My only disappointment in this book (which I soon overcame) is that the characters from the first book hardly feature in it. However I was enthralled by it and could not put it down. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic fantasy, for fans of George Martin, Joe Abercrombie with shades of Dune, 7 Oct 2014
By 
Martin (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb book. Dark fantasy on an epic scale. Came to this after a number of false starts trying to find something on the same style/scale as Song of Ice & Fire/Joe Abercrombie and it fits perfectly. Similar sort of large cast of varied characters in an intricately constructed world. More "fantastic" than either of these, with gods. other races and magic playing a larger role but all the better for that as a contrast and doesn't detract from the essential gritty "realism" of the various players and their actions.

One word of warning. In the introduction to the first book of the series (Gardens of the Moon - should be read before this one) Steven Erikson notes that the books feel like being dropped from a great height into a very deep water. Not everything is explained at first, you just have to progress and take on trust that it will make sense. Similar to arriving for the first time in an exotic foreign country when everything seems strange. He makes no apologies for this, saying he is trying to write a history and, even if fictional, history doesn't have simple start and end points. He makes the comparison with Dune and it is warranted. Just stick with it, eventually things become clearer but never boring as new elements enter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible sequel to the stunning Gardens of the Moon, 11 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Gardens of the Moon was one of the most refreshing, most gripping and most original fantasy novels I have read for years. There's always a slight sense of trepidation involved in starting a brilliant debut author's second novel - knowing that the first may have taken seven years to write and the second only seven months - but I am pleased, nay delighted to report that Deadhouse Gates is a totally worthy successor to Gardens, and indeed, even manages to surpass the first in many respects.
The plot (which I won't reveal), is even more complex, more multi-layered and possesses more plot twists and surprises than you'll find in a dozen run-of-the-mill stock-fantasy novels. If you thought the characters, situations and action in 'Gardens' were gripping in the extreme, you'll be glad to hear that exactly the same level of detail and strength of narrative have gone into making 'Deadhouse' just as good in terms of quality, adventure and drama.
All I'll say to finish with is that anyone who reads and enjoys the likes of David Gemmell or George R.R. Martin absolutely has to try both 'Gardens' and 'Deadhouse', or risk missing out on one of the most utterly enjoyable fantasy reading experiences currently available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deadhouse Gates (Book 2 of The Malazan Book of the Fallen)
Deadhouse Gates (Book 2 of The Malazan Book of the Fallen) by Steven Erikson (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Oct 2001)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews