Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of stories
Tales of the Otherworld is the second collection of short stories from Kelley set in her Otherworld. All but one of these stories first appeared on her website several years ago as free extras for her readers, but then she was offered a deal where the profits when to a charity, so they were taken off and put in to two collections. Men of the Otherworld which has been out...
Published on 18 April 2010 by Claire Mill

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
Initially I wasn't sure how much I wanted to read this but during a very boring family party I downloaded it and found myself hooked.
Good to read the back stories of the main characters and flesh out the situations the novels don't go into.
Enjoyable to dip on and out of.
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic Kelley Armstrong Book, 6 April 2011
By 
Kelley Armstrong's latest collection of short stories are a fantastic addition to her women of the otherwold series. Including all her best characters so far. Couldn't put it down. I found myself complaining each time I reached the end of a story that it was too good to be short but then immediately became wrapped up in the next. Personally I don't usually like short stories but these ones like the men of the otherworld short story collection are an exception to that rule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Short Tales, 24 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is great as it fills in some 'missing' gaps / or explains how other characters came to be in existence. It has been better to read now it as the last in the list.(And I've read the whole list)
The various chapters are narrated by the main character, i.e. Elena ,Clayton which is a great idea.
Not normally a short tales fan but this book is A VERY GOOD buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 3 Feb. 2011
This book is a fantastic accompaniment for any reader of the Otherworld series along with Men of the Otherworld too! fantastic series! well worth the read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kelly armstrong can do no wrong, 31 Oct. 2010
This book works even if its the first kelly armstrong book you read or if you have read them all. its an introduction/background history into many of the staple characters. vampires sorcerors, and witches another unputdownable book from kelly armstrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collection of short stories, 20 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are new to Kelley Armstrong, I would recommend that you read the main series first ('Bitten' is the first book) as most of the stories within 'Tales of the Otherworld' contain information which will spoil a surprise or two from that series. If you are strong enough though, do buy this one and read the short story called 'Beginnings', only. It tells the reader how Elena and Clay, two of the main characters from 'Bitten' met, and was my first encounter with Kelley Armstrong's writing some years ago. To this day it is one of my top favourite stories by KA.

For a pretty good summary of the content see the review by Claire Mill "Cem".

I would have bought this book even if it had only contained that one short story called 'Beginnings. However, I also like the rest, especially the one involving the sorcerers. Unmissable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They are all great!, 18 May 2010
By 
J. Abraham (North London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The entire series of these books is awesome.

Kelley Armstrong is one of my favourite writers (and have now read hundreds of these types of books)

She writes well, all her characters are well constructed and likeable and although some parts of the series are better than others (because you start to develop favourite characters I think) I would recommend these to anyone who enjoys a fast paced, well written easy read.

I have read every Supernat type book she has written now and thoroughly enjoyed every single one - most of the time not getting much sleep because I couldn't put them down!

Start with Bitten and if you like it, get them all because the minute you put down one you will want to start the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great short tales and its all for charity, 16 May 2010
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Kelley is a not only a long time addiction of mine but I'd like to think a friend who's helped me through hard times with her creative world-building. Here in her second charity novel, is a collection of additional short stories that have wowed the fans for a few years. Add to the mix the return of firm favourites, some tales of a prequel nature and you really get a book that fleshes out the world and characters in greater detail. A real treat for many readers and one that will establish a deeper mythos in the tales that have been cried out for and requested by a great many readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Filling some gaps, 9 May 2010
Kelley Armstrong has beautifully filled in some missing gaps to her various stories. We finish the book knowing more about the beginning blossoming romance between elena and Clayton, eve levine and Kristoff Nast. With a mixture of short and longer stories to keep you entetained all the way through, you come out feeling closer to some of the important characters of her other books such as Paige and Lucas. It's a definite read for those addicts to all her books and is as well written as them. Her ability to clarify nuances with her diversity of characters is what makes her one of the best in her field
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some old favourites and some new stories, 28 April 2010
By 
Joanne K. Pilsworth (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a compilation of some of the free fiction on Kelley Armstrong's website, but with the addition of some new stories. In particular, I really liked the story about Kristof Nast and Eve Levine, not least with the role played by Nast Senior in the relationship. The story involving Sean Nast is also excellent, with my favourite part being Savannah's greeting of her grandfather, the key point being 'which one?'.

This is a definite 'must-buy' for fans of the Otherworld stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection!, 19 April 2010
Kelley Armstrong puts a lot of free stuff on her website, which I think is great! I usually can't wait for her next book to be published and love to get some reading fodder in between. This is a collection of some of the previously freebie stories from the website plus some stuff I, at least, haven't seen before. I really loved Bewitched about Eve and Kris as they are two of my favourite characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tales of the Otherworld (Women of the Otherworld)
Tales of the Otherworld (Women of the Otherworld) by Kelley Armstrong (Hardcover - 13 April 2010)
Used & New from: £2.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews