Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars laid the foundation for much of today's scifi
Asimov's Foundation series was more aptly named than many suspect. Over the years it has served as an inspiration to many science fiction masterpieces, and became the benchmark by which all other epic science fiction was based. Much of today's space opera owes much to the original vast planet-spanning tale of the birth of a civilisation guided through the ages by the...
Published on 13 July 2004

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An important Sci Fi novel
I have just re-read all 7 of Asimov's Foundation novels, having originally read them in the 1980s. For those of you new to the series it consists of 2 'prequel' novels, the original trilogy (which are actually a series of short stories originally written for a magazine published in three volumes, followed by two sequel novels. The four novels were written decades after...
Published on 17 July 2012 by Big Bad Bill


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book!!!!!, 9 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
Basically all I want to say is that you are missing one of the greatest books of all time if you have not read this one. The rest of the series is equally good and so should also be read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Asimov, 27 Jan. 2011
By 
D. Tidswell (Lincs. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A little disappointed as it was not what I expected. I finished up with a CLUB version which I this is condensed a little
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Legendary, but no longer worth reading, 13 Aug. 2010
By 
K. Ennis (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first read, and loved, this book 30 years ago, but it hasn't stood the test of time. Asimov couldn't have anticipated the huge technological advances of the last 50 years, and the "advanced civilisations" he describes now sound rather quaint and old fashioned. Information is stored on paper, tape and microfilm (remember that!); the only fuels available are oil, gas and nuclear; the vices of choice are cigars and snuff(!!).

With the sci-fi elements now overtaken by reality, what's left is a series of loosely connected short stories designed to show that, using technology and machiavellian techniques, wars can always be avoided. Given that WWII would have been fresh in the author's mind, this is understandable and laudable. But read now the stories are rather dull and slow, with many long-winded political discussions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb sci-fi audio, 29 Dec. 2008
By 
I LISTENED TO THE BBC AUDIO CASSETTE VERSION OF ASIMOV,S FOUNDATION TRILOGY MANY YEARS AGO,AFTER READING THE BOOKS.I THOUGHT IT WAS WELL DONE CONSIDERING THE TIME IT WAS PUT TOGETHER,I LISTENED TO IT AGAIN RECENTLY AND STILL GOT A LOT OF PLEASURE FROM IT.I HAVE BEEN A HUGE ASIMOV FAN FOR OVER 25 YEARS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Series, 17 April 1999
By A Customer
READ THIS ONE FIRST. Ok this is the first book in the series and although when you get to the end you'll want to go straigh on to the next one (and the next) you can read this on it's own as an intro to the genre.
Each book covers a seperate generation and how the figures of the time deal with what has started in this book - but what has started? a plan is formed, the foundations are laid and as we watch the plan being made and begin to unfold here we can't help but think "What would I do if I knew what they knew?" this book is very well written and is one to get yoy're mind working overtime, but it's not heavy going, it's a nice fulfilling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
must have, must read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
JUST AS EXPECTED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
classic read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great SiFi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Asimov excelence, 2 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. P. Wood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Asimov is an excelent author; his tales are well constructed. The only drawback is that when the books were written the equality of the sexes was not established and this makes some of the commentarry appear politically incorrect. Otherwise a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Foundation
Foundation by Isaac Asimov (Hardcover - Jun. 2004)
Used & New from: £10.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews