Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont Look Back
This book like all the others I own by AMANDA QUICK kept me interested from the first page.Lavinia and tobias make a good team although lavinia still wants to be independant This is the second book with the duo in .It has mystery, murder,laughter and passion.What more could you ask for.this book is a must and I cant wait for for the next one.
Published on 1 May 2003 by Mrs. J. Poole

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't look at all....
Being kind, one might refer to this pale work as amusing or divertying...dull, boring, a yawner - if being accurate...ripoff if one wants to make a point.
This is the follow up to the so so Slightly Shady of last year.
All I can say this was this was a big waste of money! And the Quick name is all that will sell this book.
Lavenia Lake and Tobias March...
Published on 14 Feb 2003 by Deborah MacGillivray


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars don't look at all...., 14 Feb 2003
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Look Back (Hardcover)
Being kind, one might refer to this pale work as amusing or divertying...dull, boring, a yawner - if being accurate...ripoff if one wants to make a point.
This is the follow up to the so so Slightly Shady of last year.
All I can say this was this was a big waste of money! And the Quick name is all that will sell this book.
Lavenia Lake and Tobias March partnership-affair was sort of left up in midair at the end of the dullish Slightly Shady, so I had hopes things would pick up in this one. Not so. It takes nearly 100 pages before the pace even begins to move. There is barely a mystery, barely a romance....GRRRRRRRRRRR
After the delightful Summer in Eclipse Bay, JAK seemed back in fit form. So I was really looking forward to this one. But this is about as far from Summer as you can get. There is no sparkling repartee, no romance, at times all the leads do is act silly and argue. What action is there is comes straight for the 'dark and storming night' trite writing.
If you must read this, wait until paperback because this one is definitely NOT worth the price of hardback.
This is a BIG DISAPPOINTMENT to JAK/AQ fans. ...
Sorry, Don't Look Back should have never been published as a hardback, and would have been much better titled Don'T Look!!!!!
I love her writing, but this has to be in a three way tie for her worst book.
...Your fans deserve better than this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont Look Back, 1 May 2003
By 
Mrs. J. Poole (croydon surrey-uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book like all the others I own by AMANDA QUICK kept me interested from the first page.Lavinia and tobias make a good team although lavinia still wants to be independant This is the second book with the duo in .It has mystery, murder,laughter and passion.What more could you ask for.this book is a must and I cant wait for for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Look Back...keep on reading!, 29 April 2003
By A Customer
Amanda Quick has once again produced a good Regency yarn that successfully combines intrigue and romance. The main protagonists (Lavinia and Tobias) are both strong and independant individuals who are learning to respect, trust and love each other throughout their adventure and murder investigation. The subject of mesmerism ( in which the main female character, Lavinia, is well versed) is also well handled and adds a certain air of the unknown to the plot. The secondary characters, the niece and brother in law, are also interesting enough in their own right to make a reader want the author to follow on with their story. I look forward to reading the next installment of the adventures of these lovers particularly after reading the preview provided in my copy of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Look Back (Kindle Edition)
her books are always enjoyable, light reading and pass a few hours with a smile. They leave you wanting to read the next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars light reading, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Look Back (Kindle Edition)
This book is typical Amanda Quick - a good easy light winter read. Read it on kindle so ideal beach reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2nd story well worth the read, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Look Back (Hardcover)
Pacy story with just the right touches of frustration from the Main characters with each other & rule of the day.
Sub plot better left to another seperate story but I can see why she included the addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gripping story line, 21 Sep 2009
A Kid's Review
I like different styles of writing and Amanda Quick has a style that grips me from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadaceeac)

This product

Don't Look Back
Don't Look Back by Amanda Quick (Hardcover - May 2002)
Used & New from: 0.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews