Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars couldn`t put this book down!
This is the third book in the wilderness series. I loved the first book, found the second less enjoyable because they are away from Paradise but loved this book because the family are back on Lake in the clouds. The characters become even more real - Elizabeth and Nathaniel`s children are growing up and Hannah becomes a healer and falls in love. Nathaniel is such a loving...
Published on 26 July 2009 by Jamie fan

versus
36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Classic!
This is the third book in what I hope will be a very long series.
Donati, has a talent for drawing the reader completely into the story. All of the books concern Elizabeth (loosely based on Austen Elizabeth Bennet) and Nathaniel (son of Hawkeye from last of the Mohicans) and their extended families. The first two books were very good but in "Lake in the Clouds" the...
Published on 31 Mar 2003 by Mrs. Kimberley J. Barnetson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars couldn`t put this book down!, 26 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the third book in the wilderness series. I loved the first book, found the second less enjoyable because they are away from Paradise but loved this book because the family are back on Lake in the clouds. The characters become even more real - Elizabeth and Nathaniel`s children are growing up and Hannah becomes a healer and falls in love. Nathaniel is such a loving husband - it`s lovely to read about how his relationship with Elizabeth has developed. I found the maps on the inside cover useful to help me to visualise the story and I also loved the cover! I`m now looking forward to the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Classic!, 31 Mar 2003
This is the third book in what I hope will be a very long series.
Donati, has a talent for drawing the reader completely into the story. All of the books concern Elizabeth (loosely based on Austen Elizabeth Bennet) and Nathaniel (son of Hawkeye from last of the Mohicans) and their extended families. The first two books were very good but in "Lake in the Clouds" the characters are so well developed you begin to feel that they must be real!
Lastly I would like to suggest that you resist the urge to read this book too quickly as you will miss it when you finally finish it. Happy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great story but such a chore to read, 10 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Lake in the Clouds (Paperback)
For me, Sara Donati is a perfect example of an author who comes up with a good idea for a book, researches thoroughly and writes well, but the end result is just dull stodge. It demonstrates that, however hard you work, there really is something called talent that you've either got or you haven't. I can't really explain it but I can recognise it - and this book doesn't have it.
It's a worthy idea for a series. Both the setting and the themes (backwoods America in the early years of independence, with white settlers, black slaves and native Americans struggling to co-exist) are interesting and important, but the characters just never came alive for me. When they speak, they all sound the same. The children are just miniature adults, the native Americans are interchangeable (and confusing, as they all seem to have more than one name). She describes strong emotions but none of the relationships really ring true, and so it's hard to care. Despite her extraordinary story the heroine, Hannah, is just plain dull.
I can't be the only one who came to this series after reading Diana Gabaldon, a hard act to follow (if you like this sort of thing), so perhaps that clouded my judgement. On paper the setting (from Voyager (Outlander 3) onwards) is very similar, but there the comparison ends. Sara Donati obviously wanted to create a much more traditional and serious type of historical novel, and in this she's succeeded - there's no fun or humour in this book at all!
Diana Gabaldon, though her books are equally well researched and seriously intended, opted for romance and adventure with a dash of the supernatural, but mixed with very believable scenes of everyday family life and relationships. Despite their soapy faults, her books are more successful because she has a great gift for creating vivid and realistic characters that you can see and hear, and you live the story through them. Donati just describes things.
It's probably a bit harsh to only give this book two stars, but I found it really hard going. I'm disappointed, as Ms Gabaldon has rather lost her way in her most recent books and I would have loved to discover a new series, but for me this definitely isn't it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lake in the Clouds (Paperback)
really enjoyed this book,started off with "into the wilderness" and enjoyed it very much, was nearly put off reading the second the book (Dawn on a distant shore) in the series by a poor review but got it anyway and thoroughly enjoyed it so I have carried on folling the Bonnar family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So enjoyable, 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lake in the Clouds (Hardcover)
Do encourage others to read this remarkable story, it is an amazing story of enduring courage and do hope there is another one to find out what happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lake in the Clouds. Excellent condition., 8 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased 3 of Sara Donati's Wilderness series at the same time and am so pleased with them all, the condition is excellent for all 3 books. Also it is lovely to be able to read them one after the other. no having to wait for the next one to come along, tho' I have since ordered the 5th book in the series, and this has arrived, so can keep at it for a while longer.. many thanks amazon for dealing with the 2nd hand books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars historical fiction-great characters, great story, 30 Nov 2010
By 
Grammy J (Shingle Springs, Ca USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
of the wilderness series, this is my favorite. I like her writing style, story-telling, and character development. It is reminiscent of Diana Gabaldon's outlander series, only in 1 time/era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lake in the Cloud, 15 Oct 2010
I have so enjoyed all of the Sara Donati books in this series. I am about to start the last one The endless forrest.
I feel that I have been there done that and experienced all of the adventures this family have endured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lake in the Clouds
Lake in the Clouds by Sara Donati (Hardcover - July 2002)
Used & New from: 3.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews