Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better the demon you know..., 25 Mar 2010
This review is from: Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
Welcome to the world of Kara Gillian, a police woman with a gift... and a lot of problems. Not only does she have the power of othersight to see what most people can't even imagine -- she's found herself intertwined with a demonic Lord. The fact is, with two troublesome cases on her plate and a certain someone getting under her skin, Kara needs the help of Lord Rhyzkahl more than he needs her: because the two victims of her new found cases haven't just been murdered. Something has eaten their souls. Kara realises that she's once again landed cases with roots in the arcane. And as the killings continue, Kara knows she's running out of time...

This was an excellent sequel. I thoroughly enjoyed Mark of the Demon and was impressed with its structure and characters. Blood of the Demon builds on the great work of its predecessor delivering a fast paced police procedural intertwined with the shadowy world of the demons and their Lord and Master, Rhyzkahl. As far as the story goes, I did get a little confused once or twice trying to keep track of who everyone was and how they related to one another. I got there in the end! It's probably not wise to put this book down for too long heh!

This book felt more like a bridge to set up a lot of the future arcs of the series. There were many things hinted at and brought up that didn't get pulled up again. I think the payoff in this series will be these longer arcs -- notably the question of Ryan.

The characters and the demonic stuff is what interests me the most in this series. Ryan Kristoff is the handsome, green-eyed snarky FBI agent friend... but Kara can't help wanting more from him than just friendship. She has a pretty big crush on him and spends a lot of the book trying to work out what he feels in return, getting herself into quite a state at some points too! I liked this because it felt realistic. Too often in these novels two hot people very conveniently fancy one another and quickly jump into bed with no issues (or negative consequences) whereas in real life, it's often messy and complicated with multiple wires crossed and lots of 'do they feel the same way?'. I do adore Ryan. He's a well rounded character with flaws and complexities, plus a very distinctive voice. And thankfully, he's not pigeon-holed into being 'the nice guy'. He's kind and friendly but he has a darker side; he can be serious, distant, even cold and is prone to getting angry and jealous. I appreciate this three dimensional approach -- it's way too easy to leave the nicer characters as just 'nice' as if that's all they are. I always appreciated that about Sam in the Sookie Stackhouse books too (another nice guy character who is more than just 'nice'!) Kudos to Rowland on that! In fact, one of my favourite scenes is when Ryan finds out something Kara has kept hidden from him. His reaction is rather intense and it made for captivating reading.

So yes, Ryan is definitely my favourite character and I'm really rooting for him -- this novel raises some questions about his past, the mystery that surrounds him and who he is. I was literally on the edge of my seat for the hints given! The mini triangle between Ryan, Kara and Rhyzkahl is interesting and complex rather than vapid and annoying. There's several layers slowly being peeled back rather than rushed and exposed right away. The relationship between these characters sees some advancement here and there's far more than just romantic tension: the undercurrent between them obviously reaches far deeper than that. The fruit of these developments are going to be great.

Kara too is more self assured and determined than we saw her at the start of Mark of the Demon. The consequences of the first book are also dealt with as well. In fact, I was kind of surprised not to see her 'death' glossed over by the people around her which was a pleasant surprise. A few other plotlines are also dealt with and advanced, for instance, we meet more of the demonkind. Always fun!

Overall, an excellent addition to the Kara Gillian series. I'm looking forward to the next book: Secrets of the Demon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demons and Crime scenes, brilliant, 15 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
The biggest advantage of these books by Diana Rowland has to be her experience in the field she is writing about. That makes the books so much more fluid and beleivable.
This book moves along the action in Kara Gillians world. Dealing with the aftermath of 'Mark of Demon' the heroine must deal with her Aunts comatose condition, and getting into her library as well as her ties to the demon Lord Rhyzkahl who wants her as his exclusive summoner. It doesn't help that she still feels passionately for him and her mixed feelings to a handsome FBI agent.
Kara must juggle her personal issues and a new case that involves people being drained of their life energy.

Diana Rowland moves on the action with many mysteries surrounding people she cares about, threats on her life and much more. It's a well written enjoyable work. The summoning isn't overly complicated or childish. If you liked the other book this one is just as good. If you are thinking of reading the book then start with Mark of the Demon. There's a third book out next so the series will be continuing.
The biggest pluses has to be the experience behind the authors history reflected in how she deals with crime scenes and police procedure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the first!, 9 Aug 2010
By 
Claire Mill "Cem" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
This second Kara Gillian book picks up about a month after the end of Mark of the Demon. Kara is back at work and back summoning, although she's having a few anxiety issues with the second. But work draws her focus, especially when a cop is found dead, apparent suicide. With his soul torn out of him. Kara is convinced that someone, or something, with access to the arcane is involved, but getting to the bottom of the case is going to be easier said than done. A second murder victim, with ties to the cop, is found soon after. Kara's gut says they're linked in more ways than one, but she's not sure she can prove it.

FBI agent Ryan Kristoff is hanging around again as well, and Kara's not too sure why. For some reason demon's seem to have an odd interest in him, but they won't say why and Ryan denies knowing why. Kara'd like to get to the bottom of it, but she's quickly learning there is a lot more to demons and the other uses of arcane energy out there than she first realised. If that wasn't enough, demon Lord Rhyzkahl wants Kara to agree to be his summoner. And she can't seem to stop dreaming about him either.

This second Kara Gillian book was even better than the first. Having got to know the characters some in the first book we now get to know them better. But I'm still wondering just what Ryan is, and what he knows because I'm convinced there is far more too him than we're currently seeing. But trying to figure it out is all part of the fun, even if it gets a little frustrating at times. Kara's struggling in this book, not just with her cases and some of the cops she works with, but with the knowledge she's discovering. And she's struggling on a personal level, with her aunt still unconscious, her essence missing, and no idea how to help her. I really felt for Kara as she attempted to figure out how to help her aunt, and what she faced dealing with some of the issues her aunt being in that state meant.

Like the first book, I couldn't figure the cases out. So many twists and turns and actually had almost too much trouble keeping names straight through it. But I didn't care. It was just too good for me to mind that tiny thing. I knew who they were talking about most the time, and really enjoyed trying to keep up with the way Kara's mind works, fitting things together and figuring out what might have happened. Once again I didn't see the end coming at all, and there were some smaller surprises as well which I really liked. Kara is naturally suspicious and it gets her in trouble more than once, but I couldn't blame her for reacting the way she does. Kara is pretty wound up through this whole book for one reason or another and it gets to her. She's human and she shows it, and I love it. I like seeing her loose her temper when things just go too far, and she may know she should keep her mouth shut but she doesn't. And I love seeing her break down a little dealing with some of the pain she is covered in. She's such a realistic character and I love reading about her, getting to know her better.

I think this book moves a little faster than the first one, with more different threads to tangle together than Mark of the Demon as well. But it works. It's still tightly plotted with plenty of action and paranormal alongside the more standard police work and autopsies. It all comes together in an intense ending that I loved and left me wanting more. It's not a cliff hanger at all, it wraps up the main plots just fine while leaving on going threads open for the next books. But it still left me hungry for more and if book 3 had been out already, I'd have torn straight in to it. As it is, I've got to wait til Jan 4th 2011 for it and it feels like a really long wait. Enjoyed it even more than the first book, which I really did love, and I'm very excited for more in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent mix of demons and detective story thoroughly enjoyable . Can't wait for the next one I hope it's as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book! Am looking forward to the rest of what appears to be a great series! Well done Miss Rowland!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for another in this series!, 5 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved the first book in this series (Mark of the Demon) and would recommend readers to read that first, as this book will be very slightly less pleasurable to read if you don't appreciate the allusions to the first book. Having said that, this one would work as a stand alone if you can't get hold of a copy of Mark of the Demon.

I loved Kara's developing relationship with Ryan, and indeed with the demon lord, Rhyzkahl. The plot is well crafted, with lots of twists and turns and a minor sub-plot regarding Kara's Aunt, and the tying up is completely credible if you're reading paranormal/arcane fiction!

If you like first person novels - my personal favourite choice - and a writer who is excellent at her craft, e.g., English usage, this will be right up your street. Also, it's not full of "erotica" or soft porn if you prefer the term, which a large number of books in the paranormal genre seem to be and which makes me flip pages fast to get back to the actual story. There is a sex scene, but it's not overly graphic and it's not just thrown in as a sop to the editor ;-)

I highly recommend this book and this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumping good read, 19 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian, Book 2) (Mass Market Paperback)
Will I had my doubts about the first book. Initially. When I read the sex scene I felt...geez, another one of THOSE books? If I want to read romance/sex, I will buy a book in that genre. I want fantasy. But surprisingly the book picked up and really did satsify. So much so I bought the next one. I'm half way through this book so possibly its a little premature to post this review. However, I read the first half in a few hours - that's how much I'm enjoying it! I hope the rest of it is as good, but going on the ending of the first book, I do have high hopes. Will wait eagerly for the next installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian, Book 2)
Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian, Book 2) by Diana Rowland (Mass Market Paperback - 23 Feb 2010)
4.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews