Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second in series
Morgan Kingsley is an exorcist with a rather unusual attribute - she's the host of the king of the demons, Lugh. In Jenna Black's world demons are beings who can live inside a human and can take over their body, giving them extra strength and the ability to heal themselves from most injuries. There are many laws about demons and humans and Morgan's job is to exorcise...
Published on 27 July 2008 by Helen Hancox

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Family Way
Where the first book in this series, The Devil Inside, fizzed and sparkled with its fast-paced introduction to Morgan Kingsley, exorcist, this second instalment came across as rather flat. The action doesn't really kick in until about a third of the way into the novel. And Morgan's tough-girl exterior is well and truly punctured as she is frequently close to, if not...
Published on 17 Aug 2008 by Foggy Tewsday


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second in series, 27 July 2008
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Devil You Know, the (Mass Market Paperback)
Morgan Kingsley is an exorcist with a rather unusual attribute - she's the host of the king of the demons, Lugh. In Jenna Black's world demons are beings who can live inside a human and can take over their body, giving them extra strength and the ability to heal themselves from most injuries. There are many laws about demons and humans and Morgan's job is to exorcise illegal demons. However since she found out that she is hosting Lugh her life has become more and more complex. Lugh isn't able to take over her actions unless she's asleep or in a very specific time of stress. In the previous book in the series, The Devil Inside, Morgan found herself working with demon Adam, his lover Dominic and with Lugh to try to protect Lugh. In this story her brother Andrew, now in a coma after his demon Raphael left him, wakes up and tells Morgan that he hated Raphael. Morgan also discovers that a demon known as Der Jäger has been put on the trail of Lugh and is no doubt after her. She teams up with Adam to try to find out what's going on in the battle between Lugh and his brother Dougal to be king, as well as trying to take care of Andrew and also worrying about her former boyfriend Brian. When Morgan discovers that some events in her history may have a bearing on why she is able to host Lugh she has to try to unravel what's been going on for over twenty years with Raphael, Dougal and Lugh and at the same time try to keep those she loves safe.

I very much enjoyed this follow up book and found that the story was progressing well, although the interactions between Morgan and Lugh are fairly sparse overall. Morgan's hot-tempered and feisty nature was well written and her moral dilemmas throughout were interesting. I liked the way in which Morgan's difficult relationship with Adam White is changing as she learns more about the demon world and about the good and evil within it. This book was definitely a continuation of the previous story and it might be a little difficult for newcomers to the series to follow everything in this book but overall it was an excellent continuation of the story, although without overall completion of the plot.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book Helen Hancox 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Family Way, 17 Aug 2008
By 
Foggy Tewsday - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Devil You Know, the (Mass Market Paperback)
Where the first book in this series, The Devil Inside, fizzed and sparkled with its fast-paced introduction to Morgan Kingsley, exorcist, this second instalment came across as rather flat. The action doesn't really kick in until about a third of the way into the novel. And Morgan's tough-girl exterior is well and truly punctured as she is frequently close to, if not actually reduced to, blubbing. Sometimes because of her tiresome relationship with her ex-boyfriend, and sometimes because of her family's treatment of her. At the heart of this story is Morgan's strained relationship with her family and the secret that her parents have kept hidden.

The trouble I had with this novel is that I just didn't find it compelling. To be completely honest, I sometimes found it a bit of a chore to read. Morgan's introspection became quite grating after a while and at times, some parts of the story felt formulaic. For example, I'm not giving away much when I tell you that Morgan and her ex have a nice little roll and tumble at one point in this story. No problem with that, but it just seemed contrived as if the author felt she had to include it even though the event itself didn't add anything to the story.

Where Jenna Black has succeeded is with the underlining premise of demons inhabiting willing human hosts. Those being hosted by the unwilling are liable to be exorcised by Morgan or one of her colleagues. The irony is that Morgan is hosting, somewhat unwillingly, Lugh, the King of the Demon Realm. She is able to keep him suppressed until she is asleep when he is then able to communicate with her. Luckily for Morgan, he appears to her in various states of hotness, notably inducing in her a liking for seeing him in s & m fetish-wear. Her ability to keep her possession concealed works in his favour, too: there are those who seek to destroy him, but if they don't know where to look . . .

Being possessed by a demon enables the human host to heal quickly from injuries. This instalment also introduces the concept of a demon being able, with skin-to-skin contact, to transfer from one human to another. One interesting point of morality raised in this novel is that a demon residing in a policeman could transfer to a suspect in order to find out whether or not the suspect is telling the truth.

Although I didn't enjoy this novel as much as its predecessor, there is enough about the environment that Morgan inhabits to keep me interested enough to buy the third novel in this series, The Devil's Due when it is available.

For those new to the fascinating world that Jenna Black has created in this series, I would advise you to start with the first novel before reading this one as there are quite a few references made to happenings in `The Devil Inside'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Morgan Kingsley Book 2, 15 Mar 2010
By 
Sarah (Feeling Fictional) (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Devil You Know (Paperback)
This is the second book in the Morgan Kingsley series so there may be spoilers for the first book included in this review. If you are new to the series then I recommend you check out the reviews for book one The Devil Inside rather than reading any further.

Morgan is still trying to get used to the fact that she is now unwillingly hosting the King of Demons Lugh. Luckily Lugh isn't able to take over complete control of her - he is only able to influence her body when she is asleep and he can only communicate with her through her dreams. Considering her job as an exorcist is to remove illegal demons she isn't very happy with this development but hasn't been able to work out a way to get rid of him. If anyone discovers her predicament she is at risk of being burned alive.

Lugh's brother wants him dead so he can take over the demon kingdom and has sent a sociopathic demon called the Hunter after him. Unfortunately they know that Lugh was being hosted by Morgan so they know where to go looking. They have no way of knowing which body the Hunter is in - he has already taken several human hosts and as he can move to any human he touches the easiest way for him to get to her is through someone she knows. With her friends and family at risk Morgan is forced to turn to demon Adam and his lover Dominic for help. She also needs to find out more about the truth of her birth and events that happened during her childhood.

I enjoyed the first book in the series but was a little put off by some of the S&M scenes that were included. I'm pleased to be able to say that this wasn't a problem with book 2 & I enjoyed it more because of that. There was less action in this book but there was still plenty of mystery and I enjoyed the developing relationship between Morgan and Lugh. Some of the twists were completely unexpected and I'm interested to find out how things will continue from here so I'll definitely be checking out The Devil's Due.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Family Ties, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In this book Morgan discovers how she got possessed, by who and her family have not only been involved but also hold secrets. Turns out her father isn't her real father. Morgan also puts up a fierce fight against letting Lugh in. But her defences start to crumble.... Brian has a bigger part in this book. He gets thrown into Morgan's world when his life / body becomes in danger of a new dangerous demon possessing it. This new demon has risen to kill Lugh. He'll possess anyone who's close to Morgan. Andrew also becomes a target and his demon who's still alive and kicking, pulls strings behind the scenes. Which causes a lot of trouble. Dominic gets shot and we get to meet Adam's host - both the host and the demon are named Adam.

The sexual parts calm down in this book. You can see a big difference compared to the first book which started from the very first chapter and onwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super, 25 May 2013
This review is from: The Devil You Know (Paperback)
A great read keeps you glued from front to back. Once you start reading you will want to read the next book. Great if you like supernatural books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I'm losing interest in this series, 24 May 2011
By 
The Demon Librarian (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Devil You Know (Paperback)
Not quite as exiting as the first one, for me. The ending was somewhat of an anti-climax. I was hoping for more action. I suppose with the demons being inhumanly strong, and able to transfer from skin-to-skin contact, it makes it rather impossible for the author to give us any exciting battle/fight scenes, but it needs something to liven it up. Can't we have a car chase scene or something? Anything to get your pulse going would be good. And maybe an injection of humour or just some lightness somewhere instead of the constant tension and anxiety. It's all about balance, right? I'm finding this series good, but slightly....dull?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Catch a Ride with an Exorcist and a Demon Passenger as They Try to Curb a Nasty Demon War..., 19 Feb 2010
This review is from: The Devil You Know (Paperback)
There are a lot of paranormal authors out there in literary land who have delved into the demon plain. In the demon realm we do have a few heavy hitters: Lilith Saintcrow (one of my favs), Kim Harrison (of course), Keri Author, Rachel Caine, naughty Emma Holly (smoldering) and a spattering of more, but Jenna Black clearly has a distinctiveness of her own.

It's refreshing! I love championing the veritable bad boy/and or girl, and Black's Morgan Kingsley series is a virtual horn of plenty. It's got a plausible back-story of demon lore with a hierarchical pantheon, a potential coup in Hell, demons fighting each other on the Mortal Plain, professional exorcists like Morgan running the bad guys out of our realm, law enforcement officers possessed by lesser flight demons, and last but not least, Black's reality envisions middle-American WalMart "walk-abouts" embracing demon possession as a hip and holy lifestyle. Throw in a dash of S&M, and this series is cookin'.

Morgan is the type of exorcist heroine that readers (especially female) gravitate towards: self-powerful, independent, sexually potent and aware, but just as willing to kick you on your butt with a pair of her size nine motorcycle boots.

For fans, this book is a natural progression from The Devil Inside. Morgan starts to acquaint herself with her unlikely demon passenger, and starts molding a bearable lifestyle with him. But she still needs to unravel the mystery of not only how to get him OUT but how to help him prevent a full-scale war in Hell-a war that might just spill over into the Mortal Plain. What further complicates things is that Morgan is surrounded by frenemies, and a diabolical secret surfaces that her parents have been hiding from her...Revelations will be had.

After reading the Devil You Know TWICE I sat back with a smug smile. I am hoping Black won't paint herself into a corner with Lugh, because fans will be panting for more after this second book. How will Lugh and Morgan consummate their relationship? When are we going to see what he really looks like? How will Black keep the tension up if Lugh slips his noose? It's tricky-tricky. What would be devilishly naughty is if Lugh were to "borrow" Adam's body for a bit of extracurricular activities with Morgan. I'm snickering just thinking about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Devil You Know, 4 Mar 2009
By 
M. A. Hunter "Mark H" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Devil You Know (Paperback)
A great read and a great series... the others are now on order.

What I like about it is the story is it is unusual and you can enjoy it as a simple, entertaining read.

However if you are one of those people who like analyse the story and get into the sub cultures, the 'deep' reason behind the characters, plot and such, it should keep you going too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devil You Know, the
Devil You Know, the by Jenna Black (Mass Market Paperback - 29 July 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews