Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars3
3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£4.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 September 2011
This is number six in Greg Rucka's series of thrillers about bodyguard Atticus Kodiak.

The action starts pretty much the instant the previous novel, Critical Space finishes. Whereas Critical Space was at times a little short on action, this one moves at a brisk pace with plenty of action. Kodiak has now transitioned from bodyguard to more of an all purpose action hero, looking for a plot. The previous cast of friends and associates are less evident, which feels out of character for Kodiak, but does make sense considering the scrape that he has got himself into.

Some reviewers prefer the early Kodiak novels, but Rucka has never stuck to any particular formula with these books, so it was inevitable that they would evolve over time. Now that the transition has been made to a more international sort of thriller, the book works well and feels convincing. Although Rucka writes wells, and Kodiak is good company, the books can drag a little where there is a lack of any jeopardy. No problem with that here. In fact some of the best sequences in the whole series are in this book.

Where I would be critical is that the book is perhaps a little too clever for its own good, by the end I was still a bit confused as to why exactly the villain had targeted Kodiak in the first place. Also worth noting that the book is a fair bit shorter than previous ones, the page count is high, but the font size has gone up a notch. I have been reading the books in sequence, but I guess that you could pick this book up without reading the predecessors and still enjoy it.

If you enjoy well written thrillers, with a slight left of centre politics, some wit, some melancholy and decent characters, then you should enjoy this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 October 2009
This was a really entertaining thriller. fast paced, exciting, intelligent. I have read all of Rucka's work but his Atticus Kodiak novels are my favourite. This is item 6 in that series. Fans of Lee Child, Robert Crais etc will enjoy this series. If you haven't read any, start at the beginning with (in order)
keeper
Finder
Smoker
Shooting at Midnight
Critical Space and then this one, Patriot Acts.

All feature professional bodyguard and security expert Atticus kodiak. Think Jack Reacher, lighter of build, heavier of brain and you'll be close. All are fast moving, with reoccuring characters and intersecting story arcs and all feature lots of action. What i love about these is the planning and intricate set up that goes into the client protection and bad guy entrapment. totally absorbing. In the last 2 books, Kodiak has taken a serious change in his life and because of associations he has made, is now considered a bad guy by the US government. This novel focusses on his attempts to clear his name, win back his freedom and avenge the death of his best friend. Of course, when your adversary is a White House official, things get a little complex....

read it and enjoy the thrill!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2008
If it ever gets made into a movie it will feature Segal and Madonna as the lead actors. Which is a shame, because i liked Ruckas earlier books and his comics with DC were brilliant.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.