Customer Reviews


7 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A layered plot and deep passions, 8 Jun. 2005
This review is from: The Seducer, the (Get Connected Romances) (Mass Market Paperback)
A layered plot that engrosses the reader from beginning to end - Diane knows Daniel as her aloof and distanced guardian. Daniel does his duty to Diane with a view to using her to right the wrongs done to his family. She plays a star role in the dark plot that he is hatching. This is until she comes to live in his house. Their infinite attraction to each other brooks no denial and once passion breaches the boundaries carefully set to keep love at bay, both of them have to re-evaluate. Daniel is a forceful character with dark depths that only Diane can reach. Diane, though young, has vitality and sensuous passion that finds the 'legendary seducer' irresistible. Together they battle to anchor their all consuming love, while fighting to stay alive when Daniel's dark plot threatens to overwhelm them. A rich and unforgettable novel. Madeline Hunter is truly an author worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Story, Would Recommend, 21 Oct. 2011
Eighteen year old Diane Albret is in trouble at her school for possessing a book with naughty images in. Nobody believes her when she says the book isn't hers, but it belongs to Madame Oiseau, one of the teachers. Her mysterious guardian who put her in the school arrives and witnesses her punishment. Daniel St John has long believed her to be younger than her years, but when he realises her true age, decides to take her from the school. One of the cruel teachers tells Diane before she leaves that Daniel will only be wanting one thing with her. Uncertain, she travells with Daniel to Paris, and meets his disabled older sister, Jeanette, who she instantly likes. At first, Diane is amazed at the new gowns and new luxurious accommodation Daniel has given her, which is several steps up from her miserable life at school.

Daniel St John isn't being generous for nothing. Despite his new attraction to Diane, he's using her as an unknowing pawn in his revenge against the gentleman responsible for his sister's condition. As time goes on, their relationship develops, but still Diane is uncertain of where she stands with him. When his enemy takes a shine to Diane, he realises he cannot risk losing her and vows to make her his. But then Diane learns the truth, and our heroine is hurt. Can Daniel prove to Diane he does love her?

Overall, the book is pretty good. It's the first book I've read by this author and won't be the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darkly Sensual - Somewhat Depressing, Yet Fascinating Story, 30 Dec. 2014
By 
Judge Tabor "(JMM)" (California) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Mostly I'm very careful about what types of books I read because my soul is very susceptible to being lifted upward or downward depending on the theme and happenings of the stories.

This is the only book I've read by Madeline Hunter and "Yes, she can write very well." However, I found this book skirting the darkness a bit too much for my comfort and definitely there's some eroticism that can stir the senses in a way that some readers will perhaps find unsettling and not to their taste.

Diane Albret has been shut away in a school for girls in France for so long, she doesn't even remember much about her origins with the exception of some faint memories that sometimes skim through her mind. Her guardian - the Devil Man - shows up once each year at the school and asks her the same four questions:

Are you being treated well? Do you have any complaints? Are you learning your school lessons? How old are you now?

But now, he's been summoned when she's all grown up and after realizing how old she is, he decides to take her to his home with a promise he will help her find a position as a governess. But... it's soon apparent he has plans for her that do not include accommodating her desires to learn about her origins. It seems neither Diane nor the reader will be fully aware of how convoluted those plans will turn out to be. The Devil Man, Daniel St. John, has some deep burning issues inside his soul and they will not be denied.

We, the reader, soon realize his ambitions are wound up in some type of revenge and even as we learn who some of his intended victims are, we are also engaged in the war against the villains. But, Diane remains innocent as to his intentions even as she falls madly in love/lust with him. I liked the character of Diane even though I felt sorrow for her lonely childhood and the long years she struggled without anyone to show her real love.

In the end, Ms. Hunter has a gift of bringing her story together with enough romance, mystery, interesting minor characters and a totally sexy main guy. I won't give the book five stars because I found it simply too dark in some areas for my taste. But I will say that how the story played out in eventually resolving Daniel's and Diane's love for one another was five stars all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Started strongly but is flawed, 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Seducer started strongly with a compelling dark and dangerous hero putting in an appearance at a school for young ladies. The opening chapter with his ward's bare backside about to be caned certainly got my interest. The story progresses with hero, Daniel removing his ward, Diane from the school and taking her home with him. Little known to Diane, her rescuer has an ulterior motive. He wants to groom her to provide the perfect bait for a honey trap involved his arch enemy. However, Daniel's plans backfire badly when he becomes smitten with Diane, who then discovers his manipulation and turns against him.
This book started strongly but the early promise flagged midway. Ultimately, the ending was convoluted and not totally satisfying. Also, part of the plot relied on the arrival of a long lost father, who happened to reappear after all these years - just when his daughter's life was in danger. I debated between 3 and 4 stars, but the book did hold my attention and overlooking the 'god in the machine' moments, I enjoyed it - so 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seductive, 18 Feb. 2004
By 
Mojca Zizmond (Slovenia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Seducer, the (Get Connected Romances) (Mass Market Paperback)
Prepare to be seduced by Daniel St. John. Tall, dark and handsome,... every woman's deisre. Be charmed by Diane Albret, an orfan with no memories of her past, but a good heart and a smart head on her shoulders... every woman's perfect best friend.
Their's is a story of hurt, sorrow, guilt, intrigue... and ultimately love.
Enjoy it, as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Up to her usual standard, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed The Seducer. Daniel is satisfactorily compelling as the hero but Diane seemed a little too mature for a twenty-year-old girl who'd been shut in a French convent school for a decade or more. The background story carries the book along quite nicely and some of the subsidiary characters showed promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner!, 25 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Seducer, the (Get Connected Romances) (Mass Market Paperback)
I read the Sinner first from this series and was enthralled with it so promptly ordered the other four books. This is the first in the series and as good as i'd hoped. Madeline Hunter has a gift for entrancing a reader. I loved this story and as I begin reading the next one in line, the Saint, I can't help keeping a beady eye out for Diane and Daniel simply because their story has stayed with me, just as Dante and Fleur's did from the Sinner.

It matters not what order these books are read in as they stand up so well on their own but in linking the characters, Ms Hunter has created a another world to disappear into again and again. I simply want to pick up the book and start again the minute it's over. It's a rare gift to be able to absorb a reader to the point that they long to pick up the book and pick up where they left off. Sigh. So lovely!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Seducer, the (Get Connected Romances)
The Seducer, the (Get Connected Romances) by Madeline Hunter (Mass Market Paperback - 30 Sept. 2003)
£5.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews