Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Josie Litton novel/s has it all - please read her!
'Dream of Me' and 'Believe in Me' are the best romance novels I've read for years and I've read a lot. Her characters are strong, her style is terrific and her stories seem to engage every woman's fantasies.
'Dream of Me' sets the pace - never boring - with a hero in Wolf Hakonson to die for. Strong in body and mind - a proud Viking Lord who becomes passionately...
Published on 29 Dec 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring book and writing style is lazy
This is an awful book and I'm very surprised over the many 5* reviews on here and amazon.com.

Compared to other medieval's and/or Viking historical romances I have read, this one seems a weak imitation. To begin, the writing style is lazy. I don't expect thee, thou and mayhap every sentence but when the hero speaks like this in a medieval: "Oh, you're not ugly...
Published on 29 Mar 2010 by shelf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Josie Litton novel/s has it all - please read her!, 29 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dream of Me/Believe in Me (Mass Market Paperback)
'Dream of Me' and 'Believe in Me' are the best romance novels I've read for years and I've read a lot. Her characters are strong, her style is terrific and her stories seem to engage every woman's fantasies.
'Dream of Me' sets the pace - never boring - with a hero in Wolf Hakonson to die for. Strong in body and mind - a proud Viking Lord who becomes passionately enamoured of his stolen wife Cymbra - a Saxon beauty of strength and courage greatly admired by her Lord. She is taken from her homeland to forge an alliance between Viking and Saxon. Their relationship is never boring and predictable like so many stale romances nowadays.
The second book 'Believe in Me' is a follow-on only this time its the powerful 'Hawk' who is the chief protagonist - a strong and powerful Saxon lord and Cymbras brother - he must marry a Norse bride to strengthen the alliance - for which he has little taste - until he meets the lovely fey Lady Kystra - I will leave you to buy it and read it. Dont miss it. I've already ordered by copy of the next in the trilogy 'Come Back to Me' - the story of Dragon - the handsome and fearless brother of Wolf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another well-written entertaining Viking trilogy, 23 Aug 2002
This review is from: Dream of Me/Believe in Me (Mass Market Paperback)
"Dream of Me/Believe in Me" are the first two novels in Josie Litton's Viking trilogy.The story is very interesting and exciting especially for those readers who are interested in history especially the Viking era. The author has done a good research of the time period.The setting seems realistic and reading the books you can become part of them. The basic story in the whole trilogy is about peace and keeping the peace in those turbulent times in history what was nearly impossible.
DREAM OF ME is the first novel in the trilogy and it is and excellent start what makes you read on and on and wishing for it to never end. There are many interesting characters in the novel and most of them appear in the other two books as well. The main male hero is a powerful Norse Viking jarl Wolf Hakonson who is strong, clever, handsome and instead of battles he is seeking peace.The female character is Lady Cymbra of Hawkforte who is a beautiful brave Saxon lady who is known as the most beautiful woman in all Christendom.She is a healer and has a special gift which she keeps secret. Wolf wants peace for his Norse people and he tries to achive it with an alliance with the Saxons.
Hawk of Hawkforte, Cymbra's powerful Saxon brother shares his
opinion and they decide to marry between the two nations to keep the Danes away. There are misunderstandings, fights, treachery and much action in the book and you never feel bored while reading it. Cymbra and Wolf are a well-matched pair and it is very interesting to follow the way they start to fall in love and trust each other.I loved reading about everyday life in the Norse settlement. It is so precise and detailed that you feel living there among those people and sharing their everyday routines.
BELIEVE IN ME is the second book in the trilogy and I found it just as good as the first one. The story continues with Hawk of Hawkforte's expected marriage to Lady Krysta of Vestfold, a Norse lady who also has a special secret and who arrives unexpectedly and not in the proper way.Hawk is a battle-hardened warrior as his brother-in-law the Norse Wolf. He built up Hawkforte from its ashes after the Danes left and he wants to keep peace for his people. He thinks he sacrifices himself for this marriage but he falls in love with Krysta and they both find happiness. Wolf and Cymbra appear in this book too and some other familiar characters. The author writes about Saxon village life as well as about the Norse village. You can take part in a Saxon harvest and imagine yourself in their lives.
This second part holds lots of action, fights, love and you turn the pages very fast. King Alfred of Wessex appears in the book too and the writer gives you an intersting glimpse into his court and his noble thinking.
DREAM OF ME/BELIEVE IN ME come together in one book and it makes
it easier for the reader to continue this wonderful Viking-Saxon story.I love reading historical romances from the Dark Ages of Britain especially those where Vikings are involved. The historical background is very good and the romance genre is satisfied. I recommend this trilogy to every fan of historical romance and look out for the last book called "Come Back to Me"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars will read over and over, beautiful love stories, 22 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dream of Me/Believe in Me (Mass Market Paperback)
the previous reviews said it all I have nothing to add except if you like love stories of the vikings you must read these also the third book which follows on is called "come back to me", could not put them down, as the previous reviewer says, READ THEM, another tip is I bought mine off of amazons marketplace from the U.S.A. for pennies plus the postage, I was surprised how cheap and easy it was and the U.S. sellers try to get them to you as soon as possible, just click on from these sellers and see what you can save.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring book and writing style is lazy, 29 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Dream of Me/Believe in Me (Mass Market Paperback)
This is an awful book and I'm very surprised over the many 5* reviews on here and amazon.com.

Compared to other medieval's and/or Viking historical romances I have read, this one seems a weak imitation. To begin, the writing style is lazy. I don't expect thee, thou and mayhap every sentence but when the hero speaks like this in a medieval: "Oh, you're not ugly or anything,"
You do begin to wonder why this author bothered to write a historical without making an effort.
Aside from that flaw, the chemistry between the hero and heroine is bland, as is the story line. Some historicals are heavy on describing battles or politics in detail (which I don't care for) whilst others pay great attention to minor every day things (like Wolf and the Dove by KEW). In either instance, the storyline still manages to deliver something. Dream of Me gives virtually nothing.

I realise romances are predictable most of the time but this took it to a whole new level. It wasn't a satisfying read and the characters were all but modern save for the mention of a few generic "historical" things. Waste of time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 8 Feb 2011
By 
L. Sims "Linda" (The south) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dream of Me/Believe in Me (Mass Market Paperback)
Josie Litton is described by the publisher on the front of this book as being a great new author! But that is not true Josie Litton is just the pen name of Maura Seger who writes under at least seven other names, and has been writing and publishing her books since the early 80's. So reading this book with that knowledge, that this is from an experienced writer and not a rookie,for me puts a whole new perspective on the mostly glowing 5 star reviews. Like the one star review writer I did notice the use of very modern language. My complaint about this book is that the supposed exciting situations that occured in the book were very quickly dealt with and without too much detail that was a shame for a lot of Wolfs and Cymbra's story is dealing with everyday living which is fine but there was too much of that and not enough made of the other things which would have made this a better read.I have yet to read the second story of this double novel, but wanted to give my view on the first.
I have now read the second novel in this double issue, it is an okay read nothing special, it was certainly the weaker of the two stories in my opinion.the story revolves around Lord Hawk and His bethrothed Lady Krysta.Hawk is described as being very tall muscular with chestnut hair and blue eyes Krysta is fair with freckles ,she could barely mention either character without reminding us of their physical attributes it was repetative.What with the constant descriptions of the sea the sky the trees,this book plodded along, anything that was going to happen plotwise was so clearly signposted you could not fail to miss it,there were no twists or surprises in the book. The use of modern language, was a bit grating I am sure a saxon lord would not have used the word slick! In other parts of the book the author would write in the style you might expect for a book set in this time in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!, 3 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dream of Me/Believe in Me (Mass Market Paperback)
I completely disagree with the one damning review here and wholeheartedly concur with the others! These were just great reads, both books. I found both stories absorbing, enchanting and thoroughly romantic, as a good viking novel should be.

The language was hardly distracting in terms of not being strictly 'medieval' as the negative reviewer commented. If I wished to read authentic medieval language then I certainly wouldn't be venturing into the realms of romantic 'pulp' historical fiction in the first place, and certainly not in the viking genre, which is on the cusp of the middle ages anyway so I think it most unfair to judge the writing based on this!

A majority of the books in this genre are written by American novelists and are fairly 'chock a block' with odd turns of phrase (to a non-American), such as 'gotten' instead of plain 'got', 'fit' instead of 'fitted' or 'spit' instead of 'spat' e.t.c., to name just a few, not to mention 'fall' instead of 'autumn' but I hardly think this detracts from a good story regardless! If a story is cr*p then that's simply what it is no matter how well it's written and similarly if it's engaging then even the worst writing, grammar or phrasing cannot hide this.

So, what we have here therefore is a fabulous debut in "Dream of Me" followed up with an equally engaging sequel in "Believe in Me". Ms Litton has created lovely strong heroes with equally lovely strong counterparts and a landscape and supporting characters which enhance a wonderfully compelling pair of tales. The third part "Come Back to Me" completes the trilogy admirably.

I found these books charming, moving, exciting and absorbing, packed with amusing dialogue and lovely interplay between the leading characters. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dream of Me/Believe in Me
Dream of Me/Believe in Me by Josie Litton (Mass Market Paperback - Oct 2001)
4.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews