Customer Reviews


198 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zahn presents the climax of Bantam's run of Star Wars novels
THE STORY:
Fifteen years after 'Return of the Jedi', the New Republic is troubled both by an impending civil war above Bothawui and the apparent return of Grand Admiral Thrawn. Elsewhere, Luke tracks Mara Jade to the uncharted world of Nirauan and together they make a startling discovery about the mysterious Hand of Thrawn.
WHAT'S GOOD:
Zahn uses this book...
Published on 23 Nov 2004 by Ian Tapley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but for damage.
The product was well priced, and delivered promptly. However, despite being advertised as new, the front cover has experienced quite significant damage; almost severed from the spine of the book entirely. Can't complain otherwise, though, and my other orders with this company have been great. Reckon this must be a one off, so don't let it discourage anyone.
Published 11 months ago by Joe Burwell


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zahn presents the climax of Bantam's run of Star Wars novels, 23 Nov 2004
By 
Ian Tapley "thefragrantwookiee" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vision of the Future: Hand of Thrawn Book 2: Vision of the Future (Star Wars: the hand of the thrawn) (Mass Market Paperback)
THE STORY:
Fifteen years after 'Return of the Jedi', the New Republic is troubled both by an impending civil war above Bothawui and the apparent return of Grand Admiral Thrawn. Elsewhere, Luke tracks Mara Jade to the uncharted world of Nirauan and together they make a startling discovery about the mysterious Hand of Thrawn.
WHAT'S GOOD:
Zahn uses this book to bring up to date all of his leading characters (I suspect he thought this was to be his last Star Wars novel), meaning we get some serious development of some familiar faces. I enjoyed the subplot involving Karrde and Shada seeking out Karrde's fearsome former employer, which leads to the revelation of the Thrawn hoax and also to a fascinating bit of back story about Yoda's adventures on Dagobah. Pellaeon (did anyone else notice that in the 'author' review that name was spelled wrong? Can you say 'impostor'?) really comes into his own as the head of a new forward-thinking Empire. Ultimately, the best reason to buy this book is the development of the relationship between Luke and Mara, which avoids being a fantasy romance and is instead a more subtle development in which they simply realise that they don't want to be apart. The Luke and Mara storyline is also packed with other treats, like a Thrawn clone, the return of Soontir Fel, the discovery of Thrawn's people - the Chiss - and Mara's Jedi Knighthood.
WHAT'S BAD:
The only thing I didn't like was the Qom Qae and the Qom Jha. Having psychic bats as main characters doesn't sit well with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Star Wars books yet, 22 April 2000
By A Customer
Im my opinion, this is one of the best Star Wars books yet, lots of interesting things happened and it was a fantastic read. It's only a shame that Zahn isn't writing anymore books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good storylines alltogether but only Luke and Mara's deserve full marks!, 30 Dec 2008
By 
Grey Lady (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vision of the Future: Hand of Thrawn Book 2: Vision of the Future (Star Wars: the hand of the thrawn) (Mass Market Paperback)
Having read the Thrawn thrilogy first (naturally), and only a few other Star Wars novels in-between including of course Spectre of the Past, in my view this book can be evaluated positively. The story lines are nice, especially bacause they focus on interesting characters. Mara Jade had been one of my favourites since reading Heir to the Empire, and so I was particularly pleased that she and Luke had one story line all to themselves. And what a one. Although admittedly the sentient "bats" were a bit ridiculous, the rest of that particular thread was absolutely great. It was exciting, and you also get some insight into both their characters. To be honest, after The Last Command, I had expected them to have come together much sooner (there's app. 10 years in-between and they are now both in their late thirties), but as the author himself stated in an interview, Mara needed to come to grips with her new position first. The best explanations always derive from an author, so I accept that! But, it does happen at last. I had to raise my eye brouws a little when the marriage question came up, but that is probably due to living in a culture where it is more common to set up a household together first and only thinking of marriage after some years of living together. Be that as it may, their coming together was logical, and furthermore was arrived at with perfect timing in the book. Great story line! A pity the Thrawn clone died, as the grand Admiral is one of my favourites as well (especially if you have read Outbound Flight, you will be interested in getting more Thrawn), especially when he learns battle tactics and stategies by studying the art of his opponents.

I liked it as well that Talon Karrde was back. This was an interesting character in Zahn's earlier Trilogy, and so he remains.

I also liked the Vengeance group, especially the interaction with their opponents. Regrettably this didn't prevent them from being succesfull.

Finally, there were some nice story lines concerning Han and Leia as well.

The negative of course was the - in my view - rather silly overall plot. I mean, people go to war for more stupid reason's than this, but it was a bit too obvious.

Therefore, not five stars but four. It still is a good read. And for fan's of Mara Jade, an abolute must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best book about Star Wars ever!, 7 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Vision of the Future: Hand of Thrawn Book 2: Vision of the Future (Star Wars: the hand of the thrawn) (Mass Market Paperback)
Finishing off the story begun in Specter of the Past would have been difficult for anyone - except, it seems, Timothy Zahn. Everything about this book oozed class. It also set the scene nicely for anything that comes after. He's now done as much as George Lucas himself in building the Star Wars myth (and, frankly, more believably than Lucas ever did).
In Grand Admiral Thrawn, Zahn has created the best character in the Star Wars universe, and it's a pity that he didn't decide to preserve the clone in the fortress. It would have been an interesting plot development if he had allowed Thrawn to be resurrected for real and to lead the New Republic and the Empire against the "horrors" in the Unknown Regions.
It is nice to see that Zahn has decided to concentrate mainly on the characters of his own creation (Thrawn, Pellaeon, Talon Karrde etc) rather than rehashing old characters as some authors could be accused of doing.
And, for those who think it could be the end of the Star Wars story, don't forget that Zahn has left the door open for new enemies of the New Republic from outside the scope of the galaxy, rather than just leaving a New Republic versus Empire scenario in place. In many ways, what the book has set up could lead to a similar scenario to The Truce at Bakura.
It's more believable and better written than anything that's been done so far, and hopefully, people can learn from Zahn's triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The End and The Beginning, 9 Jun 1999
By A Customer
VISION OF THE FUTURE is probably one of the best Star Wars books I have ever read. Timothy Zahn far surpassed his writing in the original trilogy. VISION OF THE FUTURE is a fitting book to end Bantam's line of Star Wars books and to begin the storyline of Del Rey's NEW JEDI ORDER. I've always been a Mara Jade fan, ever since I read about her in HEIR TO THE EMPIRE, and I am glad that she is now engaged to Luke. They had always been friends, though the friendship seemed to cool after Mara left the Jedi Academy. They went through so much together while they were trying to infiltrate the Hand of Thrawn that I'm not surprised their friendship blossomed into love. Zahn's introduction to the Unknown Regions prepared us for the storyline of the upcoming books and the invasion of some kind of new enemy. The subplots (Wedge and Corrran on the Bothan homeworld, Han and Lando at the Imperial base, Bastion, General Bel Iblis borrowing the Errant Venture from Booster Terrik, and the Imperial scenes with the triumvirate and Admiral Paelleon-spelling?, and others I haven't mentioned) running through the whole book may have been confusing to first-time readers, but the scene-switching is easy to get used to. After all, we see the same technique used in all four Star Wars films! If we can handle it on the movie screen, why not in a book? I hope Timothy Zahn is slated to write some books for NEW JEDI ORDER; I know he would do a great job! Also, for all Mara Jade fans who don't know, there'll be a comic book series coming out about Mara and Luke, but that's all I can say! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great finale, 24 April 1999
By A Customer
I've always been a little sceptical of reading follow ups to the Star Wars series, but Timothy Zahn probably does the best job of continuing it faithfully.
Specter of the Past promised a great deal, but I have to say that I found it a little disappointing. But I was totally hanging out for the next novel, and I have to say, Vision of the Future doesn't disappoint. Ok, a few bits were maybe a little superfluous, but apart from that it was non stop action - and me not able to put it down for two days. If only all science fiction was likte this!
Anyway, the whole gang is back - Han, Leia, Talon Karrde (the incredibly charismatic smuggler), Wedge, Luke and Mara (my favourite character), plus a few new characters. I guess for a new reader, it might seem confusing at times, especially where the story keeps skipping from one place to another, but as usual, Zahn does a great job of pulling the whole thing together. And that Luke and Mara subplot kept me turning the pages when I got a little bored - I was totally rooting for them to get together in the end. The only thing - I was kinda hoping Thrawn really wasn't dead, I thought he was the best villian ever.
But now, with the prospect of marriage for Luke and Mara, and Peace between the Empire and the New Republic, is this the end of the series? Maybe it's better to finish it on that high note.
Verdict : best book in the series, great plot, and a sequel that really delivers the goods. All you Stars Wars fans out there, you will not be disappointed. May the force be with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It was "worth reading", 2 April 1999
By A Customer
I enjoyed the latest storyline that Timothy Zahn had written, It includes a lot of interesting charaters from the Star Wars Universe, (ie Micheal Stackpoles characters from Rogue Squardron). And it ties up some loose ends from his original series Heir to the Empire. Now if you had read some of the reviews you know that Luke Skywalker proposes to Mara Jade near the final chapters of the book. Its is enjoyable to see that Luke is finally going to have the same happiness that his twin sister. Unfortunately I thought the same thing after reading "Children of the Jedi". It seems that there is something that always messes up Luke Skywalker love interest. If you have read all of the Star Wars Novels all of the potential love interest in Luke's life had fell in love with a Hapan Prince, died in a space battle, ran away because she lost her powers. Most of these happened in the sequels. I really hope that Luke does finally gets married and lives happily ever after, but until he says "I do " I'm gonna remain a skeptic. Another little thing that I found annoying about this book is that it reference several characters from the Comic book Dark Horse. Like the Reborn Emperor and Baron Fel. I did not know who these characters were and thought I missed several Star Wars novels. But overall I enjoyed the book and would recommend that it is "worth reading" I seriously hope that Zahn will continue to write more award winning Star Wars novels in the future, but I fear that all of the original Star Wars novels will be moving towards the eagerly awaiting Episode 1 that is coming out in May.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vision of the Future: Hand of Thrawn Book 2: Vision of the Future (Star Wars: the hand of the thrawn) (Mass Market Paperback)
Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vision of the Future: Hand of Thrawn Book 2: Vision of the Future (Star Wars: the hand of the thrawn) (Mass Market Paperback)
The book arrived on time, in good condition, I knew it was a used book and sometimes you are dubious about buying 2nd hand books as some people don't look after books, they highlight lines or bend corners, let children write in them etc, but nothing of the sort in this book.
Great service and one I would use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but for damage., 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vision of the Future: Hand of Thrawn Book 2: Vision of the Future (Star Wars: the hand of the thrawn) (Mass Market Paperback)
The product was well priced, and delivered promptly. However, despite being advertised as new, the front cover has experienced quite significant damage; almost severed from the spine of the book entirely. Can't complain otherwise, though, and my other orders with this company have been great. Reckon this must be a one off, so don't let it discourage anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vision of the Future: Hand of Thrawn Book 2: Vision of the Future (Star Wars: the hand of the thrawn)
4.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews