Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good!
Being a Las Vegas fanatic (go there yearly if I can) this book was a brilliant insight into the beginnings of Sin City. It starts way back when Vegas was just a dusty track in the middle of the desert, and goes on to today. It recounts the beginnings of many of the casinos, tells the inside story, how the mob ran Vegas in the 'bad' old days and gives neat little snippets...
Published on 17 Feb 2003 by Teri Verhagen

versus
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Tawdry Look at Life and Vacations in Vegas
Seldom has so much writing talent been so misdirected in a project as occurred with this book. Mr. Earley sought out every seamy angle he could about Las Vegas, past and present, and the people profiled in the book. With such a negative slant, Mr. Earley could have made a family theme park seem like Sodom and Gomorrah. He also does not understand the national evolution of...
Published on 12 May 2004 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, 17 Feb 2003
This review is from: Super Casino: Inside the "New" Las Vegas (Mass Market Paperback)
Being a Las Vegas fanatic (go there yearly if I can) this book was a brilliant insight into the beginnings of Sin City. It starts way back when Vegas was just a dusty track in the middle of the desert, and goes on to today. It recounts the beginnings of many of the casinos, tells the inside story, how the mob ran Vegas in the 'bad' old days and gives neat little snippets of casino staff and patrons. Also gives you a few tips on what to play and not to play....not that it did ME any good last time we were there. But I do recommend this book very highly! Excellently written and very easy to read and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight, 7 Jan 2005
This review is from: Super Casino: Inside the "New" Las Vegas (Mass Market Paperback)
I've been to Las Vegas (Lost Wages) three times now and wanted to get underneath all that glitters and learn a lot more of the history and goings-on there. I often graze-read and usually have several books on my bedside table, however I read Super Casino over three days (a record for me!). I found the mix of stories and perspectives fascinating and left me yearning to get back to Vegas as soon as I can. I had no idea how much the Luxor has changed in its short history despite having stayed there twice. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great behind-the-scenes look at Vegas, 15 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Fascinating behind-the-scenes look at the busiest hotels in the world - Vegas hotels! Looks at how they are run to ensure a perfect guest experience... details security teams employed to keep the guests under control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply, the best book on Las Vegas you will read, 24 April 2014
By 
Mr. Cj Stephens (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Super Casino: Inside the "New" Las Vegas (Mass Market Paperback)
I go to Las Vegas twice a year, and I have read literally dozens of books on Vegas.

This one is now dog eared, as I have read it 3 times, and it has made the return trip to Vegas 3 times.

It is superbly written, and gets you immersed totally in the reality of Vegas, its people and its Casinos. It's a cracking good read and I guarantee you will read it from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Casino: Inside the "New" Las Vegas (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a very interesting book, giving all the history of Vegas. Great if your planning to travel there .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lot of fun to read, 31 Dec 2012
This review is from: Super Casino: Inside the "New" Las Vegas (Mass Market Paperback)
Great way of understanding what Vegas was and is still about in the early days. What a life the owners of these hotels had...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling stories about Las Vegas casino life, 25 Dec 2011
This review is from: Super Casino: Inside the "New" Las Vegas (Mass Market Paperback)
Earley provides the reader with a fascinating insight into how the mega resorts on Las Vegas Boulevard are run. He describes everything from the super casino business model to attracting money from Wall Street to the internal proceedings on the casino floors and the operations of the hotel. He mixes it with compelling stories about the daily life of a number of people trying to make a living in Sin City. A joy to read and surprisingly detailed about this business!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing and entertaining, 20 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Super Casino: Inside the "New" Las Vegas (Mass Market Paperback)
Very well written and while it tells the tale of an incredible city, it's never sensationalistic in it's tone. The story behind the scale of the whole Vegas operation is mind-blowing enough! As a visitor to Vegas I love the place and I found this book to be a perfect balance between the glitz, the behind the scenes storys and the history. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful on the age of the super casino, 29 July 2010
This review is from: Super Casino: Inside the "New" Las Vegas (Mass Market Paperback)
Just finished this book and I can't speak highly enough about it. If you're interested in the modern super casino world of Las Vegas and their inner workings then you'll love this book. It focuses on the now defunkt Circus circus coporation and mainly on the Luxor from its conception to renovation. Excellent read filled with information regarding Vegas, its history, corporations, dealers, gamblers, and every other vice you can find in Sin City.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars everything you need to know !!!!, 7 July 2010
This review is from: Super Casino: Inside the "New" Las Vegas (Mass Market Paperback)
the book started with the current casinos and how a few games are played.I was dissappointed as i bought the book to tell me about the HISTORY of Las Vegas.
keep reading....Soon, it starts with the very beginning ( the history)and in great detail goes through the building of Las Vegas, its people and buildings to as it is today.
Fasinating read, Lots of detail.Well written.Thoroughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Super Casino: Inside the "New" Las Vegas
Super Casino: Inside the "New" Las Vegas by Pete Earley (Mass Market Paperback - Jan 2001)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews