Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in the series?
The third and fifth books of this series are the ones everyone remembers, but I greatly preferred this to 'A Dark and Hungry God Arises' (partly because I could never figure out what the title referred to, unless it's a reference to 'the Dragon'). More character development and a better chance to look around the universe that Donaldson has created. I also liked the...
Published on 8 Mar 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars all right
Getting fed up with 'she was too tired and felt defeated but carried on anyway even though it was impossible'
Published 21 days ago by Mr. C. Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in the series?, 8 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Chaos and Order: The Gap Into Madness (Mass Market Paperback)
The third and fifth books of this series are the ones everyone remembers, but I greatly preferred this to 'A Dark and Hungry God Arises' (partly because I could never figure out what the title referred to, unless it's a reference to 'the Dragon'). More character development and a better chance to look around the universe that Donaldson has created. I also liked the introduction to 'Punisher' and her crew, who are possibly the only straightfoward human beings in the book- like all cops everywhere, just trying to do an impossible job in the face of chaos, manipulation and incomprehensible orders from Higher Up. Donaldson gives his struggle more of a human face in this book, shifting his focus from Morn, Angus and Nick towards the ordinary human beings stuck in the middle. Vector Shaheed is a really interesting character in this respect, since he actually volunteers of his own free will to do the right thing, unlike most of the other characters (although I think it was just a wee too bit too handy that he turned out to be the only person who could crack the magic drug's formula- what are the chances of that?). This book is really a bit of a 'calm before the storm' installment in the series, but I think it's a great read, especially since there's less violence in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Smart Science-Fiction, 21 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Chaos and Order: The Gap Into Madness (Mass Market Paperback)
It is seldom that one sees Sci-Fi with as much attention to detail as the Gap cycle. More to the point, it is not often that one sees Sci-Fi, with the possible exception of writers like Larry Niven or Arthur C. Clarke, which so seamlessly integrates hard science and psychology with real people in real situations. By real, I mean that the characters are driven to, and beyond, the limits of their ability to cope, and not only do they come out shining, but they come out reacting exactly like their background and upbringing would have them react. Donaldson's grasp of the human psyche and his ability to cut away the technology and 'Civilization' we so commonly talk up to reveal the underlying nature of humanity is colossal. He paints us, and realistically, as a cut-throat, dog-eat-dog species in a person to person struggle for survival. Which, in my experience, is exactly what we are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When you thought things couldn't get any more chaotic. . ., 26 Jun 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Chaos and Order: The Gap Into Madness (Mass Market Paperback)
Donaldson has returned to the splendid level of maturity and complexity he established as his own in the first Thomas Covenant series. In fact he exceeded all of my expectations. (I had doubts after his "looking glass" stuff and was skeptical of his ability to handle "hard science" science fiction.) But Donaldson pulls it all off with a deftness and sensitivity that only our best writers can achieve. His plotlines are intiricately weaved in this tale and (as I state in my teaser above) just when you think things couldn't get any worse for the human race in general and these characters in particular, Donaldson gives the screw another twist.
His characters aren't just flawed. They are real. Good people do evil, evil people do good; for good and bad reasons alike.
This story still sticks with me (I finished reading it when it was first released), and I consider it his some of his finest (and perhaps *greatest*) work.
His fearless use of mature and complex themes and language distinguish this series from the thousands of !hacks! currently working in this field.
Thank you Mr. Donaldson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best science fiction you'll read, 19 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. RCS Young "rcsy" (Camberley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Donaldson takes the training wheels off the series with this book and all hell is unleashed. And if you're confused by Amazon's title, yes this is the third book in a series of five.

The series as a whole is very dark and if you like your science fiction fun and airy then this is not the place to look. The other reviews highlight the complexities of the book and in many ways it leaves more questions than answers. But it is beautifully written and sets up the next two books perfectly.

And I'd agree about the level of science content - having excerpts about things like the discovery of the GAP drive really add to the series and show just how well thought out the whole thing is.

I think that these books are the best thing that Donaldson has written (this from a Thomas Covenant fan). Do yourself a favour and immerse yourself in them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the finest Science Fiction series of the century., 5 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Chaos and Order: The Gap Into Madness (Mass Market Paperback)
The Gap Series, opened with a weak volly across the bow, blows into the most powerful, dramatic, and tense series of the century. I firmly believe that Mr. Donaldson's series rivals Frank Herbert's Dune. It's remarkable that SRD is not only able to maintain the tension over 5 novels--but increase it to a fever pitch. Fair warning to the squeamish: These novels contain graphic violence and sex. None of it, however, is gratuitous. Every terrible thing that happens to the characters has a profound impact on the outcome of the story. Fair warning to the uninitiated SRD reader: Take along a pencil and some paper in order to keep the characters and ships organized. Based on Richard Wagner's Ring Cycle (the Operas), SRD has created a brilliant series. READ IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the class, 6 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Chaos and Order: The Gap Into Madness (Mass Market Paperback)
Having read all of Donaldson's books over the years, 'Chaos and Order : The Gap into Madness' is by far the most compelling of reads from his vast, gargantuan of tales. His attention to detail and drawing the reader in to the main characters world is of a scale that few can and have mastered.
Those people that are looking to get their teeth into an in-depth story line should certainly consider this series as well as the 'Thomas Covenant, White Gold Wielder' books.
If you are wanting to escape for a while, then these are the titles for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Horribly fascinating !, 16 Sep 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Chaos and Order: The Gap Into Madness (Mass Market Paperback)
Donaldson has a very special way of describing his caracters. He descibes perfectly the most hideous and vile persons/creature ... but is it the bad guy or the hero ... You are never sure. The personality he give his caracters is so close to reality, that you will get the sensation of knowing them, hurting with them, and celebrating with them. The only bad thing i can say about these books, is that there is only 3 of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why are The Gap novels not widely known, 29 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These are challenging and mesmerising. Every time I bought a new one I thought I wouldn't be able to cope with the complex and intricate plot and characters. The storyline proceeds through all the books so it is essential to read them all, in sequence if you value your sanity! Try The Gap and you will never go for a vanilla SF again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars space opera at it's very best., 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read. Non-stop action and hard to put down. 5 stars.
Can't wait to start the next and final book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars as before, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
stephen Donaldson gets it right again.
great story.
well told
do buy these books. you can read them again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chaos and Order: The Gap Into Madness
Chaos and Order: The Gap Into Madness by Stephen R. Donaldson (Mass Market Paperback - July 1995)
Used & New from: £0.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews