Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly good read!
I didn't really expect to like this book. Afterall, what could be so compelling about some guy who started a bunch of discount stores in Arkansas? Boy, was I wrong. This book is a jewel. It's a must read for anyone in business, whether a small business or a big corporation. You'll never look at a store the same way again after you read this book. You can easily...
Published on 14 May 1998

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Self-serving autobio of a truly great entrepreneur
Walton's story is certainly worth reading. He built a business - now the biggest in the world - that can only be described as the work of a genius.

The great virtue of this book is the portrait of his mind: he was utterly obsessed with retailing and bent a truly formidable energy to think about it at almost every working hour of the day. It may sound corny, but...
Published on 28 Aug 2011 by rob crawford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Inside The Mind of Walmart's Founder, 29 Nov 2013
This review is from: Sam Walton : Made in America My Story (Mass Market Paperback)
I felt compelled to check out "Made In America" by Sam Walton out of curiosity and pride with being a Walmart employee. I was exposed to some of Walton's philosophy during my orientation and felt curious to check out more. The following are some of the tidbits included in "Made In America" by Sam Walton:
Pages 1-3: He mentions how his life changed after interviewing with Forbes magazine in October 1985 (after he was named the "richest man in America). A harrowing experience is also recalled when he talks about being "ambushed by The Lifestyles Of The Rich and Famous Guy" at a tennis tournament.
Page 70: Jim Walton recalled how some writers thought that his father (Sam Walton) was a "grand strategist who psychically carried out plans and actualized them with precision". However, he mentions that the reality was that his father actually "thrived on change" when it came to many decisions.
Pages 80-81: Sam Walton listed some of his family pictures such as those of this parents and grandparents, as well as his wife, children, and a Ben Franklin franchise in Newport, Arkansas.
Page 95: Sam Walton created and wrote down a five year plan of the business ideas that he intended to accomplish. He mentioned that he saved these plans for a long time and found (several years later) that his target goals were exceeded by at least 15 to 20 percent.
Pages 240-241: There is an inclusion of more pictures from Sam Walton's years with Walmart such as a happy picture of him with his wife Helen. There is also a fascinating 1990 feature of HillaryClinton as Wal-Mart's Board of Directors.
There is also a postscript by Rob Walton due to the fact that Sam Walton was in the final stages of his life when writing this book. There is much more featured in "Made in America" by Sam Walton for those who are curious to know more about the founder behind Walmart and the actual company of Walmart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An honest and endearing account of his life in his own words, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read for any aspiring Entrepreneur Sam Walton lets you into his secret formula for success but the book leaves you thinking there must have been so much more to the man himself which he in his modesty he has left out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic story of a Retail Genius, 12 Aug 2014
This review is from: Sam Walton : Made in America My Story (Mass Market Paperback)
A great read. Get inside the mind of the man that made a dynasty. Down to eart common sense good strategy executed for the every person. Read this before criticing Wal Mart. Results are measured in footfall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tremendous, inspiring book, 15 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sam Walton : Made in America My Story (Mass Market Paperback)
If you're looking for inspiration and precious insight into the world of business, look no further. A fascinating, great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for Dreamers, 22 Oct 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Sam Walton : Made in America My Story (Mass Market Paperback)
Sam not only makes you dream big but inspires you to follow your dreams.
For someone not having 'lived' the 60s and 70s in small town America, it was an insight into the All American values of old.
My business and personal links with Wal-Mart testify to how Sam's basic values are still a driving force at Wal-Mart

It is a book that makes you dream and gives you 10 rules to achieve your dream.
I read only one - it was all I needed.
The rule was 'Swim Upstream - Break all the Rules'.
- Murtuza Vasowalla
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true lesson in capitalism, 13 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Sam Walton : Made in America My Story (Mass Market Paperback)
This book demonstrates why capitalism works - through giving us incentive to work which nurtures great businesspeople like Sam Walton .
This is a story about a honest , harworking and dedicated merchant who converted his ideas into practise and didn't get lost along the way in glamour .
It is very well written and is easy to read and I recomend it to everyone wholeheartedly .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-read book for entrepreneurs, 10 Nov 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Sam Walton : Made in America My Story (Mass Market Paperback)
After working for Wal-Mart stores, I have seen first-hand the greatness of this man and his business. This book teaches one to follow his/her dreams, because you can reach your goals.......Sam was proof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating story, well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you are very desperate to succeed read this., 11 Jan 2000
This review is from: Sam Walton : Made in America My Story (Mass Market Paperback)
Yes Sam Walton was driven, but you would have to want to succeed more than anything in this world to follow his example. He enjoyed doing it but whether those around him enjoyed it as much is uncertain. If you are in a business which is in anyway connected to the retail business then here is the way to treat a customer, like gold dust. Sam knew every principle of retailing and put it into his business and the customer gets the benefit. But that has nothing to do with why the business became the biggest retailer in the world, that was solely due to Sam Walton's total and utter commitment to the business to the exclusion of everything else in the world. In his last years to still get up at 3am in the morning prior to a meeting so that he had all the facts only proves that while he was working the rest of the world was enjoying themselves but just poorer. He never enjoyed the vast fruits of his wealth by buying yachts, jets or holiday islands so why did he want so much money with so little enjoyment or power. Murdoch and Gates have real power and vast wealth and really enjoy the benefits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A nostalgic tale of one man stuck in the past, 14 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't get me wrong its not a bad book, in fact it's quite an interesting look into his perspectives however the bitterness and failure he can't seem to accept is .. When you blame management for mistakes, you simply have to remember that he was there leader .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sam Walton : Made in America My Story
Sam Walton : Made in America My Story by John Huey (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Jun 1993)
4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews