Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collection of stories from Jabba's underworld!!
If you liked 'Tales from the Mos Eisley Cantina' then you'll love this title. Nineteen separate stories about bounty hunters, assassins, associates and servants plotting and scheming to come out on top in the ruthless criminal underworld of Jabba the Hutt. Each tale is told from the main characters point of view as they witness and contribute to the events leading up to...
Published on 25 Feb. 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Therefore I am is a must-read!
In Empire Strikes Back, Darth Vader hires several tough and grim alien bounty hunters to track down Han Solo and the Millennium Falcon. Tales of the Bounty Hunters are a collection of five stories that detail what each bounty hunter was like and their subsequent struggles to capture Han Solo. Because this is a collection of five stories, please don’t be misinformed...
Published 5 months ago by super antpod


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collection of stories from Jabba's underworld!!, 25 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
If you liked 'Tales from the Mos Eisley Cantina' then you'll love this title. Nineteen separate stories about bounty hunters, assassins, associates and servants plotting and scheming to come out on top in the ruthless criminal underworld of Jabba the Hutt. Each tale is told from the main characters point of view as they witness and contribute to the events leading up to Jabba's fatal encounter with the Rebel Alliance. The book is well edited with a great sense of continuity throughout as the different stories cross paths with each other (And continue previous plots from other Star Wars books). With stories about 'Boba Fett', 'Salacious Crumb', 'Bib Fortuna' and many more this book is essential for Star Wars fans and an intriguing read for non-fans. So go get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Therefore I am is a must-read!, 22 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Star Wars: Tales of the Bounty Hunters (Paperback)
In Empire Strikes Back, Darth Vader hires several tough and grim alien bounty hunters to track down Han Solo and the Millennium Falcon. Tales of the Bounty Hunters are a collection of five stories that detail what each bounty hunter was like and their subsequent struggles to capture Han Solo. Because this is a collection of five stories, please don’t be misinformed by my overall two-star rating above. My favourite stories are the ones below, while the other three were either too cynical or had too much description for my taste.

Therefore I am is the story of assassin droid IG-88’s rise to sentience and his superior way of hunting. This was by far the most enjoyable story in this collection. I thought IG-88’s droid thought-processes and his robot diligence were engagingly descriptive. The scenes were suffused with action, and insightful perspectives on the Empire’s methods. Therefore I am is a must-read, and makes purchasing the collection ... bearable.

Payback is the story of Dengar, the imperially enhanced and emotionally stripped humanoid. He seeks revenge against Han Solo after a race went sour. I was intrigued by the character and his warped sense of morality, and I was pulled into the settings of the world he was first on, as well as his curious assassin methods. Despite this, his fear of Darth Vader didn’t mesh well for me, and several encounters with Boba Fett led me to conclude that he was anybody’s fool! The story drew me back in at times with his connection to a female alien.

Overall, if you were looking for unusual contrasts and hunting methods between the bounty hunters then I recommend you purchase this collection. However, if you’re looking for character depth and struggle then I would give this a miss. The confrontations between the bounty hunters were exciting when they occurred, but often the tales were unrelated unless they referred to Empire Strikes Back or Return of the Jedi, which I felt diverged from the main point: to capture Han Solo and the Millennium Falcon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tales From Jabba`s Palace, 8 Mar. 2011
By 
Richard C. Grace "Zero Ball" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If your a fan Of Return of The Jedi, then this is the Star Wars novel for you. The tales in this novel flesh out the events in the film leading up to Jabba`s death. Each tale is told from a different character`s point of view and adds more layers to the story.

I found this to be and it kept me coming back for me. It was great to find out about the minor characters such as The Gamorrean Guard and Bib Fortuna.

If you like Star Wars and are not familiar with the novels then start with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bonki Tongo...., 27 Jan. 2012
Im pretty sure i read this way before 1996 but i could be mistaken, definitely read it though, remember Max Rebo making his way across the sands, but thats about it.

I did enjoy the book though, i remember that much, i always liked the Jabbas Palace scenes in ROTJ, so this book was a no brainer, just wish i could remember more of it, but maybe thats what was wrong with it, it wasn't memorable enough?

Ill probably buy the book again one day from amazon, just to refresh my memory stick =o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 April 2003
By 
N. Walton "Shatner Lover" (York, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Tales of the Bounty Hunters (Paperback)
This book fills in a big chunk of the star wars universe which was
always very unclear. Who is Boba Fett? How come he keeps turning up in the movies? Did he really die in ROTJ, etc. etc.
Like all of the "tales" books, I'd recommend this book to any Star Wars fan, especially users of Public Transport, because the stories are perfectly sized for the bus into work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning., 16 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
As Star Wars graphic novels go, 'The Sith War' is second only to 'Dark Empire'. This dramatic story takes place nearly 4000yrs before 'Star Wars: A New Hope' and in it the evil Sith have returned in the form of Sith Lord Exar Kun (from the 'Jedi Academy' novels) and fallen Jedi Ulic Qel-Droma (mentioned in 'Dark Empire' and star of the 'Tales of the Jedi'). This story contains twenty Dark Jedi, six full-scale battles and no less than four lightsaber battles. It's scale is pure Star Wars magic. Also, as the climax of the TOJ story arc, it has no irritating loose ends. Buy it or regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Tales of the Bounty Hunters (Paperback)
Really entertaining,

Excellent back stories to all the bounty hunters we know, or at least have heard of, and it gives us a new and vaster insight into the world of Star Wars...bought it to get me through boring days and ended up reading it all the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tales of the Bounty is a Starwars fans must have.., 22 Jan. 2008
By 
Mr. K. Richardson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Tales of the Bounty Hunters (Paperback)
Its a great book with five different stories detailing IG88, Denger, Bossk, 4LOM and Zuckuss and Boba Fett. All great stories and worth a read, I loved the one about IG88, although not sure if its canon or not, read it and you'll see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always two there are, no more, no less,, 22 Aug. 2002
By A Customer
not any more, at last we see what the galaxy was like a long time ago, when the Jedi and Sith numbers were equal.
This is without doubt the best Tales of the Jedi novel out there. There's more combat than in any other graphic novel out there, with several fantastic lightsaber battles.
In keeping with its predecessors, the artwork is fabulous and the dialogue is sharp.
If you must own any Star Wars graphic novel, make it this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book !, 4 Mar. 2013
By 
E. Reay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Tales of the Bounty Hunters (Paperback)
these are continuing tales following on from one another set between the old trilogy , a must read for any Star Wars fan !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Tales of the Bounty Hunters
Star Wars: Tales of the Bounty Hunters by Kevin J. Anderson (Paperback - 5 Dec. 1996)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews