Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent beginning!!!
This book starts of with Wedge Antillies rebuilding Rouge Squadron into the killing machine it used to be. The book revolves around Wedge and one of his best/cockiest pilots Corran Horn a fugitve on the run from the imps. He is loath to make friends, but in the end he does and this basically saves his life.
This story revolves around Rouge squadron as they are the...
Published on 11 April 2005 by Richard Sutherland

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but...
Not bad. I'm glad I finally found out how Wedge's parents got killed on their station and good to she the person responsible show his face. Apart from that though I found the storyline quite disappointing. It lacked the usual action I enjoy from Rogue Squadron and seemed a bit empty. The only other thing I liked was to finally see what Mirax Terrik and Booster Terrik...
Published on 10 Jun 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent beginning!!!, 11 April 2005
This review is from: Star Wars: Rogue Squadron (Star Wars: X-Wing) (Paperback)
This book starts of with Wedge Antillies rebuilding Rouge Squadron into the killing machine it used to be. The book revolves around Wedge and one of his best/cockiest pilots Corran Horn a fugitve on the run from the imps. He is loath to make friends, but in the end he does and this basically saves his life.
This story revolves around Rouge squadron as they are the Alliance's spear head for the beginning of the push towards Courascant. They are sent on a mission to take Borlieas from the Imps, but like all the other books in this series things don't go to plan. Only perssion flying and excellent marksmanship finally make the mission a sucsess.
This book is a masterpiece and is trully up there among the Starwars greats. It introduces you to new characters and has lots of spacebattles and dog fights, which are one of the best things in the Starwars universe. A must read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fly Hard, Shoot Straight !, 21 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Rogue Squadron (Star Wars: X-Wing) (Paperback)
Make no mistake, although the plot is excellent, the main characters are well developed, what really impressed me in this book was the wonderfully described space dogfights ! Whoever has played the old X-Wing space combat sim, will feel a sweet nostalgia ;) By any means, this is a great SW book. No lightsaber wielding Jedi, no mystical Force advantages, just "plain" people and their fighters, who rise under the circumstances and become heroes by flying at the edge of the envelope !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast, Exciting on the edge Rogue Squadron Action, 12 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Rogue Squadron (Star Wars: X-Wing) (Paperback)
Breathtaking the best book I have ever read Micheal A Stackpole really hit the right spot with this book. Action is plentyful and the charaters superb. The realationship Between Corran Horn and Whistler is comedy and Wedge Antilles is well played out in the first and best of the STAR WARS X-WING series. All the Rogue Squardron charaters worked well with the Star Wars Universe and the Battle scenes are perfection. It keeps you hanging on the edge of your seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An extremely well written Star Wars story, 28 May 2002
By 
I was struck with awe, when I first read this story. It's deep, tragic and tremendously exciting. It's rare in a Star Wars graphic book to have this much emphasis on the character's feelings and evolvement.
The artwork is great, it's really captures the style and action of the movies. However the last part of the book is drawn by two other artists with very different drawingstyles, and that kind of destroys the last part of the book. The inconsistency of style detracts from the enjoyment of the finale, thats why it doesn't get 5 stars. The story is still great though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but..., 10 Jun 1999
By A Customer
Not bad. I'm glad I finally found out how Wedge's parents got killed on their station and good to she the person responsible show his face. Apart from that though I found the storyline quite disappointing. It lacked the usual action I enjoy from Rogue Squadron and seemed a bit empty. The only other thing I liked was to finally see what Mirax Terrik and Booster Terrik looked like...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the Rogues need is a ship, and a rock to land it on!, 26 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Rogue Squadron (Star Wars: X-Wing) (Paperback)
An excellant start to the series if I may say so myself, and it is such a relief to get away from the usual Han, Luke and Leia story lines. This book, and the ones after it, provide an excellant look into the ranks of the fabulous Rogue Squadron. Especially thier Commander, who is hardly featured in any other books. (what a shame!) Its only draw back from my point of view is Corran Horn's awfully paranoid and analytical nature, (sorry you Horn fans out there but it has to be said!) Over all a fantstic book! Go out and buy it now if you havn't already got it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mmm, Flyboys, 19 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Rogue Squadron (Star Wars: X-Wing) (Paperback)
As an experianced star wars novel reader i hadn't bothered with the series that were/was important with the whole st storyline but then i read the absolutely AMAZING I,Jedi and some of Stackpole's short stories with Corran Horn in. So i decided to read the x-wing/rouge squadron series and the first one is one of the best st books i've read (excluding Kev J Anderson's and T Zahn's) Click Add To Shopping Basket NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent start to the series, I want to read more., 13 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Rogue Squadron (Star Wars: X-Wing) (Paperback)
Fast paced but detailed at the same time, Rogue Squadron recreates the tension and excitement of the film's action sequences excellently. The author has done well to stay away from established Star Wars characters because you never get that feeling of invulnerability from them. The only book where I felt genuine surprise and sadness at the death of a character
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutelt stunning start to the series, 28 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Rogue Squadron (Star Wars: X-Wing) (Paperback)
The X-Wing books provide a stunning series of Star Wars books. It is nice to have a different aspect to the Star Wars universe, not just that of Leia, Luke and co.
The books were easy to get into and are ones that you just can't put down. I now have nearly every Star Wars book, and I think these are probably the best available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is excellent, without a doubt, 4 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Rogue Squadron (Star Wars: X-Wing) (Paperback)
For once, we have a book that doesn't focus of Luke, Leia, Hand or Chewbacca. Michael Stackpole has created a brilliant new cast for a new series, and he could not have done a better job. He brings life to a minor character in the films, Wedge Antilles, and Corran Horn is both funny and serious. Buy this book, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Rogue Squadron (Star Wars: X-Wing)
Star Wars: Rogue Squadron (Star Wars: X-Wing) by Michael A. Stackpole (Paperback - 1 Feb 1996)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews