Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Star Wars story
In this novel, Luke Skywalker, C-3PO and two of Luke's Jedi students are trapped aboard an automated spaceship together with an army of brain-washed aliens. The ship, Eye of Palpatine is on a mission to destroy a colony where Han and Leia are.

This is a splendid novel which perfectly shows Luke's strength of character and his determination to help those in...
Published on 2 Sept. 2010 by chilled monkey

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes less is more
THE PLOT IN A NUTSHELL:
Luke and the gang rush off to chase the story of a once rich trade planet being a hiding place for Jedi children. The plot then splits into two as Luke discovers the Eye of Palpatine (think mini-deathstar) and Leia, Han and Chewie get into all sorts of trouble searching the planet Belsavis.

DOES IT KNOW IT'S PLACE?
This book...
Published on 29 Jan. 2011 by K. Rosen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes less is more, 29 Jan. 2011
By 
K. Rosen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Children of the Jedi (Paperback)
THE PLOT IN A NUTSHELL:
Luke and the gang rush off to chase the story of a once rich trade planet being a hiding place for Jedi children. The plot then splits into two as Luke discovers the Eye of Palpatine (think mini-deathstar) and Leia, Han and Chewie get into all sorts of trouble searching the planet Belsavis.

DOES IT KNOW IT'S PLACE?
This book certainly pays alot of respect to previous star wars novels. Through the pages you will find many MANY references to other books, characters and comics such as Exar Kun, Martha Jade, the Emperor's clone, sun crusher and more but don't worry, the references have little to do with the plot and this book can be easily read as a stand alone. Where there is a blip in the chronological order is Han and Leia's children. A swift mention or two at the start then nothing as though they don't exist made the book less believable, ironic considering the book's title.

OVERALL:
The language in this novel is very different to other Star Wars novels. This is evident from the start with very descriptive and definite text filling the opening chapters. Sadly, it goes too far and the book dragged and I found myself willing the plot on so I could get to the end. Only in the final chapters does the pace pick up and I found myself enjoying the plot. This book isn't bad and the plot and introduction of a power hungry spoilt 15 year old Sith (no more spoilers I promise) are intriguing and clever, it's just hard work and if I wanted that I would read Stephen King! I have Planet of Twilight ready to go (same author), but I think I'll give it a few weeks to clear my head first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Daft but Enjoyable, 29 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Star Wars: Children of the Jedi (Paperback)
Children of the Jedi and it's two follow-ons have their detractors but I like it, even though it's hard to say why (it has some pretty big short-comings). The story's split into a Luke half and a Han and Leia and both have pretty daft premises. Luke gets himself trapped aboard one of Palpatine's surviving Doomsday weapons, albeit one that's akin to the Death Star's backward cousin: it's on a belated pre-programmed mission to destroy the Jedi, indifferent to the fact they're already dead. The mission program included a plan to pick up Stormtroopers from various planets along its way but as there were none to be found, it picked up the local inhabitants instead and reprograms their brains to make them think they're the real deal. A bunch of Gamorreans who think they're stormtroopers is comically insane.

Meanwhile, as Leia takes a rare break from running the Galaxy, Han takes her on a mission-come-holiday to a truck-stop dive at the end of nowhere (Han evidently shares Travis Bickle's idea of where's a good place to take a lady on a date). Thankfully for Leia, as they hit the pub the two blunder in to an adventure relating to the title.

If you can forget the ludicrous setup, you actually have two pretty decent stories: Luke's has the feel of a runaway-train movie with can-he-stop-in-time tension. He also gets himself a love interest of sorts, albeit one that follows his usual form of being a bit messed up. Han's Truck Haven holiday is actually a pretty interesting planet: frozen up top but tropical down in its sink holes. It's hard to go into what they get up to without spoiling things but it's a pretty interesting yarn with an adversary with a unique ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but lacking in certain areas, 10 Nov. 2000
By 
Tancredi Tincani (Hamburg, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: Children of the Jedi (Paperback)
In this book, Luke is taken aboard the Eye of Palpatine, while Leia and Han search for a lost colony of Jedi. The idea for this story is certainly very good, and Plawal has a very unique atmosphere, you can almost visualise the damp mist clinging to the ground, the floating vine-beds...However, the other half of the story, with Luke on the Eye of Palpatine, doesn't hold up so well. You get the feeling that the author had to pretty much turn every force in the Universe against Luke to make the story believable (that's all I will reveal!), because a full-strength Jedi Knight would make short work of....you'll find out. It seems almost a bit hard to believe... I have to say that the ending was exceptionally well written, something which is unfortunately not the case for most of the rest of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Star Wars story, 2 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Children of the Jedi (Paperback)
In this novel, Luke Skywalker, C-3PO and two of Luke's Jedi students are trapped aboard an automated spaceship together with an army of brain-washed aliens. The ship, Eye of Palpatine is on a mission to destroy a colony where Han and Leia are.

This is a splendid novel which perfectly shows Luke's strength of character and his determination to help those in need. It also provides hm with a worthy love interest who feels like his true soulmate. The atmosphere and writing are top-notch as are all the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow, Deep and Dark - Actually pretty Good!, 8 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Children of the Jedi (Paperback)
Personally, I cannot see what all the fuss is about. My partner bought me this book two years ago and I have now read it countless times. I found it fascinating - Callista brings about a whole new twist to the story line - now and hopefully for future stories. Admittedly the story is slow, but it only pulls you deeper into the darkness of the story and the countless droids and dangers that lie ahead. Read it for yourself, if you are really into anything and everything that is Star Wars then go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars' least finest hour..., 21 Sept. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Children of the Jedi (Paperback)
This novel was the first Star Wars tie-in I read, and unfortunately it put me off the rest of them for a while. It is way too complicated, and a Star Wars novel shouldn't be. Callista however is a good character and it's worth a SW fan reading this to discover the start of her and Luke's relationship. Oh dear barbara, better luck next time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The plot should be known but the book was awfull, 30 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Children of the Jedi (Paperback)
I got thru the book very slowly and it was confusing both her books werent good but the sequel to this one is awsome infact next to The Phantom Menace its the best book I read and its called Dark Saber. Trust me beause "Hey its me".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A good story but a bit hard to read, 3 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Star Wars: Children of the Jedi (Paperback)
I thought this book, like the other Star Wars tie-ins, was a good read, but this one is a lot harder to read than the others. The book doesn't come close to the likes of Timothy Zahn's and Kevin J. Anderson's Star Wars books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dismal read, 27 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Children of the Jedi (Paperback)
This book truly is a chore to read, I'm half way through and wishing it on to the end so I can go onto something better, ive read a lot of the EU and this is by far the worst, confusing, muddled and poorly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: Children of the Jedi (Paperback)
these are continuing tales following on from one another dating back all the way to the last film return of the jedi , a must read for any Star Wars fan !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: Children of the Jedi
Star Wars: Children of the Jedi by Barbara Hambly (Paperback - 2 May 1996)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews