Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping story of a mutiny in the Oxford boat race crew.
A classic sporting story, with heroes and villains. That the former are British and the latter American makes it particularly enjoyable.
Published on 26 April 1999

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BIG DEAL
Picture this scene and try to imagine what it is all about. `A lone figure was standing up...balancing like a statue....His mighty arms were raised upwards to the sky, and his face stared in ecstasy into the heavens beyond....Donald Macdonald was alone with his God.' Was Mr Macdonald perhaps a survivor of the massacre of Glencoe? Had he routed the minions of Butcher...
Published on 28 May 2007 by DAVID BRYSON


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping story of a mutiny in the Oxford boat race crew., 26 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: True Blue: The Oxford Boat Race Mutiny (Paperback)
A classic sporting story, with heroes and villains. That the former are British and the latter American makes it particularly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating true story, 31 July 2007
By 
This review is from: True Blue: The Oxford Boat Race Mutiny (Paperback)
This was an excellent book by the coach of the Oxford squad in the 1980s Daniel Topolski, they do say truth is strager than fiction, and this book shows its alot more interesting also.
Its a very English moral tale: 'winning is best done by being part of a team and the quest for self glory is not a noble one'. It also quite nicely lays bare the bullying tactics and power play that the Americans are so adept at, fortunately they don't get to be the winners in this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it!, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enjoyable read especially for rowers past and present. Well written . If you haven't already read it get it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars compelling, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic drama all the way through at times it was difficult to put the book down. Glad the result was positive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book about competitive sport I have ever read, 27 Nov 2013
This review is from: True Blue: The Oxford Boat Race Mutiny (Paperback)
I read this book when it first came out and was absolutely gripped by it. I won a Blue at Cambridge for running and thus have a good feel for the unique nature of the universities' rivalry. This book captures that rivalry brilliantly and remains the best book about competitive sport I have ever read.

I highly recommend this book to all lovers of sport.

Hugh Shields
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blue: The Oxford Boat Race Mutiny (Paperback)
I loved the film and couldn't wait to read the book. It definitely goes into more depth about the problems and how Topolski tried to cater to the Americans demands, but eventually it became too much. Yes the story may be one sided, but it was interesting to hear that a couple of the Americans were not actually that disruptive until later when they just followed the ringleaders Clark and Lyons and ultimately cost them their chance for a blue. Everything from the mutiny, to trying to prepare the reserve crew for the boat race was a compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BIG DEAL, 28 May 2007
By 
DAVID BRYSON (Glossop Derbyshire England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Blue: The Oxford Boat Race Mutiny (Paperback)
Picture this scene and try to imagine what it is all about. `A lone figure was standing up...balancing like a statue....His mighty arms were raised upwards to the sky, and his face stared in ecstasy into the heavens beyond....Donald Macdonald was alone with his God.' Was Mr Macdonald perhaps a survivor of the massacre of Glencoe? Had he routed the minions of Butcher Cumberland? Well, no. This Mr Macdonald had just won the annual Oxford/Cambridge boat race in 1987.

I have never been sure of the propriety of invoking the help of the Almighty in achieving victory in sport. Does He really tip the balance in favour of whoever prays hardest (assuming that both competitors have kept to the rules and put in equivalent amounts of effort)? That sounds to me like obtaining an unfair advantage. I quite agree that top-class sport is a serious business, but surely there comes a time when obsessiveness over it begins to seem just a trifle silly? Even if we let divine intervention take its own course (and I could think of more pressing priorities for it in 1987) does some - any - annual rowing competition really amount to a matter involving lifelong enmity? I have just read Dan Topolski's memoir of this eventful event with genuine interest and a sense of involvement. In all conscience it was quite a saga and the issues were such as he or anyone would have needed to face with proper seriousness. Nevertheless what kept springing irreverently to mind was a tale of dirty work behind the scenes in the preparation for the vicarage egg-and-spoon race in one of the Jeeves stories, and I experienced an increasing longing to have this narrative retold for me by P G Wodehouse.

The background was that Oxford, perennial underdogs in the boat race, had been coached to a string of victories by Topolski followed by a bad defeat in 1986. A gifted American in the 1986 crew saw salvation in bringing other gifted Americans to Oxford for 1987, and these showed determination to have things done their way rather than Topolski's. Topolski's main ally was the Oxford `president' (sc captain of the crew) Macdonald, and both were opposed with contempt by the new Americans. The imbroglio that followed centred round two matters - the training methods and the tactics used by the `mutineers' to get their own way. Topolski obviously tells it all his way, but he makes what seems a genuine attempt to be fair while remaining convinced that he had it right. As regards the training I am completely unable to judge of the issue. Topolski imposed a gruelling regime, and the Americans did not wish to be gruelled. As regards the `political' battle, Topolski depicts the Americans and their growing band of supporters as taking the stance `if you just capitulate there will be no problem.' How the other camp saw it I don't know, but the picture is at least a familiar one from similar battles in large organisations - a party taking this attitude and then encountering resistance typically acts the victim and alleges unreasonableness, perfidy and character defects to the other side whom it was trying to attack.

The American who set the process off was not the prime mover and shaker as it developed. That was another American, studying at Oriel College, and the epicentre of the shaking is referred to throughout as `the Oriel bar'. From my own considerable experience of that in the previous generation, I'd guess that any brimstonish plotting would have more likely taken place in the Oriel junior common room, the rooms of the various insurgents and the Bear Inn. Oriel was represented particularly strongly among the candidates for a place in the university boat, and to crown matters the headquarters of the crew was, coincidentally, Oriel Square just outside the college gates, so that Oriel came to have a significance for Topolski of something like Mordor.

The revolt grew and gained a large following, and Topolski's picture increasingly becomes one of the saintly Macdonald fighting unscrupulous and implacable opponents, finally winning first the tactical battle of procedures and then the 1987 boat race. The latter triumph was against all odds, as the American stars had been thrown overboard and what was largely an Oxford B crew defeated what appeared to be a particularly strong Cambridge outfit. Clearly, Topolski and Macdonald were justified by results, but the arguments still went on afterwards and the malcontents achieved a minor victory in the selection of the next president, although Topolski's appendix summarising their subsequent history has an unmistakable air of virtue triumphant from his point of view. His tone becomes more biblical as it all goes on, even involving latterly opposing factions from two redoubts of Catholic monasticism. As a closing vignette we hear a brief exchange between the Jesuit prophet of the angels and the organiser of the axis of evil who upbraids the former for being an American who spoke against the American side.

I have no reason to doubt Topolski's version by and large. What I don't really understand is how the revolt got itself so many adherents, although Topolski's simple explanation, namely that these didn't know what they were talking about, could be the simple truth of it. One slight disappointment, considering that Topolski is by career a photo journalist, is the photographs. With each twist and turn of the narrative, I tried to inspect the features of the protagonists, but the selection seems rather random. In particular one picture that ought to have been memorable, of a punch being thrown by a particularly upstanding Englishman at an American cox depicted throughout as odious, fails to depict that in any way I can see. The picture of the American who started it all off rowing in an Oriel boat also puzzled me until I found that he had returned after completing his Oxford course to provide coaching at Oriel, which had not been his college. The upshot was that the Oriel boat, on paper the strongest in Oxford, was knocked out in the first round of its next competition. I lament this from the point of view of Oriel, but I suppose they need to take care who they deal with or it will all end in tears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Truth, The Whole Truth and Nothing But The Truth?, 28 April 2010
By 
R. Hebbert - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Blue: The Oxford Boat Race Mutiny (Paperback)
The story of the in-fighting at Oxford University and it's Boat Club in advance of the 1987 Boat Race with Cambridge makes for an engrossing story, even if a glance at the photograph of Donald Macdonald's victory salute gives away the end to those who don't already know it. One has however, a feeling which grows as the story unfolds that this is a far from objective account. Not that there is a problem with a protagonist telling a story from their own point of view, but the issues and personalities in Dan Topolski's book are so black and white that the independent reader is compelled to look for other informaton to see whether all of this can possibly be right. Even moderate internet research suggests that Topolski's account should be treated with caution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Blue: The Oxford Boat Race Mutiny
True Blue: The Oxford Boat Race Mutiny by Patrick Robinson (Paperback - 23 Feb 1990)
Used & New from: £0.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews