Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
147
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 October 1999
Firstly, for any person who has never read a Star Wars book in their life before, this is quite simply the finest place to start. Timothy Zahn's bestselling novel brings you back into the Star Wars Universe with a jolt out of your 'mottled hyperspace' of life with a jolt you'll remeber for the rest of your life. As soon as familiar faces appear in the mind's eye, you know that 'Heir' is going somewhere very exciting indeed. Just the thought of Wedge Antilies trying to look inconspicuous in a shady corner of the Mos Eisley Cantina tells your that your in good hands. New characters are placed before our eyes subteley; Talon Karrde, Grand Admiral Thrawn, Captain Palleon and Mara Jade, to name but a few, and are just as deep and envolving as our old favourites from episodes 4,5 & 6. Heres the bad news... finish this spectacular trilogy and you'll soon find that, although others are superb in their own way, there aren't many other Star Wars trilogy's, or indeed single or double episodes, that will grab you as much as the sheer depth and calculated genius that Zahn's have graced us with. But that's not such a bad thing really, is it?
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
Timothy Zahn is a great writer and storyteller! I have read all three volumes of this trilogy for several times in last 15 years. I'm a great fan of the original Star Wars. I could not stand the new ones... You know, Jar Jar Binks and stuff... This Zahn's trilogy should be the next Star Wars movies. This book introduces great characters, mainly Imperial Grand Admiral Thrawn... I don't want to spoil this trilogy but if you're into Star Wars, this trilogy is a must read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2012
The book takes place five years after the events of Return of the Jedi. Grand Admiral Thrawn, one of the Emperor's finest commanders, takes charge of what remains of the Imperial forces in order to lead an attack against the New Republic.

The great aspect of this book is it introduces some new characters that are every bit as well shaped as the ones we know from the films. Thrawn is a great character - a strategic and tactical mastermind and a charismatic villain to boot. His method is one of cold calculation rather than rage and emotion. Thrawn is the ideal fit for a military commander. Mara Jade and Talon Karrde are also strong additions to the roster.

We see the characters we know so well from the films and how they have moved on with their lives. It is reassuring for this Star Wars fan - a testament to Zahn's skill and knowledge of his source - to see them presented so well. Luke Skywalker is getting used to his role not as the last of the Jedi, but the first of a new generation. Han Solo and Leia Organa Solo married and are expecting twins. Han is all that we have come to expect - charming, living on his luck and a heart of gold.

The characterisation drives the story and, arguably, the Thrawn trilogy (alongside the Yuuzhan Vong war in the New Jedi Order series) presents the best material for a new Star Wars series of films/animated series. There is enough action in the book to satisfy those looking for adventure, though of course, the book sets the scene for events in the following two books.

The 20th Anniversary Edition contains notes from the author on the text. These are inserted in the side margins of the page. Whilst some are interesting, most are bits of trivia. I was ambivalent about most of these entries, but they are a nice touch.

If I was to nitpick, then I would have preferred that the author's notes be presented as footnotes; that way, the main text could go across more of the width of the page. If you stop to read all the notes in the side margins, there is a risk that you lose the flow of the narrative.

For Star Wars fans, this review is moot; you probably have a copy of this already. If you have not yet got round to getting a copy, then this is an essential purchase. For non-Star Wars fans, I recommend this as an ideal introduction to the Star Wars universe. The book takes what was great about the original trilogy - character, adventure and heart - and develops on them.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
This was my first dip into the Expanded Universe and, while I've read a number of the books since, this is very much the standard that the others have to match. For those who are not well versed in the Expanded Universe, this book catches up with the heroes post Return of the Jedi, albeit several years past the events of the movie, and also introduces characters that will be an integral part of the Universe in future books.
Zahn's writing style is easy to digest, and his ability to build on the characters only glimpsed in the movies and the worlds we once visited wants you leaving more. It is easy to understand why the Thrawn trilogy is held in such high regards by fans. This certainly isn't one for just hardcore fans, if you enjoy reading sci-fi and have a working knowledge of Star Wars, and in particular the original trilogy (eps IV to VI) then I recommend this book.
One final thing to note. With Disney's recent acquisition of the Star Wars brand and the announcement of another movie to follow the continuity of Return of the Jedi, while it doesn't necessarily mean that they will follow the canon of the Expanded Universe, this book (and the trilogy as a whole) will help get you back in the Star Wars groove, and may even help give some context to any characters they may or may not use in the films.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2006
This book kick-started the star wars expanded universe novels, and was one of many that shot straight to the new york times bestselling lists. The story is is quite gripping and makes you want to read further and further, until you realise that the book is finshed!! ( and its only been one day since u purchased the book!)

Tim Zahn is at the top of his game here, he manages to descibes locations and characters exactly as we know them from the movies and have come to love. Furthermore a number of legendary and pivotal characters are introduced that make appearences in later novels such as , mara jade, talon karde, captain palleon, the noghri species etc. And Not to mention Grand admiral Thrawn a Villain worthy of being put in the league of the emperor or darth vader themselves.

Overall, this is a great way to start of, if you are new to these novels and if you are not, then what have you been waiting for?!? BUY AND READ THIS BOOK!!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
If I was asked to name an author of Star Wars books, I'm sure the only one I would remember would be Timothy Zahn. And it is because of "Heir to the Empire".

This trilogy is well remembered due to it's excellence.

There is a great mix of the old characters & the new. These are well written & gripping.

If you have ever considered reading a Star Wars novel, I would recommend that you do it & that this trilogy is wear you start.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2015
Although these books have no been declassified as Star Wars lore, they are still some of the best Star Wars books out there. If you're a Star Wars fan and want to read about some of the "Legends" pick up the Thrawn trilogy ASAP!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
So I wanted to try another Star Wars novel after reading and enjoying Death Troopers last year. The question was - where to start? There are plenty of Star Wars Expanded Universe books out there, with more and more being released at present. However, I wanted something that would really only need me to have watched the films, at which point I stumbled across the Thrawn trilogy by Timothy Zahn. It's set 5 years after the end of the original trilogy and picks up with the characters I know from the films - all leading to me deciding that it was the way to go. Of course, while looking around I discovered that it's a series of Star Wars books that is rated very highly indeed. So, off I went to see what Heir to the Empire held in store...

As mentioned, I'm not someone that is overly familiar with the Star Wars universe outside the main films, so before starting Heir to the Empire I did question whether or not I'd be lost with any additional things that had been raised within the setting since the films. Fortunately this is one of the strong points about Heir to the Empire - it's perfect for EU virgins like myself!

Picking up events 5 years after the original trilogy ended we join Luke Skywalker, Han Solo, Leia Organa Solo & Chewbacca as they are part of the New Republic and trying to build upon the chaos that was thrown up when the Empire was defeated. Living on Coruscant they are trying to bring in more planets to the New Republic to strengthen it and make it a democratic government for the member planets. Luke is still learning more as a Jedi and is now teaching Leia to build her powers and control over the Force and Han and Leia are married with Leia pregnant expecting twins, Leia is doing her part as a senator for the New Republic while Han is trying to build links with smugglers to help out with legit cargo hauls. Suffice to say that events have carried on nicely from the film in a totally believable way with each of the main characters using their strengths to help build the New Republic.

However, a new enemy has arrived to take control of the old Imperial fleet - Grand Admiral Trawn. He's the last of the Empires high ranking military people and is a genius in what he does, able to think outside the box and knows his enemies weaknesses. He resides on the Imperial Star Destroyer Chimaera, a ship under the command of Captain Pallaeon, and directs the fleet from there in an effort to rebuild the Empire to its former glory and defeat the New Republic. Along the way he makes kidnap attempts on Leia and Luke, and also stumbles across an old Jedi by the name of Joruus C'Baoth who is not quite what meets the eye.

Apart from the above mentioned new characters we also have some others thrown into the mix, namely Talon Karrde and Mara Jade. Karrde is a big time smuggler, one of the biggest still operating while Jade is his subordinate, and one with an interesting past that is slowly revealed throughout the story. Thrawn is the main bad guy though, but he's one that is a refreshing change from what I've seen in the films and has a much more controlled manner, able to think about the long term goals and carry them out with efficiency. Pallaeon is there more for us to learn more of Thrawn and show how the old ways are not always still used, but he does do the job very well.

While the story is fairly straight forward, there are some very interesting new additions to the universe. The two most important of these are the Emperor's store that is located on a hidden away planet and the other is the revelation of the ysalamiri, a species native to the planet where Karrde is based and one that has a very unique and spectacular ability - their presence nullifies the Force, completely. Both these play a large role in the story and help add a new depth to the universe, allowing Zahn to flex his creative muscles in many ways.

Suffice to say that if you're a fan of the original trilogy then this is by far the best way to go to explore what happened after the films. It's got a great story and an interesting antagonist, while Luke, Leia and Han all keep the continuity from the films very nicely. I'm very eager to start on the second of this series and do so looking forward to see where the story takes us. All in all I was very impressed and thoroughly pleased to find a Star Wars story worthy of the first trilogy, not like those prequels Lucas insisted on releasing - this would have been a much better direction to go.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2000
Timothy Zahn has created one of the greatest characters in the entire legend in Grand Admiral Thrawn. His manipulation of events and people throughout the book really brings home just how totally fluky the New Republic (nee Rebel Alliance) is.
Beautifully written, Zahn has taken the seeds of what George Lucas created in A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back and The Return of the Jedi and turned it into a masterpiece of science fiction. Cracking read!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2005
An insight into the star wars universe worthy of a Lucas script.
The character of Grand Admiral Thrawn is equal in presence to Darth Vader. Its a shame that the Grand Admiral will never be seen on screen. The supporting cast are just as engadging Luke, Leia, Han, Chewie and Lando are true to there movie characters. With the addition of new excellent charecters Talon Karde, Captain pelleon and Mara Jade this novel really brings a new aspect of the Star Wars universe to life.
The book is worth reading just to discover the insight into the relationship between Vader and the Emperor. It also offers a new insight into Chewbacca and the mysterious world of kashyyk.
In conclusion if you love Star Wars read this book (although you will need to read the other two books in the trilogy to complete the story).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse