Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite ever!!!
This has to be my favorite book of all time. It has been read so many times that I am afraid the binding is going to fall to pieces!
The author has created incredible characters in an story that you will not be able to put down, short of a natural disaster. And even then you might cling to the book as the tidal wave whisks you away!
Prudence is an intelligent...
Published on 30 Nov 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Too long
It would have been a good book if it was half as long otherwise it is not very memorable and the plot was not the best.
Published 7 months ago by Nic


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite ever!!!, 30 Nov 2003
This review is from: Heather and Velvet (Mass Market Paperback)
This has to be my favorite book of all time. It has been read so many times that I am afraid the binding is going to fall to pieces!
The author has created incredible characters in an story that you will not be able to put down, short of a natural disaster. And even then you might cling to the book as the tidal wave whisks you away!
Prudence is an intelligent young woman, who lives with a ever-marrying aunt but spends most of the time reading in the library. When rescuing her kitten from a severe storm she meets an injured highway man whom she helps to safety.
From the very beginning the sparks fly between Prudence and her highwayman, although both know they will likely never see each other again. Prudence would never betray Sebastion and everything she does she truly feels is for the best for him.
You have to give this book a try and I know you won't regret it. It really is a classic and one that will be continued to be read till the pages fall to pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sebastian and Prudence will entertain readers for years., 27 Sep 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Heather and Velvet (Mass Market Paperback)
Prudence Walker's life will never be the same after she meets a masked highwayman one dark and stormy night on a lonely road. Prudence Walker's life will never be the same after she meets Sebastian Kerr, her aunt's fiance'. Once she realizes the highwayman and her aunt's fiance' are one and the same, the real adventure begins, and love weaves it's magical web around the two of them. This book launched me into the world of historical romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wriiten with flair, 6 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Heather and Velvet (Mass Market Paperback)
This novel was written with more skill than the average romantic novel. There is also a proper cohesive plot, and the novelist has taken note of the history of the period and used it to strengthen the story not to detract from it. (Johanna Lindsay take note). Prudence is a delightful intelligent heroine, and Sebastian the type of caring male it is all too difficult to find in real life. The minor characters, especially Jamie and Fish are great fun and worthy of their place in this novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lovely and entertaining romp with a happy ending!!!, 30 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heather and Velvet (Mass Market Paperback)
The cover is not the BEST part of this book, it is the worst!

This book is full of intrigue, love, laughter and adventure, culminating in a happy ending. What more could you want? The Author has a great imagination and wonderful sense of the ridiculous that I find so enjoyable that I could not put this book down until I had finished the last word. It was deeper than that though, with two people who had been hurt in the past and that took this book on a deeper level than just a 'Bodice Ripper'.

I have re-read the Reviews and the detractors are few, so I would urge others to go with the majority and ignore the cover, I didn't like the sooty haired (he wasn't) smooth chested muscleman (he wasn't) on the cover, that I think has been used before on another book.

So, read the Positives and take a chance. I did, and I loved it!!

Just remembered the other cover, it was Prince of Midnight by Laura Kinsale, they just turned it around and stuck a female on the saddle in front of him!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Keeper from the first word., 22 Aug 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Heather and Velvet (Mass Market Paperback)
I read continuously so I find it impossible to keep all the books I "like." But from the first chapter Medeiros captures your attention and your heart. I feel in love with Prudence and Sebastain. I have since read all her books to date, but this one holds a special place on my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is everything a romamce novel sould be., 22 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Heather and Velvet (Mass Market Paperback)
I have owned this book since it first hit the shelves. Since then, I have read it more times than I can count. Mrs. Medeiros has written a story that will stick in my mind for years and years to come. She brought those characters to life! Sebastian and Prudence are so real you can almost believe that they are alive, living somewhere, hoplessly in love. And isn't that what a romance novel is all about? To bring love into this world?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too long, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It would have been a good book if it was half as long otherwise it is not very memorable and the plot was not the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice read, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Heather and Velvet is a nice and easy read. Of course it's predictable, but that comes with the genre. Theresa Medeiros is one of the few really good writers of that sort of historical romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars forgettable romantic twaddle, but nevertheless entertaining, 19 Feb 2010
By 
L. Bretherton "dempie" (Tiverton, Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heather and Velvet (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this when we were snowed in for a week, and did find it quite diverting! To be honest, the picture on the front cover is the best thing about this book, but it will keep you entertained for a couple of days.

"Sebastian" ( typical Scots name there!) is really a Highland Laird, but he is currently working as a highwayman in the North of England. Here he meets the quirky Prudence and the rest of the book describes the way their lives keep weaving into each other. Every time they meet they seem to end up snogging, and finally they go the whole way. Cue lots of "her secret valley engulfed the length of his ardour" type comments! (That's NOT a direct quote, but you get the idea......).

Prudence is quite a well-drawn character, and the book is quite amusingly written. However, the plot meanders through endless loops with names and places becoming very confusing. All becomes clear in the end, but it takes a while to get there.

If you enjoy this type of bodice ripper yarn, no doubt you will love "Heather and Velvet"!

"The Rogue's Kiss" by Emily Bascom is a far more convincing highwayman tale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 20 July 2003
By 
Kofo Jegede (Heckmondwike, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Heather and Velvet (Mass Market Paperback)
With all the great reviews about this book and the author, I also decided to give it a try and read it.
However, I was disappointed by this book. The plot was very complicated with twists and turns at every corner which was confusing. I found it hard to believe the actions of the "lovers" as they didn't really seem besotted with each other, especially the actions of Prudence which were more suited to that of an enemy than that of a woman in love as she kept on betraying her beloved every so often.
I also felt that the book was rushed towards the end, and all the weird and wonderful twists and turns were simply tidied up and made to fit the "happily ever after" mould without really any thought as to the specifics or details of the ending.
All in all I found the plot implausible, the characters two dimensional and the whole book a waste of my time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heather and Velvet
Heather and Velvet by Teresa Medeiros (Mass Market Paperback - May 1992)
4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews