Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars97
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2013
Asimov's Foundation SERIES does not need my review - anybody that knows anything about science fiction will know that this is a classic. What it does need is a publisher with the vaguest clue. Specifically this is a three part series and having the third book in the series available on kindle without the first two being available on kindle seems somewhat pointless. If the whole series was available I'm sure lots of Asimov fans like me would snap up the opportunity to re-read them....
11 comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
This is an excellent book and the Kindle version is a good edition. However the book is typicial of what is wrong with the way that publishers treat electronic versions of their books - what is the point of publishing a Kindle version of the third book in a trilogy without publishing the first two in the series? For goodness sake publishers, get your act together and embrace the future.
1515 comments|74 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2013
A good kindle edition of a Foundation series book. What about the rest of the series? I have them all in paperback but I would buy them as e-books, as would many other Asimov readers, I believe.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2003
Asimov's Mysteries was the first book I read, over 30 years ago now. I grew up on Asimov and he will always be my favourite SF author. That being said, when I first bought Foundation And Earth, I was very disappointed. This week, I re-read it to see if my opinion had changed in a decade.
The thing is, there are some great ideas here and some Asimov magic up there with anything in the original Foundation trilogy. The encounters with the feral dogs and with Bander are classic Asimov - tightly written and flowing.
On the other hand, there are pages of repetitious argument between Trevize, Pelorat and Bliss, none of which advances the narrative. Nor does it bring any new insights to Gaia / Isolates. It truly feels like Asimov is padding out the book. It's certainly not as gripping as Foundation's Edge.
BUT if you're an Asimov fan as I am, this book is an essential read. And when the trio meet the final new character it did bring a lump to my throat. The way Asimov weaves together his stories into the one timeline is a joy.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2004
Whilst it is best to read second foundation after 'foundation' and 'foundation and empire' it is not essential, as the prologue fills you in on the basics of the previous two novels.
The book goes a long way to explain the purpose of the mysterious second foundation, but the main focus is on its location, and the search for it by both the mule and the first foundation.
The first half puts order into the chaotic situation left by the events in 'foundation and empire', and follows many twists and schemes that make it entirely engrossing, without giving the slightest hint of the dramatic ending.
The second half provides the real substance of the book, a rebellion of the first foundation against the ideals of the second foundation. This leads the reader to question the entire idea of psychohistory, as the first foundation does not like to think of itself as being 'controlled' by the second, even though it knows that the interference of the second foundation will result in a bright, peaceful future for mankind.
The book is laid out with a new twist to the plot in every chapter, making it almost impossible to put down, especially towards the end.
The most interesting parts are meetings of the second foundation members, which explain the inner workings of the seldon plan, along with how the arrival of the mule affected it.
The characters are well presented, and are developed only as much as is necessary, to keep the fast pace of the novel going, but are entirely believable, and link in with the characters in the previous books.
Some people like to read the last page of a book first, doing this with second foundation, and indeed with the entire foundation series, will ruin the book utterly.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2009
Asimov is, in my opinion, one of the most consistent SF authors. I can safely say I have enjoyed every one of his books I have read, 16 so far, and this one is equally enjoyable.

This book carries on from the story told in Foundation's Edge and I think reading the earlier story will help you to enjoy this book. Reading the foundation trilogy will also help but these stories are well separated from the last 2 books in the series. Perhaps the best order to read the books in is by following the dates the books were written.

The whole series is: 1. Prelude to Foundation (1988) 2. Forward the Foundation (1993) 3. Foundation (1951) 4. Foundation and Empire (1952) 5. Second Foundation (1953) 6. Foundation's Edge (1982) 7. Foundation and Earth (1986)

Getting back to this book, I liked the references to other books and series. The Empire books such as Pebble in the Sky are in here so are the Robot series such as The Caves of Steel. You don't need to have read any of these to enjoy the story though.

Overall a tidy end to a great series that keeps you guessing right up to the end.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2004
Whilst it is best to read second foundation after 'foundation' and 'foundation and empire' it is not essential, as the prologue fills you in on the basics of the previous two novels.
The book goes a long way to explain the purpose of the mysterious second foundation, but the main focus is on its location, and the search for it by both the mule and the first foundation.
The first half puts order into the chaotic situation left by the events in 'foundation and empire', and follows many twists and schemes that make it entirely engrossing, without giving the slightest hint of the dramatic ending.
The second half provides the real substance of the book, a rebellion of the first foundation against the ideals of the second foundation. This leads the reader to question the entire idea of psychohistory, as the first foundation does not like to think of itself as being 'controlled' by the second, even though it knows that the interference of the second foundation will result in a bright, peaceful future for mankind.
The book is laid out with a new twist to the plot in every chapter, making it almost impossible to put down, especially towards the end, with the most interesting parts being meetings of the second foundation members, which explain the inner workings of the seldon plan, along with how the arrival of the mule affected it.
The characters are well presented, and are developed only as much as is necessary, to keep the fast pace of the novel going, but are entirely believable, and link in with the characters in the previous books.
Some people like to read the last page of a book first, doing this with second foundation, and indeed with the entire foundation series, will ruin the book utterly.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2004
Written after the original trilogy and foundation's edge but before "prelude" and "forward the foundation" this novel gives us the conclusion to the foundation series. In foundation's edge the ever mystic foundation and second foundation were reduced to triviality by newcomers on the planet Gaia who have had a superior grip on things all along. For me this somewhat spoils the mystique of the first three books, however in "foundation and earth" this storyline is used quite effectively to strengthen the link with the robot series as the search for earth continues.
Readers of the original series may be disappointed in the lack of twist and turns in the plot as this book only really concerns itself with one storyline which plods rather lethargically to its conclusion. You almost get the feeling someone is behind asimov with a cattle prod trying to get as many words out him as possible for what is essentially a short story forced out into a novel. Nevertheless it is asimov and as such there is no predictability and while no two characters are really that different from one another there's a great intellectual weight behind the dialogue and narrative.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2009
The last in Asimov's Foundation series, Foundation and Earth closes the epic series well, but leaving one or two questions unanswered and posing a few new ones.

Golan Trevize and Janov Pelorat continue their search for the beginnings of humanity and the mythical planet Earth. This time though, they have help in the form of Pelorat's new partner and Gaian, Bliss. She believes that the galaxy should be transformed into the great Galxia, but will what the trio find on Earth back up her claims?

Not only does Foundation and Earth close the story of Seldon's psychohistory and the slow and steady formation of the Second Galactic Empire, but also some more ancient ideas from earlier in the series in the form of the Three Rules of Robotics.

A must for all Asimov fans and a great close to a great series. It's a shame there aren't any more now where this came from!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
Second Foundation is the third novel of the Foundation series by Isaac Asimov and is best read in sequence as it advances on concepts from the earlier novels. This is yet another excellent novel by Isaac Asimov (in fact, I've never encountered a bad book by him) and is written in two distinct parts.

The first part, "Search by the Mule", follows telepathic warlord The Mule's search for the elusive Second Foundation. The executive council of the Second Foundation is aware of the Mule's search and of his destructive intent but still allows him to discover the organisation "in a sense". It is then up to agents of the Foundation to deal with the threat in the most appropriate way.

The second part, "Search by the Foundation", is set sixty years after the events narrated in the first part. The members of the (First) Foundation are now fully aware of the existence and purpose of the Second Foundation. The original Foundation is embroiled in conflict with the Mule's former imperial capital at Kalgan and wants to avoid the potential threat posed by the Second Foundation. After inventing a device that can jam telepathic powers, the Foundation locates telepaths on Terminus and believes this to answer the question about the location of the mysterious Second Foundation. However, although this is an answer that satisfies, it is not necessarily an answer that is true.

Science fiction that is this good is a rare thing - I would recommend Asimov's Foundation series wholeheartedly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse