Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars E Is for Evidence
"E is for Evidence" is an explosive addition to the Kinsey Millhorne series of alphabet mysteries and proves to be another close shave with death for the plucky adventurous Ms Millhorne.

Just a couple of days before Christmas, Kinsey is given some routine insurance work to do. The work comes her way from California Fidelity, the insurance company from whom...
Published on 24 Oct. 2005 by Rich Milligan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Holiday Read
I am finding that because I have read all the other lettered books to date, that they are all getting a bit samey. Our detective herione is still in unattached mode and there doesn't seem to be any character development throughout the series. The plot seemd highly unlikely and our herione Kinsey Malone is in and out of death defying situations which are unrealistic. She...
Published on 7 Jan. 2013 by rae


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars E Is for Evidence, 24 Oct. 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
"E is for Evidence" is an explosive addition to the Kinsey Millhorne series of alphabet mysteries and proves to be another close shave with death for the plucky adventurous Ms Millhorne.

Just a couple of days before Christmas, Kinsey is given some routine insurance work to do. The work comes her way from California Fidelity, the insurance company from whom Kinsey rents her office space. The work seems fairly routine; they want her to check out a fire claim that has just been lodged by a manufacturer of industrial furnaces called Wood/Warren. Kinsey remembers she went to school with one of the Wood children, Ashley, and the job seems like an ideal opportunity to catch up with some old friends.

What causes the case to take a turn for the worst is the news Kinsey receives just after Christmas when a $5,000 deposit is made into her bank account, when this is quickly followed by accusations that she is taking "back-handers" from the Woods it would seem that Kinsey has been well and truly set up by someone. As usual it takes all of Kinsey's bravery and intuition to discover what's really going on between the warring factions of the Wood family, an investigation which causes the death of one of the Wood siblings and nearly claims Kinsey's own life.

This is a great book to the series, not just for the mystery side of the story but this fills in some huge blanks in Kinsey's former life as we are introduced to her second husband, the musician and apparently the most beautiful man Kinsey has met, Daniel. We do learn though of the self-destructive nature of Daniel's character and at least his reappearance confirms to Kinsey she was correct to divorce him.

There's not much of Rosie, Jonah Robb and Henry in this book, but with the appearance of Daniel, they are not missed really from a story point of view. What their absence does confirm though is perhaps the lonely life of solitude that Kinsey revels in, isn't all it's cracked up to be.

Some great poignancy here and the feelings of a lonely Christmas gives the book a lovely melancholy touch. What will Henry say when he returns from holiday and seems what has become of the garage he rents to Kinsey?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Millhone book yet, 16 Nov. 2000
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I love the way Grafton takes unpromising material and makes it so thrilling. A routine fire insurance claim turns into a multiple murder investigation in which Millhone finds herself close to death. Kept me on the edge of my seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to her usual standard, 27 Nov. 2009
By 
Derek "Retired and living in Spain, I am an a... (San Pedro del Pinatar, Murcia, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sue Grafton has hit on a great formula and I don't use that term in a derogatory way. She sets up the story in detail and with humour and humanity. Our heroine, Kinsey, is someone who grows on you book by book and does silly things as well as clever ones showing endearing traits as well as frustrating ones. The writing is good with varied pace and doesn't involve tracts of technical detail. So if you don't know the books, this will be atreat for you and you needn't start at A and work through them, though having read one, I tried to do this. Each stands alone and gives you an interesting detective story with thriller elements and witha realistic and sympathetic heroine, and one with whom both women and men can identify with little trouble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid mystery, 4 May 2013
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: E Is for Evidence (Paperback)
You don't have to start at "A" to read this series of books as the author keeps each volume relatively self-contained. This is a good mystery novel set in California and written before the advent of the Internet and mobile phones. It is well worth a read because of the clever storytelling.

Kinsey is a PI who does some work for insurance companies. Around Christmastime she is startled to find an unexpected deposit in her bank account which is then used as evidence to accuse her of taking bribes. Obviously wishing to clear her name and her reputation she carries on investigating where she has been warned off as well as looking into who might be framing her. The investigation concentrates on a family business the owners of which she has known in the past. When one murder follows another and Kinsey's ex-husband turns up out of the blue she has a lot to uncover very quickly before she is in danger herself - but she may not be quick enough.

Engaging reading with minimal violence, no swearing and no sex scenes but still giving the impression of danger and excitement. A clever puzzle for Kinsey to unravel with lots of secrets to uncover. Good reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars E is for ever so good, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love, love, love Kinsey Millhone. I am re-reading these in order as I first read them in paperback many years ago. For me these stories never fail - the writing and characterisation are consistent, yet Kinsey does develop as the stories progress. Her odd quirks and idiosyncrasies make her an engaging character and I find I really want to know what happens next.

The peripheral characters like Henry and Rosie add to the mix and Kinsey comes across as a real human being with all that entails.

Reading back also reminds me of some of the trials and tribulations that Kinsey has been through over the course of her life of crime solving - this book containing one of the big shocks which I won't spoil, but also reveals some of her frailties and weaknesses.

Readable, exciting - I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good as ever, 1 Feb. 2012
One of these days I suppose I'll come across a Sue Grafton/Kinsey Millhone book which scores less than five stars, but this is as good as ever. The plot and characterisation are good, as is the pace of the book. and there's the underlying Grafton/Millhone humour, as well as interesting snippets about American society: for example how the "upper echelons" might talk about "the lavatory", "bathroom seeming too crude a term". Sounds a bit like England!

But it's more than just a jokey thriller. Sue Grafton draws a dark picture of a rich, dysfunctional family. Read the book and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and they wonderful to read in order, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is a whole alphabet of these books, and they wonderful to read in order, but each book is stand alone. So if this is your first one, it is fine.
The writing is a plain straight forward style, and our heroin is a good up right girl.but, She is not above a bit of breaking and entering, but nothing too bad. The book moves along at a pace, and the end usually has a twist, you do not see coming. The characters she
has around her are delightful. Three cheers for a writer, who makes old age sound like fun.
Would recommend all Sue Graftons books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently good, 7 Mar. 2014
By 
M. Ferrandon (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been following the adventures of Sue Grafton's heroin since the beginning of the series and am currently re-reading all of them to refresh my memory since the earlier ones were first published some years ago. Good plots and humour, and a great female PI character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alibi Murders, E for Evidence, 3 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Each one of these alibi murders is a must for crime fiction lovers. Each is a separate and exciting story and if you haven't tried them then start at A and work your way through them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story as ever by Sue Grafton. thanks, 15 Mar. 2009
By 
Esther (An English Island) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: E is for Evidence (Audio CD)
The Sue Grafton books always hold the listener spellbound as the plot unfolds. Each book has it's own trail often quite a surpising twist and always so well read by Lorreli King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

E Is for Evidence (Kinsey Millhone Mysteries)
E Is for Evidence (Kinsey Millhone Mysteries) by Sue Grafton (Mass Market Paperback - 1 May 1989)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews