Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have, must-read, must-talk about...
This is a fantastic piece; it's kind of an American "Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit" meets "The Catcher in the Rye". Set in the second half of the twentieth century, it's the tale of a young girl growing up in the South of the USA, and dreaming of moving away to the big city. The story is great, and it's brilliantly written - funny, moving, literate...
Published on 17 July 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I expected great things from this book and was sad to find it didn't deliver any of them. Molly was a strong heroine, but not unique and I didn't warm to her or feel that she was special in any way. If you want to see a brilliant rendering of the prejudice against black people and lesbians then read "The Colour Purple" by Alice Walker. As for the humour, I...
Published on 17 Nov 2000 by Mrs. K. A. Wheatley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have, must-read, must-talk about..., 17 July 2001
By A Customer
This is a fantastic piece; it's kind of an American "Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit" meets "The Catcher in the Rye". Set in the second half of the twentieth century, it's the tale of a young girl growing up in the South of the USA, and dreaming of moving away to the big city. The story is great, and it's brilliantly written - funny, moving, literate - I couldn't put it down. If you are a lesbian, read it immediately and memorise the best bits to cheer you up when you need it. Put it on your shelf next to something by Jeanette Winterson or Sarah Waters. If you are not, read it anyway. I promise you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A smart and touching lesbian growing-up story, 2 Dec 2001
By 
Neil Lewis (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
One of the greatest stories about growing up gay ever written. Molly Bolt is the determined, wisecracking and sometimes outrageous heroine, an outcast who makes her move from small town USA and discovers the delights of city life.
I agree heartily with the reviewer from London, this is a book about lesbian life that anybody should love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars couldn't put it down, 4 May 2000
This review is from: Rubyfruit Jungle (Paperback)
In Educating Rita, Rita is so enraptured by this book that she changes her name from Susan to Rita. I can see why she did so. It is a voyage of self-discovery for Molly Bolt and she is thwarted at every turn. You laugh and cry with her. The injustices she faces are hard rendering and the novel is written so beautifully that you feel what Molly feels. It shows how backward and prejudiced people can be, and the scary thing is, views haven't changed that much. I couldn't put it down. It was brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Moral Turptitude' at it's best., 8 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rubyfruit Jungle (Paperback)
A real woman's novel. Molly is strong petulant and at times down right obnoxious. She's got to be one of my favourite literary heroes. Fighting the social mistreatment of women in her own way, Molly experiences the 'Lesbian Scene' of the sixties and is accused of 'moral turptitude' (for this read lesbianism) because she dared to play men at their own game in the male dominated sixties. I don't think this about oppression or prejudice so much as freedom. Molly took hers when she had such potential to stay downtrodden and then she defended it because it was hers and no one else was going to have it. The prejudice isn't an issue, so much as a reflection of the times. I was inspired to read this because of Educating Rita. Any book that makes someone change their name is worth reading, and this book definitely is. It also quelled my curiousity about what The Ruby Fruit Jungle is....and I have to say that this is the only disappointing part of the whole book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Well Written Book, 11 April 2000
This review is from: Rubyfruit Jungle (Paperback)
I really loved this book. I read it quicker and enjoyed it more than any book I'd read in ages. I love the style that Ms. Brown wote it in. Whilst Molly uses people for her own advantage it doesn't come across that Molly is purposely using them although she is. I think the book was written to offend non lesbian people but as I read it I saw it was more written to shock if anything. It is set in the sixties when a woman was just a woman and still hadn't got the equal rights thing sorted. Molly did stuff that was ahead of her time and I admired her for that. The other characters in the book were strong likeable characters and not just there like they are in some books. I was a little disappointed with the ending of the book because although Molly realized her dream career she wasn't having her full potential recognised with her job as a secretary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 17 Nov 2000
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rubyfruit Jungle (Paperback)
I expected great things from this book and was sad to find it didn't deliver any of them. Molly was a strong heroine, but not unique and I didn't warm to her or feel that she was special in any way. If you want to see a brilliant rendering of the prejudice against black people and lesbians then read "The Colour Purple" by Alice Walker. As for the humour, I just felt that it missed the mark every time because there was no real empathy behind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grapefruit slalom, 27 Dec 2013
This review is from: Rubyfruit Jungle (Paperback)
Rita Mae West's controversial novel detailing the `fictional' Molly Bolt's sexual awakening and consequent blitz through various institutions and lovers, remains potent stuff, although in today's climate of civil partnerships, gay pride, and wholesale acceptance of homosexuality throughout Western culture, it has lost much of its power to shock. The book's real charm however, is its depiction of a devil-may-care heroine, persistently thumbing her nose at society, and insisting on independence and parity on her own terms - surely a great mandate for how we should all aim to live our lives?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Edgy classic coming of age story., 20 May 2010
This review is from: Rubyfruit Jungle (Paperback)
This is a dramatic coming-of-age story with a feisty inspiring protagonist. She is very easy to relate to and identify with, yet her story was also different enough from my own to make it a bit of an adventure novel! This is an utterly engaging, very funny and very human novel that I'd recommend to anyone who loves gripping gutsy stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great must read, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubyfruit Jungle (Kindle Edition)
A great story written by an amazingly talented writer. If you read this from a LGBT point of thinking, you will be cheering our heroine on. If you read it from a totally straight point of view, you will come away a wiser and happier reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As stated, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rubyfruit Jungle (Mass Market Paperback)
Second-hand version bought on a wim as it was the only book Rita had read in the BBC's afternoon theatre's wonderful production of ''Educating Rita''. Was delighted to only pay 1p for it.....have only just started reading...thank you for speedy delivery and my copy of a book which is in good nic and is transporting me to another world...just as it did for Rita !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rubyfruit Jungle
Rubyfruit Jungle by R BROWN (Mass Market Paperback - 31 Dec 1995)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews