Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book!
I am Tara Nafziger, an eighth grader, who read Shane for one of my classes. I read this book and was amazed at how much meaning they could put into a small book. Like the TV show Seventh Heaven, the story is fun to read and not only tells morals, but makes it so you see the sense in them and want to become a good person. While I read it, sometimes I wanted to cry, and...
Published on 3 Dec. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Icon
I read this novel out of curiosity and on the back of reading Elmore Leonard's Hombre. Stylistically it's much more old-fashioned than Hombre but shares with it a focus on an enigmatic central character and the device of telling the tale of that character through the eyes of a young narrator looking back. However, the narrator is so beguiled by his subject that the story...
Published on 10 May 2013 by J. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book!, 3 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Shane (New Windmills) (Hardcover)
I am Tara Nafziger, an eighth grader, who read Shane for one of my classes. I read this book and was amazed at how much meaning they could put into a small book. Like the TV show Seventh Heaven, the story is fun to read and not only tells morals, but makes it so you see the sense in them and want to become a good person. While I read it, sometimes I wanted to cry, and sometimes tears came to my eyes for laughing so hard. Shane is a hero worth looking up to, but he is not the only one, for there are other people, like Joe and Marian, who are given great qualities that may inspire children to be the best person they can be. I reccommend this book to people of all ages, it is a classic you would not want to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lesson in humanity for a boy and gunfighter., 27 Feb. 2011
By 
This review is from: Shane (Mass Market Paperback)
An excellent read which culminates in a boys insight into adulthood and a gunfighter realising that he can't change his ways. A comparitively short story as novels go with a splendid character study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stirring read, 6 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Shane (Mass Market Paperback)
If I was an English teacher, or if I had children, I would have them read this book. It is a gripping tale of courage and heroism, and of what it means to be a man. It teaches some great values, and it has a great emotional response. I read it from start to finish without pause and thoroughly enjoyed it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense, values and questions - a fine novel., 4 Nov. 2012
By 
Bluecashmere. (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shane (Mass Market Paperback)
Within the framework of a short narrative and implausibly idealised characters Jack Schaefer contrives to produce a compelling story. All rests on a single issue - will Shane, who has renounced the life of a professional gunslinger, be forced into a situation where once more he resorts to violence to achieve his ends? Those ends are to protect and repay the family who have all but adopted him. That we witness events through the eyes of the boy, who increasingly hero-worships his parents' guest, adds to the poignancy of the situation. In effect what Schaefer gives us is a fable about family, loyalty, moral choice and the growth from innocence to experience. It is written in a spare style that reflects the simplicity of its characters' lives and values. We are not spared the brutality of a world where issues are settled as often as not with scant regard for reason and mutual respect. The novel clearly offers values that transcend these but it leaves us with searching questions, too, as the wounded Shane rides away to what we know not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Western, 26 Sept. 2009
By 
John G. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shane (Mass Market Paperback)
Saw the film then got the book. Excellent film, book superb. It was the author's first published work and probably his best, certainly his most popular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Icon, 10 May 2013
By 
J. Brown "Mountain Writer" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shane (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this novel out of curiosity and on the back of reading Elmore Leonard's Hombre. Stylistically it's much more old-fashioned than Hombre but shares with it a focus on an enigmatic central character and the device of telling the tale of that character through the eyes of a young narrator looking back. However, the narrator is so beguiled by his subject that the story lacks subtley. Shane's enigma is laid on with a trowel. Nevertheless, he is an appealing character - the most interesting one. The other key characters are either too good or too bad to be intriguing. The most interesting aspect of the plot is one that was done very well in the movie version - the unarticulated attraction between Shane and Marion. This I liked - I'm sure a modern book would have had them leaping into each other's arms, if not their bed-rolls.

As with Hombre it's difficult to avoid thinking about the movie, and I kept wondering why Hollywood dressed Alan Ladd in buckskins, when the Shane of the novel is clearly a well dressed man in black!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring and Heart Warming, 31 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shane (Mass Market Paperback)
This was recommended by Harold Klemp in one of his talks. As I'd expect from him it was a tale of unique love, courage, discipline and standing for what's right in the face of lesser, easier choices.

If you can overlook a bit of American syrupiness, you'll find this a most heart warming and inspiring story.

If you like tales of brotherhood forged by war you'll doubtlessly love this. But the characters in this book are painted more deeply and caringly than in any average war/confict book though.

Read it. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Clasic, 7 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Shane (Mass Market Paperback)
Its a given that you have to have this on your bookshelf if you claim to be a western enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Critical? Hardly! more appraisal and historical background, 19 Aug. 2008
The interview with Schaefer, film reviews and the historical background "The Johnson County War" and "Wyoming Sock Growers Association" if you want to google it, lift the 1954 edition (it is barely indistinguishable from the 1949 edition) to a greater level of appreciation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!!, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shane (Mass Market Paperback)
If you wish to dip your literary toe into Westerns for the first time and discover why they are so popular this is the book I would recommend to try first. It is wonderful. I have always stayed well away from this genre thinking of it as just pulp fiction with no depth or merit. Well I was wrong. This book is short, but the story is tightly written keeping the reader on track throughout and generating an empathy which stays with you as the story progresses. Shane of course is the tall, strong, silent, polite, slightly dangerous and mysterious stranger whose past we never discover but can easily guess as the action slowly unfolds and then is heroically resolved so that the reader can breathe a sigh of relief. This is a book that is destined to be read again and again by me and I say that about very few books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shane
Shane by Jack Schaefer (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Sept. 1983)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews