Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clever liar or a young man with 24 personalities
From the moment I opened the first page, I was gripped by the life of Billy Milligan. This book fantistically captures the experience and emotion in Billys life. From the abuse he encountered from his step father, to the crimes committed by his personalities, which led to his amazing trial and subsequent treatment. The author writes in a way which helps you understand...
Published on 17 Oct. 2003 by englishminx

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars milligans meandering tale
The first few chapters are the books best.
Crimes are commited and then we are introduced to the perpetrator, or perpetrators since there's 20 of him.
And yes, the different personalities are intriguing; how did they get there, where did they originate? These questions are never really answered in the book.

In fact the book ends unresolved, with...
Published on 21 Aug. 2011 by Zeddy12


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A clever liar or a young man with 24 personalities, 17 Oct. 2003
This review is from: The Minds of Billy Milligan (Mass Market Paperback)
From the moment I opened the first page, I was gripped by the life of Billy Milligan. This book fantistically captures the experience and emotion in Billys life. From the abuse he encountered from his step father, to the crimes committed by his personalities, which led to his amazing trial and subsequent treatment. The author writes in a way which helps you understand and learn about each of Billys personalities from the wonderful boy Danny, to the "undesirables" bansished by Arthur. Each personality having its own name, weight and characteristics, from men to women, to adults to small children. It seems that this illness still brings out a lot of ignorance in people (as shown by Billys time in Lima Hospital)but with the help of books like this, maybe we all can learn to understand a little more. This book brought out many emotions, from tears, anger and frustration in me (and I wasn't even there!). This was my first real insight into multiple personality and how it affects not only the individual, but everybody around them. My only dissapointment in this book was that as soon as I finished it, I went on the net to find out more about Billy, to find out that a sequel has been written called the Milligan Wars (published in Japan) but not due to be published in America until the film The Crowded Room (based on the Mind of Billy Milligan) was released. Sadly after some investigation it looks like the film script has been left on a shelve to collect dust, and perhaps none of us will ever learn what happened next (unless we learn to speak Japanese. Still with this dissapointment I have to say that this book is amazing and highly recommended to anybody. Just be warned - its difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOW FRAGILE THE HUMAN MIND CAN TRULY BE, 14 Jun. 2001
By 
Paula Lees "ladybrum" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Minds of Billy Milligan (Mass Market Paperback)
Meet Billy Milligan. But who is he? The man with 24 distinct personalities. Meet Arthur the Englishman, Ragen the keeper of hate, and ultimately The Teacher - the "fusion" of all Billy's personalities. All these personalities began to be discovered after Billy was arrested for the kidnap and rape of 3 women, crimes for which he was acquitted by reason of insanity caused by the mulitple personalities. It is a heart-rendering exploration of the fragileness of the human mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unputadownable!!!, 11 Dec. 2004
By 
J. Hall "jude72" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Minds of Billy Milligan (Mass Market Paperback)
I had read Sybil and wanted to read some other 'autobiographical' books on DID. When i read the synopsis and discovered Billy was trialed for rape, i admit, i was uneasy about begining this book.
However, my suspicions soon vanished and i became embroiled in Billy's world.
This is superbly written, appears factual yet conveys real emotion. At times, i would be reading and wiping the tears from my cheeks, or quietly muttering at the unfairness of people who pull the financial strings in hospital/judicial settings.
No doubt there are people out there who will say the book and its writings are a ruse to deflect the seriousness of the sex offence, but I for one, believe what is written.
It is thought provoking, powerful and a must for anyone who is interested in DID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, 9 Mar. 2010
This review is from: The Minds of Billy Milligan (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a must read if you would love to get in the heads of people to see what makes them tick. It keeps you interested the whole way through and at times makes you wonder if you are sane yourself. An awesome book and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant if you like psychology, very interesting, and very unique, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Minds of Billy Milligan (Mass Market Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book although it was a bit difficult to follow at times. After reading it i felt that Billy used the multiple personalities to his own ends, because it always left people felling sorry for him. Taking everything into consideration, he did rape those women. Was he Billy at the time, or one of the many other people at the time?.. only he knows. The book goes into a lot of depth, although there were a few times i thought that i've already read this earlier on in the book before. I think he manipulated people alot, and used his diagnosis to his own ends, although i definitely would of done the same. I just think its crazy that one person can have that many different people inside of him, and that each person can change his whole demeanour. That, and the fact that people like Billy are so rare, makes me wonder how much was real. He also want on to live a normal later life. A really good read if, like me, you are into psychology and stuff like that. To get me through the book i actually made my own bibliography of each person in his head so i could follow the story and not get confused, because its easy to get lost with the amount of people that take over Billy's mind and life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating . ., 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Minds of Billy Milligan (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book years ago. Its mad that multi personalities can come through one person . . glad that its not me, thats for sure, don't know how i would handle being so many different people . . LOL . . Well worth reading even if its only to get a glimpse of how life is for people with mental disorders . . . maybe we could understand them a bit more and not be so judgemental . . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than fiction, 30 May 2011
By 
Sunci Mazar (Longniddry, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Minds of Billy Milligan (Mass Market Paperback)
I won't repeat the reviews others wrote about the actual substance, only say that I loved this book, I couldn't believe that it was not pure fiction, the story was so exciting and filled with action and emotions. Familiarising oneself with DID on the side is an absolute bonus treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down.., 3 Nov. 2010
The book arrived in the condition specified - used with yellowing pages but in otherwise good condition. It was well packaged. The book itself is great - I had to get it online as it has gone out of print and I couldn't wait to read it! Very happy customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Book That Must Be Read, 19 July 2012
This review is from: The Minds of Billy Milligan (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a tough relentless read. The violence by a mother towards her small son seems unbelievable - but it is true. I know it is true. I came to this book after reading Today I'm Alice and, between them, they provide a good perspective on family breakdown and how the authorities would generally rather turn a blind eye than involve themselves in child abuse. It says something about us as a society - Alice in the UK, Billy in the US, both suffered in a way that no child should ever suffer and both could have been saved - Billy by his own father, Alice by her mother. Please read these two books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting book, 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Minds of Billy Milligan (Mass Market Paperback)
liked this book. kept my interest all the way through . would recommend this book to anyone as a very enlightening read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Minds of Billy Milligan
The Minds of Billy Milligan by Daniel Keyes (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Oct. 2003)
£5.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews