Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect beginner's book
A friend of my dad's gifted me this book when I was 10 years old. Till then Chess was just another game to be played against your siblings on a hot afternoon to kill time. This book made a huge impact on my understanding of the game. This book is written in a simple manner, uses a lot of diagrams to explain all sorts of positions and improves your ability to 'think'ahead...
Published on 24 Mar. 2003

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little disappointing
I bought this book thinking that it was the legendary Bobby Fischer passing on chess tips and discussing his chess, but apart from being on the front cover, Fischer doesn't appear to have much to do with the book.
It's basically a series of chess puzzles which aim to teach chess principles and tactics. Using a pencil you solve the puzzle then check the answer on the...
Published on 30 May 2009 by Bobster


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but limited., 3 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess (Mass Market Paperback)
This isn't the best selling chess book in history for nothing! Principally I guess it's because the title is a winner(!). Lessons from Bobby Fischer?! A no-brainer surely?

Unfortunately, apart from allowing his name to be used, Fischer had almost nothing to do with the book. Nevertheless, this is still an excellent read for beginners or near-beginners, and one of the first chess books I read, many years ago! It focuses almost entirely on material-winning and mating combinations, particularly back-rank mates, using the 'programmed instruction' question and answer method whereby the answer to the problem is on the following page. This will help develop a good feeling for combinations in general, which are the backbone of chess.

The student will then need considerably more detailed instruction to turn him into a good all-round player (Complete Idiot's Guide To Chess would be my recommendation), but this is still a terrific book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really works!, 10 Mar. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess (Mass Market Paperback)
I gave my 3rd grade son this book, two weeks before the state team tournament. It got him thinking like a real chess player. He scored 4 wins out a possible 5 and beat a couple of 5th graders. He went thru the whole book in less than 5 hours. Ideal for your kid's first chess book, because it uses no chess notation, just clear diagrams. Can be read and again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential "readme.txt" of Chess Primers, 23 Jun. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess (Mass Market Paperback)
I read through this book when I was 5 years old, and it was very helpful. Its puzzle format challenges you to look and look until you find the clever solution. Naturally, there aren't always such tidy setups in real games, but it did indeed help me to find some beautiful combinations which led to several wins against my dad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent course for beginners, 2 April 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is arranged in a very logical and easy-to-understand way. It is also very easy to read at any place since it doesn't use any notation. This book clearly points out the fundamental ways to checkmate, which is one the the very first thing beginners should learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book and influenced by a brilliant mind., 27 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess (Mass Market Paperback)
To me Bobby Fischer is not only the greatest chess player of all time but a great mind. He was heralded as a champion of the USA during the cold war and abandoned and persecuted by that nation for many decades because he refused to be a tool of evil.

This book is brilliant, I mean it, whether you have never played or you have been playing for years, this book will improve your game (excepting maybe proffessional players, but who knows) The best thing is you can pick it up for a few seconds or an hour and it doesnt bother you with endless paragraphs, tere are few in fact, you learn through answering chess problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good practice, 1 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess (Mass Market Paperback)
Recommended for beginners, if you're anything but then don't bother with this book. The puzzles aren't the hardest nor would they be too easy for a beginner. It's a fun little book to play with on a train/plane ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent step-by-step course, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess (Mass Market Paperback)
This is by far the best book my 8-year-old and I have read in our quest to become half-decent chess players. It's a course that you work your way through, learning the techniques by looking at lots of different examples. It's a v simple format, almost to the point of looking old-fasioned (in a good way!), with a question on nearly every page, then you turn the page for the answer. It's easy to follow and great both for absolute beginners and those who know how the pieces move but want tips on strategy - a stage I've been stuck at for about 30 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars like a quiz book, 18 April 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess (Mass Market Paperback)
I got this book a few days ago. Didn't know what to expect but every page is a situation and you have to decide the way to play it. I've read about 100 pages so far and its showing me how to "think" chess
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BEGINNER'S BOOK, 26 Sept. 2014
By 
Jet Lagged - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess (Mass Market Paperback)
A book for those beginning chess. The method of instruction employed is called programmed learning.

Have fun working out those back rank mates!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Approach, a must for those with limited time to study, 8 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess (Mass Market Paperback)
After learning the basics of chess from excellent books, like The Chess Player's Bible - James Eade (Also for those with limited time!), one needs to learn to play the game. A suitable analogy might be that of the individual who has just passed their driving test.
Fischer's book teaches this using a flash card like approach with real situations and instant reward for those who select the correct move and answers for those who fail to see the trees for the woods.
I specifically enjoyed this book because it was easy to visualise each situation and my game improved immediately!
I recommend this book for those with limited time who do not wish to drowned in the name for every move or position but solely wish to improve and enjoy their game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess
Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess by Bobby Fischer (Mass Market Paperback - 20 Nov. 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews