Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As ever, compelling, dramatic, persuasive, and fun
Mr Forsythe is a writer for whom credibility is everything. That's actually a requirement of this genre. Or else you become James Bond, who is really superman in a tuxedo. To avoid this, people must be flawed, have limitations, and the restrictions that life puts on us such as rank, status, income, and intellect.

The Negotiator, Quinn, is a rare James Bond...
Published on 3 Jan 2011 by Mark Slattery

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over the top
Quinn must be Forsyth's most o.t.t. hero. This good-looking former Green Beret isn't just a crack shot & explosives expert. He speaks French, German, Dutch and Spanish well enough to convince the natives that he's one of them. He's a master tactitian with a high IQ, a great detective and a master of disguise. He can pick locks and break into - and escape from - a property...
Published on 5 Feb 2008 by Reader / writer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As ever, compelling, dramatic, persuasive, and fun, 3 Jan 2011
By 
Mark Slattery (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Mr Forsythe is a writer for whom credibility is everything. That's actually a requirement of this genre. Or else you become James Bond, who is really superman in a tuxedo. To avoid this, people must be flawed, have limitations, and the restrictions that life puts on us such as rank, status, income, and intellect.

The Negotiator, Quinn, is a rare James Bond moment for FF. He isn't quite Bond or Superman, but he is enigmatic, maverick, individual, a Clint Eastwiood figure, a man with [one] name. Larger than life, he is somebody who operates outside the system. Forsythe makes him fallible, but his many virtues somehow overcompensate. But this is another belter of a novel.

He is a master plotter, FF. He isn't a psychologist. One sits on Quinn's shoulder, not inside his head. So the details, layered over and again, bring the credibility to an exciting plot which is a bit more colourful than his previous novels. It is the fine details that paint pictures [as any woman's magazine will reveal] and to use a poker analogy, it is not only the full house that Forsythe reveals, it is how he plays his hand that captivates. Several times, I thought, one could end this book here. But another card was dealt and the game went on.

There are a lot of supporting characters and you speculate about who is on the inside and who is on the outside. Be prepared to be teased.

There is a female character, which is unusual for Forsythe. He 'doesn't do' women - this character is sadly one-dimensional, and a plot device really, and women otherwise do not inhabit the literary terrain of his espionage horizons. This is simply how it is. I'd be surprised if FF's subsequent seven novels changed it substantially.

The Negotiator fully possesses all the gifts brought to bear on FF's five predecessor novels, but the character of Quinn makes it a touch more colourful than those, and just edges it into less credible, but no less enjoyable, waters. As a fun, exciting, compelling drama, it is loaded, however - and will stick to your palm like glue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At first glance a Cold War dinosaur, but oddly prescient, 5 April 2013
By 
R. Paterson (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Frederick Forsyth is one of those authors I keep coming back to. His early novels remain his best ("Jackal" and "Odessa" in particular), but this one comes in close behind them.
The kidnapping of the US president's son overlays a burgeoning crisis in fuel supplies on both sides of the Iron Curtain. Prominent Russian commanders and wealthy US oil traders are both trying to secretly force the hands of their governments towards seizing land in the Middle East. Onto the scene comes Quinn, a veteran soldier and ace hostage negotiator, charged with uncovering the hostage takers and returning the President's son to him. He has no idea just how far and how dark his journey will be before it's all over.
This novel was written in the late 1980's, just as Gorbachev was making steps to reform his nation and end the Cold War. Ronald Reagan is not his counterpart, rather it is the fictional President Cormack, ensuring that there is no conjecture about the key figures in the drama. This time is long past, and yet it has echoes of the Allies' response to 9/11 and the protest chant "no blood for oil", which followed more than ten years later.
The characters in the novel are well-developed, even if most of them are somewhat typical for this sort of fare. Quinn is the standout character; determined, mysterious, intelligent and very much his own man. Funnily enough the nastier characters are the ones who are most convincing, particularly an aged Texan oil mogul who claims his orders come from God and bears more than a passing resemblance to a certain Mr Ewing. Twists in the plot are Frederick Forsyth's trademark and in this novel there are several. The emotions are (mostly) believable and as is often the case in Forsyth's novels, the pace of events seems like an oncoming train wreck that it seems only a miracle can stop. But stop they do.
I'm sure adventure and espionage fans will enjoy it, but it would be best to start with The Odessa File if you're new to Forsyth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over the top, 5 Feb 2008
Quinn must be Forsyth's most o.t.t. hero. This good-looking former Green Beret isn't just a crack shot & explosives expert. He speaks French, German, Dutch and Spanish well enough to convince the natives that he's one of them. He's a master tactitian with a high IQ, a great detective and a master of disguise. He can pick locks and break into - and escape from - a property guarded by electrified fences, trigger-happy bodyguards and free-range Dobermans. Wow! Whadda hero! And he's the world's best hostage negotiator, too. Just a bit too much to be a believable hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grips you from the start!, 19 Sep 2000
By A Customer
I couldn't put it down! My 2nd Forysth read (Day of the Jackal the first), it exceeds expectation. I was once again gripped by the brilliance of Forsyth's style of writing, especially the unexpected one-liners which alter the whole story! I am already on my third......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Negotiator, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Negotiator (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant story, just as good as all the other books he wrote, I loved it and couldn't put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced read, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Negotiator (Kindle Edition)
Great plot, commitment to detail. Frederick Forsyth is the master story teller. Worldwide storyline neatly written with no error to detail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy a good story and this was one of the best that I've read in a while. I found it very easy to visualise the character of Quinn and once that happens then mentally you can go and join him in his quest, then the whole book becomes alive and you just can't put it down.Every author is allowed some literary licence with their story line and FF is no exception,but for all that the story is still perfectly acceptable and realistic,with twists and turns and a first class ending......definately worth another read on a cold winter's night
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars page turner, 1 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. L. Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
a real pager turner which keeps you gripped until the very last page. unlike many other of his books the twist at the end is not amazing ( avenger being the best twiat ever and i dare you to challenge me on it !) never the less still recommned.read jackal , odessa and avenger b4 this .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i don't care how much it costs, BUY IT!, 6 Jan 2001
An absolute gripper from cover to cover that leads you on a merry dance of intrigue, betrayal, and corrupt governments (I can also recommend Jack Higgins "Confessional" - very interesting). Quinn is such a dominant character, so deep and mysterious that he can only be loved for his accute skill in reading situations. My compliments to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Negotiator by Frederick Forsyth, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Negotiator (Kindle Edition)
Good overall plot, but one too many sub plots.
The story of greed and corruption was plausible, horribly heinous and too horrid to contemplate. His descriptive writing is wonderful, his geographical knowledge, or time consuming research always pays dividends and enriches the reader.
Quinn is a great character and would be happy to share a glass of wine with him!
I did think the ending was slightly rushed and there are many keyboard errors, I can't believe they are spelling mistakes.
I will read more by F F.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Negotiator
The Negotiator by Frederick Forsyth (Audio Cassette - July 1992)
Used & New from: 21.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews