Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quantum mechanics and Relativity for Dummies!
This book explains the concepts introduced in the "Brief history of Time" more clearly with the use of outstanding illustrations and graphs. People that read the original edition will now be able to understand the somewhat cryptic notions using beautiful representations of the microcosm and macrocosm. A must for people interested in science.
Published on 18 April 2002

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Present for Christians
Did not read this as it was present for my Christian parents who said they liked it, but they STILL believe in the absurd Creation version of events
Published 6 months ago by Paul Egbers-Kane


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quantum mechanics and Relativity for Dummies!, 18 April 2002
By A Customer
This book explains the concepts introduced in the "Brief history of Time" more clearly with the use of outstanding illustrations and graphs. People that read the original edition will now be able to understand the somewhat cryptic notions using beautiful representations of the microcosm and macrocosm. A must for people interested in science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Quality, 18 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This is a truelly amazing book it has to be said. Anyone interested in space and time travel etc must buy this book. It's not one of those books you buy and then never read, you'll be hooked in no time. Before you know it you will be understanding how space really works. Explained with amazing clarity by the true master of space. A must buy for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good read, 12 Oct 2004
I started out with low expectations, i thought i was going to be overwhelmed by incomprehensible facts and figures. I would be lying if i said its an easy book to read, its not, you have to give it maximum attention or else you will miss bits, but for such a complex topic Hawking does an excellent job of making it manageable for those of us who aren't geniuses yet are mildly interested in the subject, and the illustrations make it even more so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thinking Great Enough to Match the Cosmos, 18 Nov 2003
By 
Patrick Shepherd "hyperpat" (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For anyone looking for a great, comprehensible explanation of the current state of the theories driving today's physics, this is it. Hawking has taken everything from the early history of thinking about the universe, its laws and composition, to the latest developments on black holes and string theory and placed it in a remarkably lucid set of explanations that detail the concepts behind all the mathematics that is so intimidating to most. This book is written without a single equation or a single statement on the order of "From the above, it is obvious that..." Instead, we proceed from the (comparatively) simple concepts about the everyday observable world of gravity, planets, and stars, travel carefully along the historical path of scientific observations as they modify and enhance the simple theories till we reach the world of quantum mechanics, the big bang, wormholes, and Grand Unified Field Theories. Each concept is fully explained, and with this expanded second edition, many of the concepts are beautifully illustrated with drawings and photographs.
And, possibly surprising to some people, as we enter the rarified air of today's theories, we see that the line between physics and philosophy is a very thin one, and ruminations about the origin of the Universe lead to discussions about God and fate. Here we see why Hawking is one of the premier physicists of today, as he obviously thinks in same kind of conceptual language that this book is written in, capable of looking at the meaning behind the mathematics and how it relates to us as humans.
Physics students and engineers may not find very much new here, but even they may benefit from the clear thought lines presented here, forcing a look at the meaning behind all the esoteric symbols that are their everyday working fare.
About the only quibble I had with this was Hawking's insistence on writing out very large/small numbers as million-million-million... While this was fine the first couple of times it becomes a little irritating in place of the standard 1,000,000... representation, or even better to use standard scientific notation.
A great elucidation of some of the most complex theories of the day, theories seemingly unrelated to your everyday life, but which are in fact the bedrock upon which today's technological marvels are based, and with implications that catch the nether regions of religion and the questions we all have about the meaning of life and the universe.
--- Reviewed by Patrick Shepherd (hyperpat)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A picture explains a thousand words., 18 Jun 2007
By 
John Hepburn (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm a scientist, but not a mathematician or a physicist. I have, like many people, an educated layman's knowledge of the universe and am keen to learn more.

As such, I rely on popular versions of some hard thinking to access and enjoy my interests. Reading through the original version, I hit treacle about two thirds through and (from what I'm told) missed a fine climax to an excellent book.

This is different. I've often thought that a great mind can tie together complex ideas and information in a clear and simple way.

This is the result of a truly great mind. It's beautifully written, simple, concise and (although it still requires an investment of thought and time) is far more accessible.

I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone interested in this area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars illustrated version, 2 Feb 2010
I had been reading this paperback version but found this new illustrated version made the reading of this book so much more interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brief History of Time (illustrated, 31 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Stuart Gillespie (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cant give this a full review as I've only read a little bit of this so far, but what I will say is that the book itself is very nice, the illustrations seem very helpful (I'm definitely glad I got the illustrated version) and its not too sciencey (so far) so it seems a great starting point for novices to this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book showed me the light!, 28 Nov 2010
By 
Lars Ruud (NORWAY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Mathematics and the distances in the univers appear abstract to most of us,at least to me.I have read many books about the topics,but this book,thanks to brilliant illustrations and Hawkings way of making complicated connections "easy" to understand,made me "see" the black holes and the space/time line.His use of comparing everyday phenomenons we all have experienced with the topic he is explaining make it possibel to understand for a layman.The scale is a bit bigger though! And there is a lot of good humor and understatements.Read it!

Lars Ruud-NORWAY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life, the Universe, Everything?, 12 July 2010
Stephen Hawking does a great job of explaining the complexities of Space and Time so that us mere mortals can understand. I was completely hooked on this book once I started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read for all the inquisitive!, 30 Jan 2001
This review is from: A Brief History of Time (Hardcover)
A Brief History of Time is a truly magnificent piece of work detailing all of the major points about the cosmos.This book hands over everything that the budding scientist requires,despite its rather "Brief" title.Most astrophysics books show the mathematical side of things which cannot be understood by the average person.Instead Hawking has chosen the more understandable side of it.He explains things in great detail without using any tricky equations or any mathematical heeba-joo. This book just shows the great mind which Hawkings has.For this he is sometimes not given the appreciation he deserves.This to me is appaling as he is truly the greatest since Einstien.This can be understood by the work he has done to make "A Brief History of Time " the succes it is.I would guarentee this book to anyone who is interested in Science or anyone who is simply interested in a good read. Andrew Mclaughlan 12 yrs age
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac20e6cc)

This product

A Brief History of Time
A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking (Hardcover - 30 Nov 1996)
Used & New from: 3.38
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews